We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Crown Towers
Certificate of Excellence
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 11, 2007

My family have stayed her 3 times in a 2 bedroom apartmet, we have 3 children and the 2 bedrooms are absolutly huge, plenty of room for all of us. Great views of the ocean and the city. Pool area is fantastic and the kids nagged every morning to go to the pool, so we spent the first 3 hours by the pool before exploring. We go to the Gold coast every year and tend to always stay at the Crown Towers, i ahve recommended hotel to others and they agree it was a great place to be.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank samiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    662
    284
    136
    113
See reviews for
1,192
271
29
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We did a lot of research to find suitable family accommodation on the Gold Coast, and based on a number of reviews and price (of course), we selected the Crown Towers. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment in this complex about a week before leaving, we got a good price on a discount hotels website.

When we arrived (earlier than check-in time), we were pleased to be allowed to go straight to our apartment. We were pleasantly surprised that the apartment also had 2 bathrooms (not advertised when we booked on line) and was nice and large. The decor was a little dated, late 90's pastels, but other than that the apartment was nicely appointed. We also got an ocean view room, with a great view from the balcony, so we were chuffed.

One small negative of our floor was that (as many other reviewers have noted), there was a funny smell in the corridor. As soon as we got out of the lift it was quite overpowering. Based on what other reviewers have said we can only assume the smell came from the rubbish chute near the lifts. But once we got into our apartment, you could not notice the smell.

The pool area and lagoon outdoor pool was nicely set up and tended to. It was too cold to use the outside pool with the Pirate Ship and slides, but was to be expected this time of year. We only used the pool area once, as the indoor pool was a little too cold for our young child. But there were lots of other kids using both pools, so it was fine for older children.

The Thai restaurant located near the pool was DIVINE. We had takeaway from there 3 nights, and would have had it every night given half the chance.

We enjoyed our stay and will return to stay next visit. It is fantastically located to catch the local public bus to all the Theme Parks, and a short walk to the local Coles and all the shops of Surfers.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank happymum23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, VICTORIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2007

We recently stayed at Crown Towers on our first ever QLD trip. (Feb 27th - Mar 6, 2007) The hotel it self is stunning. The foyer is huge & very inviting. All staff were friendly & happy to help with any inquiries. The travel desk staff were fantastic as well. We ate dinner at Salty's rest. & it was so yummy. (best meal we had whilst there) The Thai rest. was fantastic as well. Great service, reasonably priced & very inviting surroundings. The lagoon is lovely, clean & very family orientated.

We had a 2 bedroom apartment. The views were fantastic: ocean, pool & Adrenalin Park could be seen perfectly from the small balcony. There's a games room on level 2 which kept the kids occupied when they wern't in the pool. Caville Ave was a stones throw away & most shops were open 7 days a week until approx. 10pm. Great atmosphere, beautiful balmy nights, great shopping & some nice cafes/rest. We will definetly be eating simple cooked meals from the apartment on our next stay as buying dinner every night was costing around: $80 to $120.00 for 4 people. (not to mention breakfast & food purchased from theme parks)

Whilst we did enjoy Crown Towers very much, the room was a little shabby. Carpets were stained/dirty. Fridge/freezer not very clean. (freezer had not been defrosted & fridge door would not close properly.) The garbage chute (refuse room) located near the lifts were clean. Some people with no respect would leave their rubbish half in & half out of the refuse room door, (they obviously found it too difficult to open a small chute door & place rubbish in it) Others would stack their rubbish outside the front door of their apartment. Apart from these minor flaws we would highly consider returning to Crown Towers. Kids loved it & cable t.v was a great help getting the kids to settle of the evening so hubby & I could soak in the views from the balcony. Happy to recommend.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, room size & the gorgeous lagoon.
  • Disliked — Apartment not in very clean shape.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Thekasfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

My husband and I along with our 2 year old daughter stayed here for 10 days, its a very nice hotel with gym, indoor heated pool, and lagoon beach style pool complete with sand and of course the kids pool which was fantastic.tai restaraunt, and cafe which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and also turns into a cocktail/piano bar fri&sat night not too expensive we ate there a couple of times but ended up buying our own groceries for breakfast and lunch. the rooms are mostly all the same 1 2 or 3 bedroom or you can get a penthouse
and are all quite large with kitchen dishwasher laundry sofa bed. and a good size balcony with table and chairs. I was a bit worried that our toodler might try and bungee jump however the sliding doors can be locked and left a bit open to let some air thru. so its safe.
We happened to be there during schoolies week, I have never seen so many teenagers in my whole life but surprisingly it didnt bother our stay much except I did get hit in the head buy and empty beer can thrown off from an above balcony. the hotel went to a great effort to make sure that everone was happy and safe and even put on security guards to patrol the grounds. the only problem I had was having to look at half naked teenage girls my husband however did not have this problem lol
alot of the units in the hotel are privately owned we booked thru a website that deals directly with the owners and as a result we got 10 nights accomodation for $1000 aud big saving. [-]
we will definitly go back we all had a lovely time although I wouldnt go back during schoolies there are just to many teenagers especially if going to the theme parks.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank cmzmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

We had planned a one week stay on the gold coast for new years eve and found this place available on wotif for quite a reasonable price so we thought we'd try it out. Our family of 5 (2 Adults, 2 Teenagers, 1 Child) required quite a large room and Crown Towers had a 3 bdrm apartment which suited our needs very well. First impression was good, service was quite good from the hotel lobby staff. Our room was situated on the 23rd floor which was adequate to get some good views, we were unfortunately facing the direction of the mountains and could not see any fireworks from our balcony which was a let down but we understood as we had made a late booking. The room itself was in a bit of mess from schoolies week which had occurred a few weeks before, there were a few holes and scratches on the walls and doors and also some cracked rock around the glass coffee table. I also noted that the ceiling fan in our bedroom was operating in a very dangerous manor and was clearly a safety risk so we were sure not to use it again, once again i think schoolies had something to do with that. We were quick to make sure that the hotel lobby staff were aware of these damages ASAP so we wouldn't be charged but other than that the room was in good order. The pool was packed as you would expect for the time of year and i was a bit concerned with people bringing glass and cigarettes into the pool area as it was lagoon style with a sandy beach around the pool and as you could guess an accident could have easily happened. Location wise the hotel was excellent and only a 3 minute walk to the beach and Chevron Renaissance. On new years eve the fire alarm went off in the building, it was obviously a false alarm as you expect, non the less we proceeded down the fire stairs were i became extremely concerned, i saw marijuana rolls and cigarettes throughout the stairway which was extremely scary as there were no smoke detectors in the stairs. Even more terrifying was that on every 3 floor there was a vent in the stairway to get smoke out of the the stairs if need be and on nearly every vent the safety grill had been broken off and the was a hole of about 3/4 metre by 3/4 metre and on the other side was 20 story free fall (higher from levels further up), this was extremely scary as a small child could easily climb through this or be pushed to an almost certain death. There was a bit of graffiti and vandalism throughout the tower but you would expect that in any city. In the end it was quite a nice stay with a few negatives, i would not stay here again as it is not quite appealing to our family and is more orientated towards younger families with small children. Hope this helps.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The conditon of the room and hotel
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Daniel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2007

We stayed at crown towers for a week and wish we had more time to enjoy the resort. the pool area was fantastic for the kids as they played in the sand with their buckets and spades. the indoor pool was great for the 2 rainy days we had and the water was so warm! the main pool was gorgeous but the water was quite cold. the rooms were immaculate with a great size balcony.
the resort was also maintained at a high standard. great location being within walking distance to the beach and shops and if you need transfers anywhere you are always picked up last and taken straight to your destination and always dropped off first which was great with little kids. only complaint i have is that there is not enough washing detergents, towels or toilet paper provided so you might want to byo otherwise you'll need to buy more either through the resort or at the local shops. the room had everything we needed and the drier came in handy heaps. if you require a dvd player make sure you request it upon booking as not every room has one and you will be charged extra if you ask for it later if they have not appointed you to a room with one.
there was also a great thai restaurant downstairs that we ate at which is very popular. the food was beautiful.
will definately come back to this resort.... wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!the kids loved it and so did we!!

  • Liked — decor & cleanliness
  • Disliked — not enough toiletries/detergents/towels provided
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank littletravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA / Auckland, NZ / Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2006

Myself, husband and 9 year old daughter stayed here at the beginning of November. We booked on a last minute booking website so ended up staying in two different apartment complexes. This was our second apartment, the first being Chevron Towers. We enjoyed both stays but would probably book at Crown Towers again because of the family atmosphere. Our daughter loved the pool, lagoon and pirate ship and could always find other children to play with. Our room was clean and tidy, the furniture was a little dated but not worn out so this didn't bother us. The kitchen was also well equipped. We had breakfast in the cafe downstairs a couple of times and this was well priced. We also ate in the Thai restaurant in the complex which was very good. The staff in the hotel were always friendly, and the tourist desk staff were also helpful and friendly. My husband used the gym and said it was better equipped than most hotel gyms he has used. The resort was less than a 10 minute stroll from the Cavill Mall and easy to catch any tourist buses. Highly recommend for families.

  • Liked — Great pool area and on site restaurants
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank travla5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Crown Towers

Property: Mantra Crown Towers
Address: Crown Towers Resort 5-19 Palm Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Crown Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast, Mantra Crown Towers offers a wide range of leisure facilities perfect for a family holiday, short break or weekend away. Children are well catered for at the resort, which features a lagoon style pool with its own pirate ship, waterslide and sandy beach, as well as a games room and children's playground. The Resort's leisure facilities also include a 15 metre indoor heated pool, spa, sauna, fully equipped gymnasium and on-site restaurants, including Chiangmai Thai. The award-winning Chiangmai Thai restaurant provides authentic Thai cuisine, with strong Thai influences such as wooden elephant chairs and decorative motifs scattered throughout the restaurant adding to the Thai experience. Open for dinner 7 days a week, the restaurant is the perfect choice for dinner, all within the comfort of the resort. Be pampered by professional and friendly therapists, at the onsite day spa Calmer Therapies. The day spa offers beauty treatments, including deluxe facials, full body scrubs/wraps, deluxe pedicures and manicures, pamper packages and waxing. Mantra Crown Towers offers a range of spacious accommodation options including One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. All apartments are fully self contained with kitchen and laundry facilities, and feature their own private balcony with many offering ocean views. Just 100m from Surfers Paradise beach and 500m to the cafe and restaurant precinct of Cavill Avenue, Mantra Crown Towers provides access to all the attractions of the Gold Coast making it the perfect place to stay for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Crown Hotel Surfers Paradise
Crown Resort All Inclusive
Mantra Crown Towers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing