We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good amenities and friendly staff”
Review of Palazzo Colonnades

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Colonnades
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good amenities and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed here for 7 nights in July. The location is good - just a short walk from the shops or the beach. Free basement parking is great. We used the pool and spa several times despite it being a bit cold and the children loved it. It would be fantastic on a warm day. The Wi-fi is not cheap so we didn't bother with it. Our apartment was small and a little tired (especially the bathroom) but was clean and tidy. The ladies at reception were very helpful and friendly and had great suggestions of what we could do. Overall we were very happy with our stay in what is a reasonably priced complex. It was from good advice from a previous TA member that we booked a room high up opposite the river which suited us very well. The noise from the swinging safari was a little annoying (I wonder how all the opposite apartments with long term residents put up with it) but it was only a problem on the Saturday night. The only minor complaint would be the note left under our door regarding cleaning the apartment ourselves - the tone of which was unfriendly and it didn't clearly say what 'cleaning' meant - there are no cleaning products available. We just tidied up as we normally would - cleaned all the dishes and put them away etc. shame to end on that note though, as it was an enjoyable stay. I would definately recommend to the budget conscious traveller.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 290SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    82
    33
    6
    13
See reviews for
72
54
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed at this place with a 2 year old little boy. Got a nice 1 bedroom apartment overlooking the street. This place is a little further away from the shops and restaurants so if you have little ones you should book a place a little closer, or like me, I just drive.

The room is very tidy, but you are expected to clean up before you leave. Only downside is that there is not bath in the bathroom.

When I was there, the tramway was being built, so we were woken up by the heavy machinery early in the morning.

It has a really good underground secure car park. Overall, I love this place very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e_akl_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very good 1 bedroom apartment, big lounge area, large balcony on 4th floor overlooking pool and river/mountains. Great spa and pool area, bit exposed to roadway but never any problem, spent alot of time in both, free parking, main shopping strip, building light rail which will run directly outside on beach side. Easy for bus, pub, beach and surf club close by. Very friendly staff, not problems with check in after hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacksonJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Arrived here with the intention of a 5 day stay, and ended up booking an extra 7 days as we couldn't bear to leave! As stated before, spacious, clean, smart, comfy rooms. All amenities you could ever require. Was nice to have a washing machine and drier after 6 months backpacking to freshen all my clothes up! Everything in the apartment worked well. The bed was cosy. The balcony is spacious. Only bad thing I would point out is the rusted air con unit could do with changing... Not that I even used the air con, just for cosmetic reasons.. The two ladies on the reception are very nice and we were made to feel very welcome on arrival and throughout our entire stay. They are happy to arrange trips for you and are full of valuable local knowledge. The heated pool and spa are great. Nice and clean again. And visibly maintained well. BBQ area again spotless. I really don't have a single complaint about this establishment, other than the fact that I had to leave..... I think I've covered everything, thanks very much we loved staying here! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James86mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

First the negatives - work going on right outside the front doors in preparation for the Commonwealth Games being held on the Gold Coast (not that it really bothered me).
Now the positives - the apartment was large and very spacious with large balcony with views of the ocean and Skypoint tower. Full kitchen, with dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer. Excellent choice of TV channels.
Downstairs was a small gym, small sauna (neither of which I used) and an outside hot tub and pool, (both of which I used) which even in June was quite pleasant.
Although reception only manned part-time, Sue and Joy were both very helpful and helped me find a ticket for the first Lions test in Brisbane, and helped with bus/train times for my trips to Brisbane, and booking a Jet boat ride.
Apartments are a five minute walk to Skypoint, five minutes from the beach, about ten minutes from the centre of Surfers, and only about two minutes from bus stop, so all in all a perfect location.

Room Tip: Normally I would suggest a front facing room but maybe whilst the work is going on a rear room may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and made use of a pay4stay5 promotion. The service was prompt and efficient from booking to check out. The service staff were very friendly.
The price of apt is very reasonable. Good location, well equipped, safe and good views.
The cost of wifi is rather high though. Cleanliness is ok.
There is a dryer and washer and dishwasher also - one pack of dishwasher powder and one packet detergent provided (enough for one time use) so if u r planning to do more washing up do bring along ur own. Esp when u r expected to have cleaned and washed up all dishes before departure. Place has secure basement garage. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RALK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ok for the price and fairly well situated being only a short stroll into surfers and just down the street to Northcliff Surf club.( the best surf club on the coast,great food ,best view & super service)Free underground parking and lifts all a bonus.I did feel it could have been a little cleaner .The layers of dust on the tile ledge in the bathroom especially behind the doors was yuk,I don't think the unit had had a good clean for ages.The bed was not hotel quality ,the mattress thin and a little lumpy and the bed only came with sheets ,no quilt .There was two very tired old blankets in the cupboards.The heating worked well though.The ladies on the desk were very helpful .we had a problem with the wifi but all fixed with in an hour of reporting it.Be warned Surfers is under construction and will be for another 12 months.We were not informed when we booked that the work on the new light rail line was right outside the hotel ane that work started at 7am.So if you like to sleep in book some where else

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lardybum6025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
The Island Boutique Hotel
The Island Boutique Hotel
#19 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baronnet Apartments
Baronnet Apartments
#14 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regent Apartments
Regent Apartments
#32 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
1,382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berkeley on the Beach
Berkeley on the Beach
#16 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Colonnades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Colonnades

Property: Palazzo Colonnades
Address: 2988-2994 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Colonnades 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Colonnades boutique, high-rise holiday accommodation apartments is nestled between the beautiful Nerang River and the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. Take an 8 minute stroll to the north and you're in Cavill Avenue - the heart of Surfers Paradise. These modern, fully self-contained apartments are complimented by wonderful guest facilities including a heated salt water swimming pool, sauna, gymnasium, games room, BBQ, free pay TV, wireless internet broadband service and under cover free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Colonnades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Colonnades Hotel Surfers Paradise
Palazzo Colonnades Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing