We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artique is over priced and over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Artique Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Artique is over priced and over rated”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This claims to be 4.5 star aptmnts. May have been once but is no longer. Furnishings - stylish but old, well worn, smelly. Room not been properly cleaned - hair in corners of furniture. old lolly in a corner of bedroom. Balcony furniture dusty. Room was so smelly we got odour absorber out of car to absorb room odours. Claimed to be well appointed kitchen - not even salad bowl or full set of mixing bowls. Towels were also very thin - certainly not to our usual Accor standard. Also, 2 bathrooms (so 2 showers & 2 hand basins) but only 2 small soaps. Very disappointing for the money we paid. Accommodation was handy to 'Surfers' attractions and we had good ocean views.. Would have preferred having a dedicated carpark # instead of searching each time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtSFP, Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear guest ,we apologise that you found problems with cleanliness,had you reported this during your stay housekeeping would have rectified this to your satisfaction.
If you could contact us to identify the apartment,we will review any worn furnishings.
We inspect apartments continually for such issues but sometimes during high occupancy things do not come to our attention.Ther are 191 car parks over 3 levels of basement for 174 apartments,had you driven to the lower levels you would have found ample free parking.Towels are provided by a linen company,we will talk to them about the quality-from my random inspections they have been of good quality.
If you choose to stay with us again please notify me to arrange an upgrade.
thanks for your input
Ritchie Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    440
    86
    45
    33
See reviews for
679
388
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Staff - very professional and helpful
Unit - great views but the a[artment was not all that clean with 'quality' assurance lacking. They did replace items as requested. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis_Smith4113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We are staying at this condotel now. The location is wonderful and the outside of the bulding is nice. Rooms are inexpensively furnished and could use a good scrubbing. The sheets are very cheap and the bedspeads look like they're out of the 1970's where you don't really want to touch them. We are staying in a two bedroom unit with 4 people and were only provided with 3 towels, one hand towel and one wash cloth. I called to ask for more face towels and they said they "only provide one per room." I pointed out that evenbudget eapest motels provide more than one face towel for 4 people and given I am staying here with my 3 sons, it would be very nice to have another face towel. The receptionist's answer was, "sorry that's all we provide." I (nicely) aked againg and but the answer was, too bad you will have to go buy one if you need another."
So, on our next trip to the Gold Coast we will choose from of the dozens of other accomodations.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheets and towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWDSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtSFP, Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for the reveiw. We provide 1 towel for each paying guest (min 4 in a 2 bedroom) and 1 face towel (2 in a 2 bedroom),1bath mat and 1hand towel per bathroom,the apartments are self catering with a full laundry. our sheets are white linen heavy cotton and bedspreads vary.if you can assist us identify the apartment that you stayed in we will upgrade the bedspreads.If you wish to stay again we will upgrade you.
Ritchie Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinchilla, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We arrived to a very clean, very spacious two bedroom apartment with ocean and river views The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed and all utencils, lounge chairs were comfortable, a big flat screen T.V. and a good sized patio.The beds were very comfy and the noise level from other guests was minimal..great soundproofing. We were on the 23rd floor and the views were outstanding. Pool and spa were great, and the Theatrette was a big hit with my boys (10 & 8). We enjoyed it also and used it twice dudring our stay! The staff were always courteous and very helpful. So close to everything, we had breakfast at the cafe's every morning as it was such a short stroll. We will definately be back...cannot wait for our next holiday at the Artique.

Room Tip: Rooms with 02 on the end, gave both beach and river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Very clean and tidy place. Just far away from Cavill Avenue to be quiet, but still close enough to walk anywhere you need to go. All new, modern fitting and fixtures. A nice pool, spa and gym area. Thanks

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

we have just returned after a stay at the artique & found that it was wonderful to stay at. The facilities were very good & modern. Had good pool bbq & gym area
Our room was clean & well presented we had excellent ocean views as we stayed in1207 room. Our apartment was managed off site by GCHR who were excellent also to deal with,
The reception staff were helpful when we needed directions or information. The only thing was that the TV in our room was tiny no bigger than some computer screens & the kitchen wasn't that functional but we didn't really use it that much

Room Tip: if you stay in an 07 room it's on the corner so you get beach & canal views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The resort is very clean. Staff are very professional and accomdating of requests. they are very helpful with locations of actvities such as theme parks. The resort is located close to buses to access the them parks also. The resort is only a few blocks from the cbd (walking distance). The rooms are well stocked and of a good size. We were impressed the the resorts sauna, steam room and gym each are in great condition. We thotoughly enjoyed staying at the resort and would book there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,478 reviews
1.0 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artique Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artique Surfers Paradise

Property: Artique Surfers Paradise
Address: cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd & Enderley Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Artique Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Artique Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artique Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artique Hotel Surfers Paradise
Artique Hotel Apartments Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing