We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You want service here isn't the place to get it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Crown Towers
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I got this one bedroom apartment off wot if thinking hey I stayed here before. This place has always been awesome Mistake. No guest book. No doona on bed the cold water tap fell on me while in the bath. No air conditioning remote. Asked management to call me have received no call. Received doona after having to go down stairs twice. Still no guest book so don't no how to work Internet or receptions number. Wasn't going to do travel advisor til after I left but at this point I don't feel like any things being done

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thankyou for the comments in relation to your recent stay with us, we would like to take this opportunity to clarify the following matters. There was no air conditioning remote supplied in your apartment as the control point for the air-conditioning in the room to which you stayed is wall mounted. On arrival you were handed a welcome letter containing all the necessary resort information required for your stay, obviously should any further information have been required our friendly reception team are always ready and willing to assist our guests when required.

In recent times as doona’s are beginning to be fazed out due to the focus now on bed presentation, the majority of beds now contain either a throw or a blanket. In saying this we do keep a number of spares doona’s on hand to fulfil guest requests as they come to hand. Thankyou for reporting the maintenance issue with the bathroom tap, I certainly apologise for the fact this issue has occurred however I am pleased our duty manager was able to rectify the situation promptly. Again thankyou for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,031)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Crown Towers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,775 - 1,781 of 2,031 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Huge apartment! We were pleasantly surprised by the space we had! Kids loved the facilities (pools, games room). Great location, walk to shops, restaurants and beach. Kids enjoyed watching the bungee shot lit up at night across the road when we walked back from dinner each night. We ate at Thai restaurant downstairs which was lovely food and atmosphere. We were careful to book thru the mantra website and do not regret it. Great family holiday. Good value. Only one negative; beds were hard! And pillows fat and uncomfortable. Everything else brilliant!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piperbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

It is great to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one! Our resort is well loved by families for it’s great facilities and close proximity to all that Surfers Paradise has to offer. We hope to welcome you back to Mantra Crown Towers the next time you visit the Gold Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

You must be very careful who you book this trip with. Be aware if booking via Gold Coast Tourist Information Centre- they are the 3rd party who handles some of this resort's bookings. The actual resort is great for kids as it has a great man made beach and a water slide which they will really enjoy. The Thai restaurant is amazing too. The resort is also in a great location. However we found our experience was compromised because we booked via the GC Tourist Information Centre. They manage the bookings for the individual owners who buy the apartments. Our room was filthy. So dirty in fact that within 10 minutes of walking around the apartment bare food, the soles of our feet were black. The kitchen floor was sticky and hadn’t been mopped. The carpet was beyond putrid as it was covered in stains and dirt and there were finger prints all over the windows and tables and benches. The remote controls all had sticky stains on them. It felt as though we had come into someone else’s home and were living amongst their filth. In total there were 2 rolls of toilet paper provided for the whole family. There were no dishcloths or sponges to do the dishes. The décor was beyond out-dated – it was straight out of the 60s and the doona cover had a stale odour . The blankets on the bed had stains on them and we couldn't touch them. The televisions are also small but we weren’t there to watch digital TV so that didn’t bother us too much. When we called to complain about our room, we were questioned as though we had done something wrong. Finally they agreed to send someone over to clean it but that never happened. In order for us to enjoy our stay, we had to get a bucket and mop the apartment ourselves and clean the tables and chairs ourselves. Our advice – stay here as it’s fantastic but do it directly through the resort so that you may have a cleaner and newer room – do not book through Gold Coast Tourist Information Centre!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 11DSLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is unfortunate that your holiday was compromised by these incidents you have mentioned. The unit which you stayed in is not managed by Mantra, therefore we are not in a position to comment or assist you in the above matter. Mantra is the appointed agent to operate from this premises and we are committed to offering our guests an enjoyable holiday. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic facilities our resort has to offer and we would love to welcome you back to holiday with us at Mantra Crown Towers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Mantra crown towers on 3 November for 3 nights. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 35th floor. The apartment faced north east. We had an excellent view of the ocean and the city.

The apartment was very clean and modern. The kitchen, living room and bedrooms were refurbished. The 2 bathrooms were a little dated but adequate and clean. Despite being on a main road we didn't hear the traffic due to being high up. The kitchen was well equipped with modern appliances and we cooked 2 night, there was plenty of cutlery/crockery etc, it is worth taking a few dishwasher tablets if you plan on cooking, as the hotel only give you 1! The lounge room was large with 2 new leather couches and a flat screen tv. The tv channels were a bit disappointing, they did not provide all the free to air channels.

The swimming pools were great, probably the best part of the resort for the kids (aged 2 and 4). The lagoon pool was excellent although the water was quite cold. The kids lagoon pool was a bit warmer and the water slide was good for the kids, they loved the pirate ship. It was handy having the heated indoor pool as the weather was on the cooler side.

The Thai restaurant was very good and reasonably priced and very child friendly with awesome food, definitely worth a visit.

We booked through mantra and used the entertainment book to get a discount and got the apartment for a great price.

All in all we had an awesome time and would definitely return! I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on here, and I did ring the resort to request a high up room which was refurbished. I would recommend this! I guess you have to take a risk that you get a refurbished room, and you will have a great time with your children!

Room Tip: 3502 was excellent 2 bed refurbished apartment with north eastern views, not right opposite the ocea...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the unit’s cleanliness, amenities and view and made the most of your holiday! Whilst our units are fully self-contained, we are happy to provide additional items such as dishwasher powder to our guests from Reception, just ask! Our great resort facilities combine with our unit’s amenities to provide a great package experience for families and couples alike and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed at the crown towers many times before and can only say it gets better every time. Pool area is brilliant, rooms are 10 out of 10 and staff are always willing to help you. I had a 1 bedroom apartment and was happy with the layout, cleanliness and facilities. Lets be honest here you may pay a couple of dollars more here (not much) but hey look at it to me i strongly believe its worth it. Will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We strive to do all we can to provide a wonderful holiday experience for all our guests, so it is gratifying to receive such great comments, thank you! We hope we can continue to exceed your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Crown Towers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Mantra Crown Towers in November 2012 with our 2 year old daughter. Overall we found it to be an excellent place to stay with a toddler.

The best thing about this hotel is the pool area. The main lagoon style pool is like a mini-beach. The shallow 'beach front' is excellent for toddlers to play safely in the water within reach of their parents. The pool itself is lovely - it's huge and has a couple of little bridges and a cute little cave. There is also an excellent kids pool with it's own little beach area as well as a pirate ship with a water slide. We had a couple of rainy days so having an indoor pool was excellent as it meant we could still swim in the bad weather.

The location is also excellent. The hotel is moments to the beach as well as to shops and restaurants. We didn't find it noisy at all.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 10th floor with an ocean view. The hotel is not right on the beach so you don't get an uninterrupted view of the ocean but we definitely had good ocean views, along with looking at other hotels.

The one bedroom apartment was a really decent size for a holiday apartment. The bedroom was big enough to have a queen sized bed as well as a roll out single bed and still have room to move around. The kitchen was quite big and really well equipped - the appliances were modern and we had all the bits and pieces we needed. Having a laundry with a dryer was excellent. The bathroom was also a great size with bath and separate shower - it also had direct access from the bedroom as well as from the hallway. The lounge/dining area was roomy and the very comfortable lounge was excellent for relaxing after a long day. Along with a big flat screen in the lounge room, there was a medium sized flat screen in the bedroom.

The apartments are not serviced daily. Beach towels are not provided (but can be hired from reception).

We booked our apartment through a private owner on Stayz. While this was quite an easy process and meant that we paid a much better price than booking through hotel reception, there were a couple of downfalls with this. The reception staff were really rude to us when we tried to ask them any questions and it also meant that we didn't have any options for leaving our luggage at check-in or check-out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our Resort and its facilities, although as you have mentioned, you have booked and stayed in a privately managed apartment. It is unfortunate that you have interpreted our reception staff as “rude”, while they were simply trying to convey that they were unable to assist you in many aspects due to the nature of your reservation, as we don’t have any legal responsibilities to act on behalf of private operators for the services they provide. Our reception staff always endeavour to help to the best of their ability given the circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with our 1 year old son in April 2012 during the Easter School holidays. We were shocked that the hotel was not as busy as we expected during this time. We expected huge crowds and were pleasantly surprised at how quiet and calm it was.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the north side of the hotel on a high floor. We were well away from the little amusement park on the other side of the hotel and there was no noise to disturb us other than the sound of the ocean. We secured our room for $99 per night as part of a special deal which was fantastic! We even had ocean views even though we had not specifically requested them.

We hired a cot, high chair and pram from a Surfers based company for our son to use during our holiday and all was waiting for us upon our arrival at the hotel. Our room was spacious, clean and modern enough. The kitchen in our apartment was well equipped and made our holiday so much easier considering we were travelling with a 1 year old so couldn't really eat all our meals out. We had a washer and dryer in great condition and we used them several times during our stay. It is fantastic to be able to wash and dry clothes when travelling with children.

Our beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were good too, including a lovely spa bath which we used every day. There were some products available for use when we arrived but we did have to purchase toilet paper, dish washing liquid and laundry detergent whilst we were there. We had no problem whatsoever with doing is as it was clearly specified by management when we arrived so we were not at all surprised.

The hotel has a cafe that we ate 2 breakfasts at and ordered from for dinner one night. There is no room service at this hotel but you can order a meal from the cafe and go down and pick it up to eat in your room. We found the cafe food to be decent enough though there credit payment facilities were down during our stay. There was, however, an ATM in the lobby not far from the cafe so this w not really an issue. We also ate at the Thai restaurant downstairs in the hotel which was terrific (see my separate review).

The outdoor pool is a lagoon style pool with sand. It is great to look a but we didn't swim in it as it was way too cold in April, particularly because the sun was blocked out by neighbouring hotels. We did use the indoor pool as did most other people. It was generally filled with kids and families having a great time. We used it twice a day. There is an outdoor cafe near the pool, a gym and a spa/ sauna but we did not use them. There is also a pirate ship with a slide and a kids playground near the outside pool which kids seemed to love. Our son was a it small to use these facilities but they a definitely a draw card!

We loved the fact that this hotel was walking distance to Cavill and Orchid Avenues, Coles etc but not so close that it was noisy or crowded. The location of the hotel is one of its best features. It is a block back from a lovely uncrowded section of beach that is patrolled by lifeguards. It is also walking distance (1 block) from a medical centre, which we used because our son developed an ear and throat infection during our stay. We hired a car at the airport and we also received complimentary parking for the duration of our stay which as great.

We found the hotel's staff to be friendly and efficient. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing family holiday.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room on the opposite side of the hotel to the little amusement park.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyHolidayMakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your holiday with us. We are happy to hear you have taken advantage of our location and the facilities we provide. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Mantra Crown Towers in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,290 reviews
0.0 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,724 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Crown Towers

Address: Crown Towers Resort 5-19 Palm Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $103 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Crown Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast, Mantra Crown Towers offers a wide range of leisure facilities perfect for a family holiday, short break or weekend away. Children are well catered for at the resort, which features a lagoon style pool with its own pirate ship, waterslide and sandy beach, as well as a games room and children's playground. The Resort's leisure facilities also include a 15 metre indoor heated pool, spa, sauna, fully equipped gymnasium and on-site restaurants, including the award-winning Chiangmai Thai, all within the comfort of the resort. Mantra Crown Towers offers a range of spacious accommodation options including One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. All apartments are fully self contained with kitchen and laundry facilities, and feature their own private balcony with many offering ocean views. Just 100m from Surfers Paradise beach and 500m to the cafe and restaurant precinct of Cavill Avenue, you are amongst all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Crown Hotel Surfers Paradise
Crown Resort All Inclusive
Mantra Crown Towers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing