We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ipanema Resort Apartments
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great location”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed with Ipanema at their studio apartment for 3 nights. Quick and no frills check in process even though we came way past their reception closing, got to my apartment without having to wait. Apartment was clean, well equipped and definitely comfortable! What a gem! Toilet was huge and clean, although we had to provide our own toilet paper when the only roll ran out, but that was okay. There was a small kitchen for us to do our cooking and a washing machine and dryer just outside the apartment. It was useful for us as we were theme park hopping and definitely appreciated clean clothes. The complex also had a small gym and swimming pool.

The resort was some distance from surfers paradise central but the 15 min walk was scenic and cooling. There are also many bus services just outside the resort to surfers paradise, the airport and all the theme parks, definitely convenient!

Only downside was that the balcony had no lights and only one chair. I had to enjoy my steak over a great view of the river, standing as my girlfriend took her well deserved seat.

Would definitely stay here again! Thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    50
    27
    11
    25
See reviews for
32
60
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with this premise during July 2013. This property is conveniently located about halfway between Surfers Paradise and the Casino. Its common facilities include a pool, sauna and a gym.

Reception hours are short. They were closed when I arrived at about 2pm on a Saturday. Lucky the after-hours check-in procedure was rather smooth and we were able to get in ok in about 10 min after making a phone call. They do allow you to store your bags there after checkout during their reception hours.

The room was average. We got a twin room with a balcony with great views looking onto the highway in the upper floor. First impression of the room is not too clean. Bed is average. TV size is small. Tables and chairs are only outside at the balcony. Bathroom is larger than average.

Room facilities include a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave and cooktop. Basic cooking utensils are provided. There is also a shared laundry with another room and it has a washer and a dryer. There is no room service available and any supplies that runs out (eg: coffee, tea, toilet paper etc.), you have to get them at a supermarket.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnysai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay here for 7 nights. Ipanema represents excellent value for money. The resort is immaculate and the staff totally fantastic with a "can do" attitude not often found nowadays. Takes around 10 mins to walk to either surfers or Broadbeach. Our stay was totally perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattelliottknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great value for money at only $80 per night for 5 days, in a one bedroom apartment. The apartment was spacious, well equipped and clean. For what I paid, I think its amazing value for money! The only thing I would say to those considering this place is that although this place is located in Surfers Paradise, the beach is actually about 1.5km away so if you don't have a car, its a long walk. Also, you need to pay to use the Internet. It cost me $40 for a 1 week internet plan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktsl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dapto, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This apartment has been one of the best finds on the Gold Coast. A good price, only a few blocks from the beach, a pool, BBQ area and extra large rooms were perfect fro our family of four. With two teenagers, being able to have separate sleeping areas is a must and this property fitted our needs perfectly.

A full kitchen with all the tools for self catering, a family sized bathroom and adjoining rooms that are well maintained made our stay a treat. Best ever deal we have seen.

Room Tip: Ask for a two bedroom family option to get adjoining rooms with a separate bathroom in each - especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denzil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
312 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A Wonderful place to stay in my latest visit to Surfers. I got a Studio apartment with a great view of Q1, the beach and the Nerang river. Room consisted of a bathroom with shower over bath, hair dryer, common separate Laundry with Washer and dryer, balcony overlooking the views and swimming pool area. Very comfortable bed, kitchenette with Microwave, medium bar fridge, cooktop, a sink, cutlery, glasses and cookery for 2. The was a walk in wardrobe to hang clothes and fold and stack clothes swell, Great aircond that has a central control panel on the wall, a good sized LCD TV with all the digital channels + a number of Foxtel Movie channels, Nick, News, Fox Sports 1,2,3, I must say that the Tv stand used in the room is typical of ones used in Gold Coast apartments/hotels its not tall enough to prop up a LCD tv to be appreciated its too low down to the ground i think. The room also has a foot stool that had seen better days it was ripped to shreds, also the carpets in parts of the room has seen better days, with parts discoloured in a rusty colour such as under the side stand next to the bed. The lighting in room is varied the main light is weak, i found out that by switching the lights above the bed made the room much more brighter, also the lighting above the kitchenette is poor, its seems the light switch or the light bulb above the exhaust fan on top of the cook top had broken or blown. The Garbage disposal station on level 6 is broken the shute when you pull it pulls all the way, also the shower over bath water can escape out the rear of the bath tiled surface and drip onto the bathroom floor eventually creating a riverette towards the drain near the bathroom vanity thus drenching the tiled floor eventually over night after a overnight use of the shower. There is outside noises from the main entry door as this was a Studio B room with a common entryway with a bigger 'A' room, so when someone enters the common door way the opening and closing of the common door and sub A and B doors could be heard. The resort has 3 bodies of water a big sized oddly shaped pool that can be technically be a lap pool, it was not as heated, but as you body adapts to the temp of the main pool you will find the main pool to be comfortable to refreshing during the day and nighttimes, the depth markings are not placed everywhere on the pool but the pool gets deeper than the marking of 1.3m, I reckon it was 1.6m deep. The other body of water was a Roman bath that was heated its was around 45cm deep, it was a good pool to sit in on a cold night to warm up and 3rd water body was a Spa, which was quite warm and foamy suds often developed like the water had soap in it. The was a sauna which i had no idea how to start it and how to turn on the light there was not much instructions, (The locals knew how to work it as i observed during my visits to the pool), a small Gym with a handful of Gym equipment, a nice BBQ area with glass outdoor tables, The BBQ is a real Perm BBQ without the Drip hole that is found in many other Parks, Hotels and Accoms around the Gold Coast. Then the was the grassed areas that looked like they could host weddings and parties, they were manicured so well, also there is a side gate to take you to Wharf Rd and thus the beach, also this side path i can foresee as being a great entry way for wedding processions, so the bridal party could enter via Wharf Road and the alter could be around the BBQ area, the Gardening along the side pathway was impressive, Presentation back in the day must have been top notch, i could image that the grassed areas being cordoned off for wedding tents. The Ipanema Resort has history written all over it from its current form there is a conference room, outdoor eating area, that seems to have gone disused for years now, the presentation of the lobby and the grounds is still top notch and i can see Limousines and prestige cars exit the Gold Coast Hwy on to the grand drive way of the IPanema. The iPanema must have been a grand hotel in the past there is plenty of under cover parking enough for a conference and hotel guests and the top floor pent house(s) i would assume would of gotten a Celebrity or two in the past. I guess it is important for owners of these apartments to keep the appearance of this great facility top notch, anyway great staff, the bus stop configuration has changed since the light rail works the north bound bus stop exists but the south bound Gold Coast Hwy bus stop is moved 500m south walk towards 2nd Ave or 500m north where Surfers Bvd and GC Hwy split, The alternative stop would be the 750 Seawold/Pac fair Bus and that stop is on old Burleigh Road or Surf Parade.
Def will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

DON'T STAY HERE IF YOU PLAN ON COOKING FAMILY MEALS - the 'basic' kitchen means they include a broken microwave and a hotplate in the tea and coffee making area!! Not a single sharp knife, no utensils, one micro pot/pan without lids - its BYO but then you may as well go camping if you need to bring everything. I burned myself cooking without a lid on splattering hot fat and also burned myself on the toaster which had a wire wrapped across the top of the slots that got hot during use - staff weren't concerned about my injuries, didn't apologise and just shifted blame to me for their negligence. If you want to cook a meal book somewhere with a full kitchen.

If you want a sunny room forget it - I noticed that a lot of the rooms on the sunny side overlooking the pool are occupied by residents. Both chairs on the balcony were broken and useless and the lock on the balcony door was damaged (screws missing) taking forever to open and close. It was all a major inconvenience.

The room had an overpowering smell of bleach and the carpets were stained. The bed was hard and it was cold with only one blanket and no quilt. They advertised that your room is equipped with a laundry but they don't tell you it's a SHARED laundry outside the room.

The sauna doesn't even get hot as there is a two inch gap under the door.

The small old TV didn't even have a plug for headphone use so forget about sleeping if someone wants to watch telly until late.

The room did have a nice view (but you can this at any other hotel tower in the area) although noisy long-term roadworks are going on directly outside.

Overall a cold (both the room and the staff) and unpleasant place to stay. If you want a problem free stay - and a spare roll of toilet paper - go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilly X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,926 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
1.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Resort Apartments

Property: Ipanema Resort Apartments
Address: 2865 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ipanema Resort Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our apartments at Ipanema Surfers Paradise offer great views of the hinterland, Nerang River and the ocean. This unique holiday building is located on the beach side of the Gold Coast Highway, between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ipanema Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Ipanema Hotel Surfers Paradise
Ipanema Resort Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing