We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the whole family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Crown Towers
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place for the whole family”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Traffic was a bit hectic due to Grand prix but once we arrived, the kids were in heaven.
Check in was great. No Valet parking or help with luggage but no points lost there.
We got a two bedroom self contained apartment that was great. Had everything we needed from washing machine to kitchen.
I loved how the windows opened up but only to a certain point where children could not fall or climb out the window.... THANK YOU MANTRA for thinking of this... definitely a bonus for us families with young children...alot of hotels still do not do this and I am constantly worrying..
The swimming area is GREAT!!! Kids oved the pool with the pirate ship..two spas, a sauna in the ladies (Which i took full advantage of) and a gym that was good too...
Loved the location and the resturant was handy too..the only down part was they did not charge back to the room..
The day spa was ok too...first time i had a pedicure lying down but Emma had great hands for massage..
Will be back for sure and recommend to anyone!!!! Great hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get a room where you can see the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
It’s great to hear that you had a memorable and enjoyable stay with us! Our apartments are certainly well equipped for a comfortable family stay, so it’s great that you took full advantage of this. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers, we hope to be able to welcome you back to Mantra Crown Towers soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    726
    315
    143
    121
See reviews for
1,293
293
36
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the ninth level. Good sized room, especially for the kids, however, the room was old, tired and quite dated. It wasn't the cleanest room we have stayed in, actually, I can confidentally say, it was the worst room we have ever been in. Driving back after a day out, my wife made my heart drop when she said, "I don't want to go back to the room". I have heard that there are good clean and refurbished rooms, maybe Mantra will get the message and update all the rooms. We didn't want to use the kitchen, and tried to stay out of the room for as long as possible. The shower was dirty, the kitchen felt grimy and the bed one of the worst I have slept in. Everything felt icky. OK, so the positives.... the girl at reception was lovely, (A*****), the pool amazing, the Thai restaurant fantastic and the location was great. We had beautiful views (which was a good thing as we spent most of the night on the balcony once the kids were asleep). The apartment just needs a makeover.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is unfortunate that we were not given the opportunity to address your concerns while you were staying with us, had they been brought to our attention we would have done whatever necessary to ensure you enjoyed your stay. In regard to refurbishment, as each apartment is individually owned each one is at different stages of refurbishment. We do appreciate guest feedback and have taken note of your concerns. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our resort to demonstrate the great customer service we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

8 of us (including my toddler son and tween) stayed here back in April during the school holidays and throughly enjoyed our 3 bedroom apartment! We requested an apartment with ocean views and our request was granted which we were very grateful for. This was my husband and my second stay here (first stay was back in Oct 08 when it wasn't yet a Mantra property) and prefered this stay over our first.
Our apartment was very spacious, with great views of the ocean and hinterland, furnishings were modern, balcony was nice and big and the kitchen was fully equipped, not that we ate in for dinner, we really only ate breakfast there, but it's great to have that option for longer stays.
Everyone loved the facilities, the outdoor area is lovely (they cater very well to children) and the Thai restaurant serves up delicious food.
I have no complaints about anything, staff were friendly, the apartment was clean and considering we stayed during the school holidays, I got quite a reasonable rate for our 4 night stay. Also love the location Crown Towers is in, it's so close to all the hotspots in Surfer's.
We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renish04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review, it’s great to hear that your stay with us was memorable and enjoyable. Our spacious apartments and convenient location are widely regarded as some of our great features, so it’s great to hear you enjoyed those aspects of our resort also. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is the third time we have been to Mantra Crown Towers and still no complaints. Even though we felt that staff were rushed to get the room ready, it was still clean and comfortable. We had a two bedroom ocean room, booked through Mantra. The apartments are spacious and the refurbished rooms are very nice. The reasons we stay at this resort is that, whilst there are many apartments in Surfers to choose from, not many offer spacious apartments, large sunny lagoon pools (now with the addition of a large spa), ocean views, restaurants with good reputations, public transport right outside the door and a short walk to the beach. The location is great. We have stayed at many apartments around Surfers, and this one is certainly a family favourite. Yes, we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished apartment, high floor, with ocean views. As always, I would recommend booking d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaJayneBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
To hear that you are a return guest is certainly gratifying, it is the goal we aim for in providing great customer service and facilities. Thank you for posting your review, please let us know when you are next planning a holiday to the Gold Coast and we would be only too happy to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at and will never stay at a mantra hotel. The accommodation was not worth the money the room was so dated and well used. The staff were not not friendly or helpful. I had to call more than once to get an answer even through left my details. When I finial got through to someone they told me that they could not help!! The room looked like they could use a good clean and the kitchen need to be wiped down before I could use it as well as not being stuff to cook with. The staff where not friendly and very unhelpful. This all impacted on my holiday and made it not go will. The different lifts is not clearly stated and was not told this when I checked in so when to the wrong one this was not a good start. Was told in an ocean view room did not see the ocean!!!! Was on the wrong side. There was not one thing that I like about this hotel. When complain was just ignored this was so unprofessional. I could never recommend tis place to anyone. Will tell or my friends not to stay here.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caitlin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
It is disappointing to hear that your holiday did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately without enough detail provided, we are unable to address your specific issues in this forum. We would be happy to speak with you to address any concerns you have with your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We decided three nights on the Gold Coast was just what we all needed and were very surprised to get a great deal on a long weekend at the end of school holidays at the Mantra Crown Towers. I have stayed in various Mantra properties, but this was a first visit to Crown Towers.

We booked a one bedroom apartment with a roll away bed for Mr 18. We ended up on the 6th floor of the atrium part of the building (tower would have been nice but that's okay) and found the room to be great for our needs. Very roomy with all that you need for a few days (except washing up needs - more later). We were north facing and whilst we had no booked an ocean view, we did get a partial ocean view and a river view - very nice. And the good thing was that we were in the middle of the building so no real traffic noise from the very busy highway nor the building noise from where the tram lines are going in right in front of the hotel.

Mantra's are an apartment property not a hotel, so there is no daily room servicing - which was fine by us. You are expected to take your own rubbish out and wash up dishes etc used - again no problem, but I was annoyed that no washing up equipment was provided - I am sure this was an oversight and we managed. But usually that is supplied for at least a few days to begin with. My only other complaint about the apartment was that the a/c really struggled to keep up - by about 10am it was hot in the apartment even with a/c on full blast. We found if we closed all the curtains and left it running, by the time we got back in the afternoon it was okay - but if you want to be in a cool apartment in the middle of the day - good luck! Also the beds were pretty uncomfortable and the water pressure in the shower was dreadful - hate that!

The weekend we were there the Uni Games were on and the hotel had quite a lot of young uni students staying, but we didn't find the noise levels too bad to be honest and they do have a no party policy. The swimming pool is lovely, although there is a serious lack of pool chairs (that is why I love the Sheraton - always plenty of pool chairs). We didn't eat at the inhouse restaurant, but did enjoy a late lunch from the pool bar (just nuggets and chips but they were yummy and very reasonably priced) and we also ordered takeaway one night from the Thai place in the building - it was okay, not great (used to be much better a few years ago).

The hotel is in a great location - a block from the beach and 10 mins walk into Cavill Ave in Surfers Paradise - so really close to lots of dining and entertainment options. The biggest problem the hotel currently faces - and this is for just about any central GC property at the moment is the building of the tram - it will be great when finished, but the disruption is awful. GPS's don't work so good luck finding where you are going - there are road closures everywhere and it looks awful - it really is a shame but that's progress.

I would definately recommend Crown Towers to anyone - it is a great family style resort. It's a little tired now and could use a bit of a refurb I guess. But for the price it is great value I think. I may stay again.

Room Tip: Preferably get a room not on the Gold Coast Highway side of the property. South facing will give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Feedback from our guests helps us to continue to improve our service and facilities. It is disappointing that you had concerns which went unaddressed, as we strive to offer excellent guest service and had you brought your concerns to our attention, we would have addressed them promptly. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the location and facilities our Resort has to offer, we hope to be able to welcome you back to Mantra Crown Towers in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Do not stay here, they are slow with check in and fail to follow up and complaints or questions. I have had to call these people over 4 times to follow up a complaint and each time they had no clue who I was despite leaving my details. Further, they take a $100 bond that they are incredibly slow to return - but do not advise you of this until you check in. I found the staff to be rude and unprofessional and would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
It is disappointing that you were unable to enjoy your stay at Mantra Crown Towers. As you have not provided enough information for us to determine the details of your booking, we are unable to address your specific concerns in this forum. We can however advise that the requirement of a $100 security pre-authorisation is in fact advised on the confirmation email each guest receives at the time of booking. In terms of returning it, our receptionists advise all guests on check in what the procedure and expected time frame for return of the preauthorisation is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
438 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Crown Towers

Property: Mantra Crown Towers
Address: Crown Towers Resort 5-19 Palm Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Crown Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast, Mantra Crown Towers offers a wide range of leisure facilities perfect for a family holiday, short break or weekend away. Children are well catered for at the resort, which features a lagoon style pool with its own pirate ship, waterslide and sandy beach, as well as a games room and children's playground. The Resort's leisure facilities also include a 15 metre indoor heated pool, spa, sauna, fully equipped gymnasium and on-site restaurants, including Chiangmai Thai. The award-winning Chiangmai Thai restaurant provides authentic Thai cuisine, with strong Thai influences such as wooden elephant chairs and decorative motifs scattered throughout the restaurant adding to the Thai experience. Open for dinner 7 days a week, the restaurant is the perfect choice for dinner, all within the comfort of the resort. Be pampered by professional and friendly therapists, at the onsite day spa Calmer Therapies. The day spa offers beauty treatments, including deluxe facials, full body scrubs/wraps, deluxe pedicures and manicures, pamper packages and waxing. Mantra Crown Towers offers a range of spacious accommodation options including One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. All apartments are fully self contained with kitchen and laundry facilities, and feature their own private balcony with many offering ocean views. Just 100m from Surfers Paradise beach and 500m to the cafe and restaurant precinct of Cavill Avenue, Mantra Crown Towers provides access to all the attractions of the Gold Coast making it the perfect place to stay for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Crown Hotel Surfers Paradise
Crown Resort All Inclusive
Mantra Crown Towers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing