We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Merrimac, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Staying at The Moroccan made my Schoolies trip so amazing. The rooms were big and the views were top notch! The general manager was a top bloke and everything was very chilled. Hats off to them for taking care of all the schoolies. I will definitely be returning sometime in the nearby future. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Terri R,

Thankyou for writing a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at The Moroccan Resort. We value all feedback as it assists us in improving the product and services that we provide.

Thank you again for your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back again and trust that your next stay will be even better.

Kind Regards,

Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    162
    88
    56
    51
See reviews for
310
85
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Moroccan is in a good position close to the beach and shops, but the apartments are old and dirty, and are in great need of a lot of upkeep and maintenance.

The showers were moldy and the windows were filthy, and the general standard of cleanliness was poor. There are many properties near by far cleaner and better equipped.

The room size was great the furniture is old and outdated and required replacing.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else if you like things properly cleaned this will not suit you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bj L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Bj L,

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I agree it is a really handy to everything, the location is great.

I have passed on your comments to the staff and the owner of the apartment you stayed in we are almost finished a refurbishment program of our building and some of our apartments are not refurbished by the Mantra group. I am sorry you have stayed in a non refurbished apartment.

We hope that you can come and see us again and request a refurbished apartment!

Kind Regards

Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My family or four's recent 2 week stay in Surfers was brilliant, much of that had to do with the Moroccan. The apartment was spacious, well set up with gorgeous views. The children having their own room was a blessing and the kitchen facilities meant that our budget went further as I was able to prepare meals. the BBQ and pool area was very well set up, clean and enjoyable way to spend lunch or dinner.
We were so comfortable and the location was brilliant - cannot wait to book there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redredcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Redredcaz,

Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Moroccan Resort. We genuinely value all feedback as it assits us in Managing what makes the Resort great as well as identifying any areas that may need improvement.

I am glad you enjoyed you stay with us and we loved having you up from Melbourne, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards,

Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights (2 adults 2 children) in a two bedroom apartment. As we arrived in the evening, reception was closed and it took us a while to figure out the check-in process.
The location is perfect - very close to the beach and all the restaurants of Surfers but far enough to be away from all the noise.
The apartment was clean and had everything for a family holiday.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSRabbitohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear SSRabbitohs,

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and I agree it is a really handy and a nice place, so Thank you.

I have passed on your comments to the staff and hopefully we can look at making the late check in process easier for our future guests.

We hope that you can come and see us again soon!

Kind Regards

Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The location of Moroccan resort lies in the city centre. Also it is just a few minutes walk to the beach. From our balcony we can clearly see people are surfing. The view is amazing we can almost see the whole city of Gold Coast. We can even see Mt Tamborine and poeple was taking hot air balloon. The rooms are quite spacious for a 3 bedrooms unit. It has all the necessary facilities that are equipped such as tv, dining table, washer, dryer, induction cooker, fridge etc. The unit is well maintained. We are so happy for our 4 days stay there. Will definitely go back again if we travel to Gold Coast.

Room Tip: Just a few minutes walk to the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feltroneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Feltroneu ,

Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the comments we always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. I agree the Location and the views are amazing.

We love welcoming back our international visitors and we look forward to see you soon.

Once again thanks.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We are happy to recommend the moroccan if you're after a good value family location! We were lucky enough to lock in a good sale rate, and were more than happy with the value for money. We had 7 nights in a 2 bedroom with 3 small children. The indoor pool was great, but was a bit cold for a couple of the days (not sure what the problem was). The outdoor pool was nice (not heated so still too cold this time of year), and the spas were great. The room itself was fantastic, maybe a little dated, but big enough and great for us and the 3 kids. It had everything we needed for a good family getaway. We had a little issue when we first checked in but the reception supervisor was right onto it and had it fixed in no time. Was a little worried about the cleanliness given some of the reviews we'd read, but our room was fine. The location was perfect, nice and close to the beach and all that surfers has to offer. Will stay here again, if the price is right :)

Room Tip: Some 2br rooms have a extra sitting or lounge room, handy if you need somewhere to put a porta cot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Craig Y,

Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Moroccan Resort. We genuinely value all feedback as it assits us in Managing what makes the Resort great as well as identifying any areas that may need improvement.

I am glad you enjoyed you stay with us and had a great family holiday, we look forward to welcoming you back and I hope you do get the opotunity to recommend us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Moroccan Resort and trust that your next stay will be just as memorable.

Kind regards,

Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I could not recommend The moroccan Resort more highly. The staff exceded our expectations and its nice to see friendly faces and could not do enough for us.. We go to surfers every year, now we will be stying at the moroccan when we go. we stayed a week and was the best week we have had in years we relaxed and recharged our batteries .... I highly recommend stying at the moroccan ..you won't regret it .... It is handy to everything and walking distance to all the wonderful shops in surfers...We truley loved our stay and will be back next year if not sooner...The best place in surfers is the moroccan ......we would love to say thanks again for the wonderful memories that we left with and have with us forever,once again to the staff and management at The Moroccan ...Love your work keep it up ...see you again soon...

Room Tip: ask for what you would like I'm sure they will go out of thir way to try and accommadate your ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheena f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Sheena F,

Thankyou for writing a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at The Moroccan Resort. We value all feedback as it assists us in improving the product and services that we provide.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I am especially pleased that you left here enjoying your Happy Holiday.

Thank you again for your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back again and trust that your next stay will be even better.

Kind Regards,

Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#8 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
514 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#13 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
1,674 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#29 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breakfree Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula
#15 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#5 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
797 reviews
0.3 mi away
BreakFree Cosmopolitan
BreakFree Cosmopolitan
#19 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Moroccan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Moroccan Resort

Property: Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Address: 14 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Moroccan Resort Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Moroccan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the road from a patrolled beach, BreakFree Moroccan's convenient location allows you to easily walk to Cavill Avenue for great shopping, cafes, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The resort offers fully self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. There are two choices of two bedroom apartments, standard and ocean premium which includes guaranteed ocean views. All apartments include full kitchen, laundry facilities, TV, cable TV and balcony with ocean or hinterland views. The resort's onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, spa, BBQ area, games room and secure undercover parking. For guests that want to experience the Gold Coast's theme parks, Dreamworld, SeaWorld, Movie World or Wet'n'Wild, they are all within easy reach with bus stops near the resort. If adrenalin is what you are after then head for the centre of Surfers Paradise for the Banzai Bungey, Sling Shot or Flycoaster. When night falls, the vibrant nightlife Surfers Paradise is famous for takes over. Bars and nightclubs come alive and the streets fill with people. If you want to enjoy a spot of shopping, Surfers Paradise offers everything from top-end designers to outlet bargain shops and beachfront markets. BreakFree Moroccan Resort is a great accommodation choice for families and couples right in the heart of Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakfree Moroccan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakfree Moroccan Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing