We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“***********AWESOME*********” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakfree Moroccan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“***********AWESOME*********”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The Breakfree Moroccan Resort was fantastic!! We are a Family of four with two young boys (5 & 8) You are really spoilt for choice at the Moroccan, from the view, the location, the helpful staff, the number of pools and the spacious apartments. It was a fantastic stay and I highly recommend it. Would love too return soon! Thanks to the Brett and the team at the Moroccan.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tammie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Tammie P ,

Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Moroccan Resort. We genuinely value all feedback as it assits us in Managing what makes the Resort great as well as identifying any areas that may need improvement.

I am glad you enjoyed you stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards,

Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    141
    75
    48
    46
See reviews for
277
68
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just spent a week at the Moroccan and for the price this place cannot be beaten. Stayed in the Elkhorn tower although I believe the View tower looked better. The views were amazing but the location is the attraction, opposite the beach, a block from cavill and within walking distance of anything you need, the car collected dust and we just concentrated on have a fun and relaxing break, Brett the manager was very helful as was all the staff, will definitely be back

Room Tip: anything above the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vasilios k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear vasilios k ,

Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Moroccan Resort. We genuinely value all feedback as it assits us in Managing what makes the Resort great as well as identifying any areas that may need improvement.

I am glad you enjoyed you stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards,

Brett Hohn
General Manager
brett.hohn@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hi there,
We stayed here in november 2012 myself, husband and our 4 year old boy. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. we had a higher up floor and a fantastic view and a balcony that was huge and able to be used easily for the 3 of us. The room was nicely decorated painted a new furniture. the kitchen and bathrooms whilst functional clean and presentable where a little dates but cant really complain about them they served there perpurse. The beds were very comfy and we all enjoyed a sleep in. all in all the room was comfortable clean quiet and we enjoyed our stay there.

The outdoor pool is a great size and the adjacent spa in a good spot to supervise children from. the tile around the pool were a little slipery when wet so watch those running kids. ALthough we didnt spend as much time as we would have liked in there due to the weather being a little cooler. that brings us to the indoor pool which is fantastic for the kids (and adults). we were there rain hail or shine but sunlight or moonlight. great for the kids who love to swim. again the spa attached is great to be able to keep an eye on the kids swimming.

Would definatly stay here again. great hotel friendly staff vaue for money great location close to everything. Enjoyed our ltime here

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renlyn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Renlyn79,

Thankyou for writing a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at The Moroccan Resort. We always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I am especially pleased that you left here enjoying your Happy Holiday.

Thank you again for your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back again from Newcastle and trust that your next stay will be even better.

Kind Regards,

Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooroolbark, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

They had to make up the spare bed in a room for my daughter so the used the blanket from the main bed (we were told there wasn't enough to go around the building) so my husband and I had only a sheet on our bed for the first 3 nights till we had enough and asked for a blanket and they sent one up at the same time I had asked for a new bag for the vacuum cleaner as the one that was in there was so full.
The washing machine worked on and off.
The light above the dining table didnt work that was never fixed.
When u went to use the plates in the kitchen there was 2 with a smoke butts and ash on them they must have been used as a ash tray and not cleaned.
The couch had a hole in it so everytime u sat down you would fall in it was very uncomfortable.
There was marks all over the walls and I mean all over everywhere you would look the back of the curtains in the main room were filthy they looked as if someone had thrown 4 cups of coffee on them.
The air conditioner on the balcony looks terrible with rust all over it, as well as the balcony rail and the furniture out there... my god !!!
The dust on the fan in the main room my husband thought it was concrete it was so thick.
The tv in the main room is pointless with 2 or 3 channels and remots that are broken the airconditioner remote you cant see anything on it...They need to get some batteries.
Lots lots more but I would be here forever, it was the most disgusting place we have been to stay at. Disappointing!!

Not to mention the inside pool and spa needs a big clean out the equiptment in the gym most was broken and the sauna was out of order!!! just to name a few from out side our room also our friends stayed on the 12th floor a little cleaner but not much better.
We are also yet to get back our $200 bond and my daughters ipod was going to be sent to me and we are yet to get that back also. Its been 3 months.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Michelle B,

Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Moroccan Resort. We genuinely value all feedback as it assits us in Managing what makes the Resort great as well as identifying any areas that may need improvement.

We thank you for bringing the maintenance issues you experienced in your room to our attention. Unfortunately maintenance issues do arise from time to time and measures are in place to ensure such issues are rectified promptly.

We are regretful that these issues were not brought to our attention during your stay, but wish to advise that corrective action has since been taken.

Kind regards,

Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I booked out two 2 bedroom apartments for 3 nights, they were on different floors. The views were good from both rooms, the quality of the upper room was fantastic and clean. The bottom room was disappointing though. It looked like it hadnt been maintained or updated in years, and the carpet was full of stain. The sad thing about this place is that they had the nerve to charge me the same rate for two completely different rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Benjamin S ,

Thankyou for writing a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at The Moroccan Resort. We value all feedback as it assists us in improving the product and services that we provide.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of the apartments and I am especially pleased that you left here enjoying your Holiday.

We are regretful that your issues with one of the rooms was not brought to our attention during your stay, but we wish to advise that corrective action has since been taken.

Thank you again for your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back again and trust that your next stay will be even better.

Kind Regards,

Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent three days at The Breakfree Moroccan in October with my partner and my adult daughter.
We were upgraded to a three bedroom apartment with ocean and pool views.
there was extensive room and everyting was very classy and comfortable
The service was excellent on check in and check out and you were left alone in betwen that
Its hard to find a fault with this apartment complex and would recomend to anyone with three or more people (great for families)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSH35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear MSH35,

Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Moroccan Resort. We genuinely value all feedback as it assits us in Managing what makes the Resort great as well as identifying any areas that may need improvement.

I am glad you enjoyed you stay with us and I agree the apartments are huge, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards,

Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Staying at The Moroccan made my Schoolies trip so amazing. The rooms were big and the views were top notch! The general manager was a top bloke and everything was very chilled. Hats off to them for taking care of all the schoolies. I will definitely be returning sometime in the nearby future. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Terri R,

Thankyou for writing a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at The Moroccan Resort. We value all feedback as it assists us in improving the product and services that we provide.

Thank you again for your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back again and trust that your next stay will be even better.

Kind Regards,

Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#10 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#24 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#11 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olympus Apartments
Olympus Apartments
#63 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#4 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Moroccan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Moroccan Resort

Property: Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Address: 14 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Moroccan Resort Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Moroccan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the road from a patrolled beach, BreakFree Moroccan's convenient location allows you to easily walk to Cavill Avenue for great shopping, cafes, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The resort offers fully self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. There are two choices of two bedroom apartments, standard and ocean premium which includes guaranteed ocean views. All apartments include full kitchen, laundry facilities, TV, cable TV and balcony with ocean or hinterland views. The resort's onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, spa, BBQ area, games room and secure undercover parking. For guests that want to experience the Gold Coast's theme parks, Dreamworld, SeaWorld, Movie World or Wet'n'Wild, they are all within easy reach with bus stops near the resort. If adrenalin is what you are after then head for the centre of Surfers Paradise for the Banzai Bungey, Sling Shot or Flycoaster. When night falls, the vibrant nightlife Surfers Paradise is famous for takes over. Bars and nightclubs come alive and the streets fill with people. If you want to enjoy a spot of shopping, Surfers Paradise offers everything from top-end designers to outlet bargain shops and beachfront markets. BreakFree Moroccan Resort is a great accommodation choice for families and couples right in the heart of Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Breakfree Moroccan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakfree Moroccan Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing