We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location - Great $ Value & Friendly Staff - Ideal for Singles and Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I will definitely be coming back to stay at the Moroccan. This beautifully located hotel was once a five star resort, but these days with all the newer developments she would rate 3 and a half on the Gold Coast and a 4 star elsewhere south of the border., But do not be fooled this is 3 and a half stars of class. Contrary to 2 other reports here. our rooms were not dirty or run down. In fact I would say they were not only tidy with a great kitchen and meals area and with 2 couches and 2 big soft chairs in the main living area overlooking the pacific ocean it was a very cool place to live.My wife wanted to move in for good. The bedding was very comfortable in our room and the kids loved their rooms . The 2 bathrooms were clean and spacious too. We all loved the additional balconies with billion dollar views and we had our own private spaces to read or just enjoy the ocean views. Importantly our 3 kids loved the place too. Amenities were great with BBQ areas and 3 pools,2 spas, a modern gym, a sauna and a games room for big and little kids. The manager Brett Hone made us very welcome and provided great advice on theme parks and dining;.his staff were also very friendly and helpful too. This place has a good vibe about it and that made our stay very special as a family. If you want the best location and the real value for money in Surfers I wholeheartedly recommend the Moroccan. We will be returning within 12 months and look forward to staying in the same room.

Room Tip: I loved the esplanade Tower with its magnificent views and balconies. The lights shine on to the sur...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at BreakFree Moroccan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Trevor F

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

The Apartments and the View are truely great and I am glad you enjoyed your holiday, convenience is always a good selling point as well so thanks for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for BreakFree Moroccan Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 545 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, room view and location awesome.

We will be back thanks to the staff also very helpful and the kids totally enjoyed the heated pools.
Ocean view were unreal apartment was very spacious and very comfortable.

Loved it...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at BreakFree Moroccan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Clarke R,

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

The Views are truely great and I am glad you enjoyed your holiday, convenience is always a good selling point as well so thanks for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here and I was horrified at how dirty and run down the rooms were. The rooms are big but very run down and in need of a lot of work
The bathrooms were dirty and the place was overpriced. I had a look at other places while I was here and moved as this was very poor value for money

Room Tip: stay somewhere else there are far better places for cheaper around Surfers Paradise
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at BreakFree Moroccan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Ruth M,

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

We too are disappointed to get such feedback, thanks for your time.


Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just returned from our annual Gold Coast holiday and least to say its one of the worse places we have stayed at. The moment we walked into our room in the View tower, we had to open the windows to let the overwhelming smell of odour out of the room. It was a warm day so we were about to put the air con on but saw the amount of rust on it so we changed our mind. There was dirt all over the walls and curtains and the kitchen was just full of rust and stains. The outdoor windows was so dirty I can't believe they haven't been cleaned

The bathroom is in need of some TLC and maybe change the out dated taps. The TV didn't work properly either. I was not expecting to walk into The Hilton but it just seemed that there was no care or effect put into the upkeep of the apartment.

The pool facilities were great but there was quite a bit of tiles missing. Compared to the rates per night, I know there are better options in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at BreakFree Moroccan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Leanne D

Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay at the Moroccan Resort .

It is always great to receive feedback. We are not happy that you didn't enjoy your stay and we do have a high number of our apartment that have been refurbished. It is disappointing that we didnt meet your expectations.

Once again thanks for your comments.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed in a 3 bed apartment Nov 2012 with 5 of us. Excellent value, great location and it had everything we needed. We didnt use the pools so cant comment. Was a little concerned after reading some reviews but we were more than happy. Clean, plenty of room, perfect for what we wanted or even a family holiday. I guess it depends on what room you get. Furniture was fine, kitchen could do with more utensils / glasses etc. We had Room 0123 with Ocean View, booked through Gold Coast holiday rentals

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at BreakFree Moroccan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Watto 77,

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

The Views are truely great and I am glad you enjoyed your Boyes weekend away, convenience is always a good selling point as well so thanks for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in apartment 217.
The greats ... the apartment had great beach views, were very spacious. We had a double bed which was not of hotel standard, a large en suite, a twin room for the kids, a separate laundry with tumble dryer and top loader. The kitchen was a good size, but very basic in utensils. We had no fryingpan, only 1 saucepan, small microwave. Everything in it was cheap looking. But in all, it had everything we needed and was bigger than the average holiday apartment. There was free parking in the basement which was great, ad lifts taking you straight up to the apartment. The pool was a good size, and it had a warm spa. We saw the pool man fill it up with fresh water which was reassuring. There was an indoor pool, spa, and sauna. The gym was free to use. It was walking distance to Cavil Ave and Woolworths, so for a family it was very easy and you really don't need a car if you were flying in.

Suggestions to improve: I do not have high expectations of holiday apartments. Many are outdated with older looking fixtures and fittings. However there is no excuse for poor cleanliness. When we arrived I killed 6 cockroaches in the first 5 mins, and another 20 by the following morning. I politely spoke to reception who apologised, and said that they would send someone. No one came. By the next day I had killed another 20 and headed back to reception who said someone had been. They had not, we had only been out for about 2 hours and the place did not smell of at all of insect spray. And another 20 of so cockroaches, I knew this was more that a few QLD cockies, so with no action from the hotel, I headed to Woolies and bought spray and cockroach stuff and zapped the place. I told the reception the next day and again I heard 'so sorry about that' . Had someone come up to our apartment and asked if we were ok, or if someone had called to ask if we were still having issues, I would not be posting this on Tripadvisor. Come on Breakfree, "sorry" was not good enough in this instance, your staff should be trained to take 'ownership' of an issue and keep in touch with guests. Why did I have to complain 3 times???????? Because of that, we will not be back

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea views. Also higher up you go the less noise you will get ....
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshinOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at BreakFree Moroccan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear WelshinOZ ,

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

The Views are truely great and I am glad you enjoyed your holiday, convenience is always a good selling point as well so thanks for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I arrived this morning 4/4/2013, I requested through my travel agent an ocean view room however i was placed on the 2nd floor of the Elkorn Tower with no ocean view. I went to reception and was told there were no other rooms available, there are 3 towers u cant tell me there wasnt somthing else!!!!! The balcony windows are filthy with mould on the bottom part of the glass the carpets are filthy in the living areas and there is funny over powering smell in the room like its been an attempt to cover up the real smell i will never stay here again the only reason i am still here is because it was prepaid

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swanny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at BreakFree Moroccan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Craig,

Thanks for your feed back we run at very high occupancy and are a very popular resort, non of the staff here would be dishonest to you or any of our guests. We are also sorry that your request was not conveyed to us or we would have met your request.

It is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

We too are disappointed to get such feedback, thanks for your time.


Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#9 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breakfree Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula
#21 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#13 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#34 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#5 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
854 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olympus Apartments
Olympus Apartments
#60 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Moroccan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Moroccan Resort

Address: 14 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Moroccan Resort Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $106 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Moroccan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the road from a patrolled beach, BreakFree Moroccan's offers fully self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. There are two choices of two bedroom apartments, standard and ocean premium which includes guaranteed ocean views. All apartments include full kitchen, laundry facilities, TV, cable TV and balcony with ocean or hinterland views. Facilities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, spa, BBQ area, games room and secure undercover parking. For guests that want to experience the Gold Coast's theme parks, Dreamworld, SeaWorld, Movie World or Wet'n'Wild, they are all within easy reach with bus stops near the resort. If adrenalin is what you are after then head for the centre of Surfers Paradise for the Banzai Bungey, Sling Shot or Flycoaster. If you want to enjoy a spot of shopping, Surfers Paradise offers everything from top-end designers to outlet bargain shops and beachfront markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Moroccan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Moroccan Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing