We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boys weekend - did the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Boys weekend - did the job”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed in a 3 bed apartment Nov 2012 with 5 of us. Excellent value, great location and it had everything we needed. We didnt use the pools so cant comment. Was a little concerned after reading some reviews but we were more than happy. Clean, plenty of room, perfect for what we wanted or even a family holiday. I guess it depends on what room you get. Furniture was fine, kitchen could do with more utensils / glasses etc. We had Room 0123 with Ocean View, booked through Gold Coast holiday rentals

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Watto 77,

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

The Views are truely great and I am glad you enjoyed your Boyes weekend away, convenience is always a good selling point as well so thanks for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    145
    81
    53
    49
See reviews for
291
74
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in apartment 217.
The greats ... the apartment had great beach views, were very spacious. We had a double bed which was not of hotel standard, a large en suite, a twin room for the kids, a separate laundry with tumble dryer and top loader. The kitchen was a good size, but very basic in utensils. We had no fryingpan, only 1 saucepan, small microwave. Everything in it was cheap looking. But in all, it had everything we needed and was bigger than the average holiday apartment. There was free parking in the basement which was great, ad lifts taking you straight up to the apartment. The pool was a good size, and it had a warm spa. We saw the pool man fill it up with fresh water which was reassuring. There was an indoor pool, spa, and sauna. The gym was free to use. It was walking distance to Cavil Ave and Woolworths, so for a family it was very easy and you really don't need a car if you were flying in.

Suggestions to improve: I do not have high expectations of holiday apartments. Many are outdated with older looking fixtures and fittings. However there is no excuse for poor cleanliness. When we arrived I killed 6 cockroaches in the first 5 mins, and another 20 by the following morning. I politely spoke to reception who apologised, and said that they would send someone. No one came. By the next day I had killed another 20 and headed back to reception who said someone had been. They had not, we had only been out for about 2 hours and the place did not smell of at all of insect spray. And another 20 of so cockroaches, I knew this was more that a few QLD cockies, so with no action from the hotel, I headed to Woolies and bought spray and cockroach stuff and zapped the place. I told the reception the next day and again I heard 'so sorry about that' . Had someone come up to our apartment and asked if we were ok, or if someone had called to ask if we were still having issues, I would not be posting this on Tripadvisor. Come on Breakfree, "sorry" was not good enough in this instance, your staff should be trained to take 'ownership' of an issue and keep in touch with guests. Why did I have to complain 3 times???????? Because of that, we will not be back

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea views. Also higher up you go the less noise you will get ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshinOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear WelshinOZ ,

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

The Views are truely great and I am glad you enjoyed your holiday, convenience is always a good selling point as well so thanks for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I arrived this morning 4/4/2013, I requested through my travel agent an ocean view room however i was placed on the 2nd floor of the Elkorn Tower with no ocean view. I went to reception and was told there were no other rooms available, there are 3 towers u cant tell me there wasnt somthing else!!!!! The balcony windows are filthy with mould on the bottom part of the glass the carpets are filthy in the living areas and there is funny over powering smell in the room like its been an attempt to cover up the real smell i will never stay here again the only reason i am still here is because it was prepaid

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swanny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Craig,

Thanks for your feed back we run at very high occupancy and are a very popular resort, non of the staff here would be dishonest to you or any of our guests. We are also sorry that your request was not conveyed to us or we would have met your request.

It is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

We too are disappointed to get such feedback, thanks for your time.


Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Paid over $2000 for a week got moved over 3 times from room 266 262 281 234 had to settle for room with with mould in every room including bedrooms but this was far better than the no a/c, horrible smells, hissing toilets, urine stains in beds and faulty washing machine and dryer. When asked at front desk how this could be we were told that they don't own the rooms they just manage them however they were new and had been sent to clean the place up. All I can say is fair go guys way to ruin someone's holiday all we asked for we're 2 rooms on the same floor not 6 floors apart it's a bit hard when you have 8 people in your family

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leahcar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Leahcar79 ,

Thanks for your feedback it is always good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

We too are disappointed to get such feedback, thanks for your time and your comments.

I dont know about your comments about being new here I think there was a mix up here in communications or bookings.


Kind Regards

Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strahan, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

my family of 6 had the best stay here at the moroccan was a little worried after reading trip adviser but we were more than pleased with our 3 bedroom appartment this was our first time in surfas and cant wait to come back next scholl holidays also very helpful staff for booking buses and theam parks. see you again soon triffett family

Room Tip: our room was facing the outdoor pool and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Angela D,

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

We cant wait to have you back here either, I am glad you enjoyed your holiday, so thanks for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed for three nights in a three bedroom apartment. View of the ocean were spectacular....... however the apartment itself was quite old and run down with a very stale musty smell everytime you walked in. Furniture wasnt too bad but could have been done with a good clean as it was dusty under the cushions of the lounges and bedheads had a line of thick dust. Overall, good location and checkin and checkout was a breeze.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear kiwozi

Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay at the Moroccan Resort and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It is always great to receive feedback that is constructive, and on this occaision your comments have been passed onto the respective departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

As we have three young children (6 & under) we requested, and got, a ground floor apartment. Our apartment was in a fantastic position with direct pool access which worked really well with the kids. The room was quite dated and desperately needed a fresh coat of paint but apart from that we had a massive two bedroom plus study apartment. The resort was very central with a very short stroll to Cavill Avenue. The night markets started at the end of the street as well. We didn't have a car and walked pretty much everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Kathrin K

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

This is a great place for Families and I am glad you enjoyed your holiday, Fun for the Family is always a good selling point as well so thanks for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#9 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#27 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#12 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#4 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
#10 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Moroccan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Moroccan Resort

Property: Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Address: 14 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Moroccan Resort Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Moroccan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the road from a patrolled beach, BreakFree Moroccan's convenient location allows you to easily walk to Cavill Avenue for great shopping, cafes, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The resort offers fully self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. There are two choices of two bedroom apartments, standard and ocean premium which includes guaranteed ocean views. All apartments include full kitchen, laundry facilities, TV, cable TV and balcony with ocean or hinterland views. The resort's onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, spa, BBQ area, games room and secure undercover parking. For guests that want to experience the Gold Coast's theme parks, Dreamworld, SeaWorld, Movie World or Wet'n'Wild, they are all within easy reach with bus stops near the resort. If adrenalin is what you are after then head for the centre of Surfers Paradise for the Banzai Bungey, Sling Shot or Flycoaster. When night falls, the vibrant nightlife Surfers Paradise is famous for takes over. Bars and nightclubs come alive and the streets fill with people. If you want to enjoy a spot of shopping, Surfers Paradise offers everything from top-end designers to outlet bargain shops and beachfront markets. BreakFree Moroccan Resort is a great accommodation choice for families and couples right in the heart of Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakfree Moroccan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakfree Moroccan Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing