We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artique Surfers Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Artique Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
vic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

thankyou artique resort for making our family holiday stay feel like a home away from home.Your pool and barbeque area is just amazing and so is the theatre room.We really thought that the highlight of our trip for our kids would be the theme parks but all they talk about since we came home is the great stay of your resort.
Dont hesitate to book this resort you wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: we asked for a room with a nice view and we werent dissapointed .We were given a room with both the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    428
    81
    43
    32
See reviews for
639
363
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights and left with a sad eye. before committing to "artique" we did quite some research on accomodation and mostly read that all the places are quite run down, expensive etc etc. so we came with little expectation and were very positively surprised here. big apartment on the 9th floor, very quiet and peaceful. full kitchen so you can cook yourself and everything in excellent shape. washing machine and dryer also available as well as free parking in the basement. all main shops, bars and the beach just minutes walking. competetively priced!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandmspore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Artique while in surfers paradise on a family vacation visiting all the major theme parks, the whole trip was quite expensive so it was nice to save some money on the hotel accommodation so in my opinion the price/value was pretty damn good. It's nothing too extravagant, you don't feel pampered and the place isn't too fancy but the apartments are impeccably clean and feel very modern. The ocean view was absolutely amazing and reflected off the glass in our apartment and the whole atmosphere of the place was very relaxing and serene. The pool, again, isn't too fancy but is very clean & modern looking (again) and the spa is a great place to relax. We didn't end up using the gym but it looked pretty good to me from the outside. The location is fantastic & we had no issues with the service/staff and they were all friendly & bubbly. It was also very quiet & there was never a peep from other rooms (I don't know if it's like that year round but we visited in the australian summer so ?) All-in-all our stay here was very relaxing, price was good & the rooms could not be faulted.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. I wasn't too impressed with the feel apartment, it is quite basic in its decor, but has a good layout and pretty much everything you will need to cook, do laundry, etc. I wouldn't describe this hotel as particularly special, but for the price, it's a nice place to come unwind and plan for the next day. We spent our evenings here eating take out on the couch, with drinks and movies.

We had a nice view of the ocean, on the fifteenth floor. The floor to ceiling windows provide a great view. We did not utilize the barbeque area, sauna, jacuzzi, or gym, but they all looked very nice. We did use the pool once, and it was quite good, although I wish they had a deep end as well. The walk to the beach and "the strip" was nice and close. There was no wifi in the rooms though, but you can have them set it up in your room.

In other reviews, people have complained about the comfort levels of the bed, and couch. I wouldn't say the beds are uncomfortable, but I have slept in comfier. The separation in our bed was a nuisance, but I still slept well enough. The couch is also not bad at all but, once again, I've had comfier. I did not like the bathtub shower however, I prefer nice stand alone showers, since neither of us take baths unless the tub is nice, or stand alone at least (and also because I'm a tall guy). All in all I suppose you get what you pay for, and the Artique is a good place if you're not looking to pay too much but want something decent.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

So yes, I was concerned about the number of negative reviews here too. But my entire stay was extremely smooth and peaceful. Sheree at the reception was exceptionally co-operative and friendly.

Staying on level 4, I was concerned as it was only a 'standard' BUT it was polished and spotlessly clean, renovated simply but nicely. The TV was a decent size (flatscreen of course).
The 2 bedroom apartment had all essentials required for a high living standard and the white goods were all operating fine. The room didn't face the beach however, that did not prevent a great amount of sunlight seeping in during the morning.

Bedding wise, the pillows were all fluffed and hotel-style. The sheets were clean and changed. Blankets are provided for extra warmth in the closets, but without them the flimsy sheets would not have been enough for even an autumn day.

The swimming pool, spa and gym all exceeded my expectations. Pity I didn't get to try out the private theatre and virtual golf rooms!

My only disappointment would probably be the steel pots & pans in the kitchen. They were quite hard to fry in. Even a slight upgrade to non-stick pots & pans would make all the difference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank db02182014j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We booked into the Artique, via "Late Arrivals" & had absolutely no problem, getting our keys. Upon arriving, we were thrilled with our apartment, which we could find no fault with. It was spacious, clean & had every amenitie,we needed for our stay. The beds were nice, comfortable & we had no problem getting a good night's sleep. The main bedroom had a good sized walk in robe, adjoining the ensuite, which had a huge shower,making it a joy to freshen up after a day's travel. We had a 2 bedroom unit, which also has a 2nd bathroom. The girl's @ reception were wonderful, when I went to book in the following morning & I find it hard to believe, people commenting that they found them "rude". If I owned a motel, I would gladly employ them as I found them extremely helpful & co-operative. The balcony was big enough to walk around & had a 6 seat outdoor setting, which made it the perfect spot for breakfast. I couldn't recommend the Artique highly enough, when your condsidering accomodation on the Gold Coast. We normally stay @ the Sofitel On Broadbeach, but I think we've found another place thats also perfect to stay at.
Facilities: Pool, BBQ area, spa, steam room, Virtual Golf Driving Range, Personal Theatrette,Secure On-site Parking, 200m to beach, 600m walk to Gold Coast CBD

Room Tip: Remember that these are self-contained units.Thus,you need to supply your own food,toiletpaper,coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank may58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

4.5 star YOU HAVE GOT TO BE JOKING. When we booked we asked for 2 appartments side by side.When we arrived we were on the 9th floor daughter and grandchildren were on the 4th floor.Asked management to put us together but they told us they were booked out so tuff luck. From what we can gather talking to other guests they wernt. The management are very rude. The furnishings are not 4.5 star very below standard. The televisions on the 4th floor are old and in analogue and so is the foxtel.The foxtel in both of the appartments or lack off is in analogue and very fuzzy. The appartments are dirty. The oven is filthy,windows inside and out are filthy, old toothpaste still on bathroom taps. The shower in the main bathroom is crapp sprays everywhere but on you. The pool closes 9pm sharp,we had a barbecue and at 8.50pm were trying to get out but could'nt, we were locked in. Lucky we had a mobile phone on us to ring the security guard to come and let us out.We would not even consider staying here again and will be telling others NOT to stay here.We have moved to a 4 star resort and the appartments are excellent, very clean and the furnishings are by far better quality and the management are excelent and NOTHING is to much trouble.We DONOT know how the artique is rated 4.5 in our opinion its rated 2.5 to 3 star.

Room Tip: Always ask to look at rooms before you pay if possible.Dont go by what the rooms look like on the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtSFP, Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay at Artique.
We apologise if the cleanliness was not to your expectations, we have very few complaints about cleanliness.
Had you reported these things to us we certainly would have sent the housekeeper to see you.
The other problems you reported we respond as follow.
1. Your bookings were through Dial an exchange and we would like some evidence from you to take this matter up with them if they advised you it was possible to be on the same floor. The 2 bedrooms were indeed almost full and no possibility of moving you.
2. We have just checked with the guests in both apartment 404 and 905,the TVs are working fine including Austar.
Austar / Foxtel is not available in Digital for Surfers Paradise until next year, sorry that is out of our control.
3. We have sent maintenance to replace the shower head, had you reported this during your stay we would have fixed it for you.
4. The pool has 2 exits. There is an exit back through the sauna and steam room area and another when you follow the external green exit lights to the visitors car park, both are never locked from egress because they are fire exits.


Regards Ritchie Gray

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artique Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artique Surfers Paradise

Property: Artique Surfers Paradise
Address: cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd & Enderley Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Artique Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Artique Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Artique Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artique Hotel Surfers Paradise
Artique Hotel Apartments Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing