We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
248
109
17
13
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
109
17
13
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the managers across the road amazing views the gold coast spa pool main beach apartment was clean great ocean great place to stay washing machine these apartments river view easy access cavill ave bbq area floor balcony
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 407 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

Booked Capricorn One on the cheap through booking.com, so didn’t expect the Ritz but can’t say I was not surprised by how run down this place is. I have stayed at a number of apartments in the Gold Coast, many as old as Capricorn One but none as run down and dirty.
We don’t spend any real time in the apartment so it didn’t really faze us and it had everything we needed to get us through so if your looking for cheap no thrills this will do you otherwise steer clear of this one. On the plus views are amazing and good location. Free wifi, Parking, and required appliances in the apartment and it was cheap.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank johnaallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Positives of our stay were, amazing views from the apartment , good water pressure in the shower, management were very friendly and helpful about public transport, places to eat etc and it's a 5 minute walk to a tram.

Negatives were traffic noise from the gold coast highway right next door (all night) ,cold indoor spa pool, dirty windows inside and out, creaky beds, dirty sofas, cheap quality cooking equipment and utensils (tin opener that doesn't work ) an oven that didn't work properly, hot water running out during a shower (first one of the day), blocked basin sink in bathroom, lose basin tap, water from upstairs leaking from the bathroom ceiling, dim lighting, rattling doors if it's windy, sloping floor in kitchen and lounge, an extractor fan above the oven that blows air straight up into the kitchen (no outlet to outside) no privacy from the apartment next door (the way this place is set out is your deck is next to or looking into the apartment next doors kitchen/dinning room/ lounge, it's the same for every apartment on every floor.

We wanted to check out after our first night, but we ended sucking it up and staying, we booked through Booking.com (a third party) and payed in advance so there was no way of getting our money back, because of the price we payed (which wasn't cheap)we really didn't have any spare money to pay for different  accommodation somewhere else.

The photos on the site are very deceiving and the reviews are very questionable.
I'm absolutely mind boggled that anyone thinks this place is good, the building is so run down, the rooms are dirty, rusty, with sloping floors everything is in need of repair and upgrading. Even my autistic 8 year old picked up on how rundown and dirty this place was. It does make you think if this place is even structurally safe with the amount of rust, inside and out.

There was no hanging out here to enjoy the facilities to chill out and relax after a busy day seeing the sights at anytime during our stay here.

We weren't expecting a 5 star hotel but we were expecting 8 out of 10 (guest rating) and 4 star accommodation, both boldly stated on booking.com. website.

I've attached some photos of what the place is really like, in one of the photos I opened the window and cleaned the outside with a wet wipe, the part I cleaned is the size of a softball, it gives you an idea of how filthy the windows are here, they are all like that, even around the pool on the ground level.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Spencerking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Excellent 180 degree sea views
Very clean.
Helpful manager
Comfortable beds.
Plenty of space,two bathrooms.good layout.
Handy location-but need to be able to walk ,15 mins surfers Paradise and five to tram stop.
Beach 2 mins walk.
Good value.

Unit 1801.

Is a managed apartment ,owner needs to update lounge furnishings and kitchen to bring up to standard
For not much expense could make this a perfect unit.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank jeanettet325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018

Have just had a great week staying at the Capricorn One. Beautiful apartment, in a great location, with lovely river and ocean views, and very friendly helpful management. Will definitely stay again. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2013heather_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately this place is in need of much repair. At 250.00 per night i expected better than this. I have attached some pictures. The only good thing was the virw of the beach from the balcony door. Beware

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews