We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfree Disapointment what a Dump by Craig Swanson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakfree Disapointment what a Dump by Craig Swanson”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I arrived this morning 4/4/2013, I requested through my travel agent an ocean view room however i was placed on the 2nd floor of the Elkorn Tower with no ocean view. I went to reception and was told there were no other rooms available, there are 3 towers u cant tell me there wasnt somthing else!!!!! The balcony windows are filthy with mould on the bottom part of the glass the carpets are filthy in the living areas and there is funny over powering smell in the room like its been an attempt to cover up the real smell i will never stay here again the only reason i am still here is because it was prepaid

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swanny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Craig,

Thanks for your feed back we run at very high occupancy and are a very popular resort, non of the staff here would be dishonest to you or any of our guests. We are also sorry that your request was not conveyed to us or we would have met your request.

It is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

We too are disappointed to get such feedback, thanks for your time.


Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    168
    90
    57
    53
See reviews for
323
87
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Paid over $2000 for a week got moved over 3 times from room 266 262 281 234 had to settle for room with with mould in every room including bedrooms but this was far better than the no a/c, horrible smells, hissing toilets, urine stains in beds and faulty washing machine and dryer. When asked at front desk how this could be we were told that they don't own the rooms they just manage them however they were new and had been sent to clean the place up. All I can say is fair go guys way to ruin someone's holiday all we asked for we're 2 rooms on the same floor not 6 floors apart it's a bit hard when you have 8 people in your family

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leahcar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Leahcar79 ,

Thanks for your feedback it is always good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

We too are disappointed to get such feedback, thanks for your time and your comments.

I dont know about your comments about being new here I think there was a mix up here in communications or bookings.


Kind Regards

Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Strahan, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

my family of 6 had the best stay here at the moroccan was a little worried after reading trip adviser but we were more than pleased with our 3 bedroom appartment this was our first time in surfas and cant wait to come back next scholl holidays also very helpful staff for booking buses and theam parks. see you again soon triffett family

Room Tip: our room was facing the outdoor pool and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Angela D,

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

We cant wait to have you back here either, I am glad you enjoyed your holiday, so thanks for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed for three nights in a three bedroom apartment. View of the ocean were spectacular....... however the apartment itself was quite old and run down with a very stale musty smell everytime you walked in. Furniture wasnt too bad but could have been done with a good clean as it was dusty under the cushions of the lounges and bedheads had a line of thick dust. Overall, good location and checkin and checkout was a breeze.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear kiwozi

Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay at the Moroccan Resort and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It is always great to receive feedback that is constructive, and on this occaision your comments have been passed onto the respective departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

As we have three young children (6 & under) we requested, and got, a ground floor apartment. Our apartment was in a fantastic position with direct pool access which worked really well with the kids. The room was quite dated and desperately needed a fresh coat of paint but apart from that we had a massive two bedroom plus study apartment. The resort was very central with a very short stroll to Cavill Avenue. The night markets started at the end of the street as well. We didn't have a car and walked pretty much everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Kathrin K

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

This is a great place for Families and I am glad you enjoyed your holiday, Fun for the Family is always a good selling point as well so thanks for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

After reading mixed reviews,I rang spoke with reception,and was assured we'd get a good room,also wrote to manager,On rrival was most dissapointed with room we were given,it looked tired, on speaking to reception,we were able to swap rooms the next day,great view ,but airconditioner not working,and fans looked rusted,need replacing,but this room much better than first room,excellent position,nice and quiet,manager was pleasant ,rained the whole 10 days and beaches closed ,not the resorts fault,but buses not running along usual strip as council laying light rail, major problems,felt sorry for shops and taxi drivers with diversons,would not have done the trip if we knew of all the muddle.

Room Tip: HIGHer rooms had great beach view,nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at Moroccan for 2 nights in Feb 2013

Hope this helps people out there;

Bit of a heads up on the resort - there are 3 towers that make up the Moroccan Resort.

1) Esplanade Tower is the closest to the beach and is built on the road overlooking the main beach. If you want uninterupted water views this would be the go, there is nothing between the Esplanade Tower and the water except for the road over to the beach. I believe this tower mostly houses 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. This tower has its own outdoor pool and spa that looks nice.
2) View Tower which is where we stayed is behind the Esplanade Tower. You don't have uninterupted views of the water but we were happy with the water views in any case. You still get views of large chunks of the ocean. My wife and I with our 6 month old baby stayed in a one bedroom apartment. This tower has an indoor pool and spa - didn't use either but looked really nice.
3) Alkorn Tower is behind the View Tower at the back of the resort. If you were after nice ocean views I would be requesting a room in either of the other two towers as I am not sure how much water you would actually see - I don't think too much. Not sure if this tower had its own pool.

Likes
1) Location - right on the main beach 5 minute walk to cavil ave (main strip)
2( Building - modern building although been around for a while, parts of the building could do with a lick of paint but still in very good condition.
3) Apartment - large with modern furniture, water views and a very large balcony. Seperate kitchen and bathroom.
4) Staff - reception staff and others we spoke to during our stay were friendly and polite.
5( Free Carpark - big bonus, especially if you were staying say a couple of weeks.
6) Lifts - 2 of them and they were fast, seems like a minor thing but we hate slow lifts and having to wait so this was good.

Dislikes
1) My wife said bathroom needed cleaning. She sais it was "filthy". It did look like it could have done with a real going over with some BAM.
2) They needed to provide more coffee and tea in the kitchen.
3) The airconditioning units (one in the bedroom and one in living room) did not work properly. The one in the bedroom worked ok although it was missing some buttons but the living room unit definately wasn't working correctly.

All up we were really happy with our stay and would definately return. We thought it was good value for money. It wasn't perfect but if you want to pay premium dollars for top shelf luxury there are other accom options in surfers for that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perfect_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#8 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#13 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
1,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#30 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BreakFree Cosmopolitan
BreakFree Cosmopolitan
#20 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breakfree Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula
#15 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#5 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Moroccan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Moroccan Resort

Property: Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Address: 14 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Moroccan Resort Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Moroccan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the road from a patrolled beach, BreakFree Moroccan's convenient location allows you to easily walk to Cavill Avenue for great shopping, cafes, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The resort offers fully self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. There are two choices of two bedroom apartments, standard and ocean premium which includes guaranteed ocean views. All apartments include full kitchen, laundry facilities, TV, cable TV and balcony with ocean or hinterland views. The resort's onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, spa, BBQ area, games room and secure undercover parking. For guests that want to experience the Gold Coast's theme parks, Dreamworld, SeaWorld, Movie World or Wet'n'Wild, they are all within easy reach with bus stops near the resort. If adrenalin is what you are after then head for the centre of Surfers Paradise for the Banzai Bungey, Sling Shot or Flycoaster. When night falls, the vibrant nightlife Surfers Paradise is famous for takes over. Bars and nightclubs come alive and the streets fill with people. If you want to enjoy a spot of shopping, Surfers Paradise offers everything from top-end designers to outlet bargain shops and beachfront markets. BreakFree Moroccan Resort is a great accommodation choice for families and couples right in the heart of Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakfree Moroccan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakfree Moroccan Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing