We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great size 2 bdrm units, very conveniently located!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great size 2 bdrm units, very conveniently located!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just returned from my 3 night stay here, and found the unit size to be great (esp with 2 kids) and the location is a1. We had a seaview room in the "elkhorn" tower , 3 levels up. The staff did not seem overly happy which made check in a little awkward, but all else was beyond my expectations. Sure, the units are a little dated, but the positive elements outweigh the few issues that come with an ageing complex. Great pool/s, good size gym and great security to boot. All this at an exceptional price!

Room Tip: Always ask for ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnfromCaloundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear JohnfromCaloundra ,

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

We pride ourselves on the friendly welcome so I hope when you return you can experience the true hospitality of Breakfree Resorts that we are known for.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    168
    90
    57
    53
See reviews for
323
87
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights- one word... Dirty! Marks on walls, grime in kitchen & bathroom, mouldly shower & the one air conditioner that worked was so full of dust it caused allergic reaction.

Spoke to staff who told us to put our complaints about the lack of cleanliness in writing... One week later we are still waiting for them to even acknowledge our email.

Location is great, but their cleaning staff really let's this place down. Pity.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Betty,

Thanks for your feed back and thank you for your constructive comments, we agree the Location is great. Your comments help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. We note your comments regarding the housekeeping service of your room and do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Due to the high standards required of our cleaners, issues such as these are very rare occurrences. We have forwarded your comments onto our housekeeping department to ensure that our required standards of cleanliness are being met at all times. I can also confirm that these issues have been rectified.

Once again thanks for your comments.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Went on a family holiday to the Gold Coast and we were VERY disappointed with the cleanliness of the apartment and the treatment we received from management. All I can say is BLOOD on the sheets and DEAD COCKROACHES everywhere. The director of Gold Coast Holiday Rentals who looks after the apartment was VERY RUDE and did not care one bit. If you are planning a holiday to the Gold Coast, I recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Georgina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Georgina,

Thank you for your response and thank you for making it clear this is not The Breakfree Moroccan and it was in fact Gold Coast Holiday Rentals.
We would be happy to welcome you to stay at the Breakfree Moroccan and allow us to demonstrate the true spirit of BreakFree Resorts hospitality when you next decide to holiday.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Breakfree Moroccan for 6 nights and our first impressions were great, we were situatied on the 12th floor and had a great ocean and city view, when we first got settled into our one bedroom apartment it met our expectations, but as our stayed continued and the excitement of the first day in a new place wore off we were less and less impressed with the room. It felt asthough it was a bit outdated and us being a young couple might of appreciated something more modern. On the second night we were unpleasently surprised by a couple of cocroaches which turned us off cooking in the apartent for the rest of the trip and made the place feel filthy. Without the view and the 30 second walk to the beach it would of been a complete letdown! If your on a budget trip and are going to be out all day and night and eating out then this would be a decent place to stay! But for our next trip to the goldcoast it will be something more modern! Hilton or the Mantra!

Room Tip: Some one bedroom apartments have ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Andrew J,

Thanks for your feed back and thank you for your constructive comments, we agree the views are great and the rooms are very spacious and handy to the Beach. Your comments help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. We apologise we couldn't meet your expectations of a modern apartment we are always updating our apartments so on this occaision you didnt receive a refurbished apartment.

Once again thanks for your comments.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We are annual visitors to the Moroccan, however the fourteen days we stayed over Christmas was not enough. We took a gamble with the weather by staying again in April this year for ten days. The weather was perfect. It was a relaxing stay as usual. Theme parks during the day to keep the kids happy, but what a relief to be able to crash and unwind on your own balcony facing the beach in the late afternoon and evening. I have read reviews from others about unfriendly staff however am at a loss to figure out who they are talking about. We have always found everyone to be cheerful, happy, and very accommodating. We will be back at Christmas this year hopefully.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Steve P,

Thanks for your feed back we pride ourselves on the customer service and we are glad that we have delivered for you.
it is alway good to be reassured by receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2012

It was a great stay and a great Hotel. I was a bit worried about the other comments but the staff and the facilities were awesome.
Thanks for a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Betty N,

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to be reassured by receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have stayed at the Moroccan 5 times in the last 6 years - to be honest, when we are going to the Gold Coast we don't even look at another hotel. The location and resort facilities are fantastic. We love the indoor and outdoor pools, car parking, and central location.

However, on this stay we really felt the quality and upkeep of the property had deteriorated and we felt pretty disappointed. We stayed for 9 nights in the Esplanade Tower (for which we paid extra up front). Although the apartment had new carpets and lounge suite, the cleaning and upkeep left a lot to be desired. For example, the oven had grilled cheese in it from previous guests, the windows to the balconies were filthy, there was a thick and visible layer of dust on our bedhead and bedside lamps, the back of the toilet door was stained with blood and god knows what else (!), there was rubbish in the clothes dryer, tissues in the washing machine, I could go on.

I spoke to reception the following morning, and the items I mentioned were cleaned the next day, but nothing else. The bedhead was dusted on top, but the other decorative pieces on it were still dusty, and some of the dust had been left on the pillows by the cleaners.

Another issue was the broken front step to reception - broken for the duration of our stay with 3 witches hats put around it. How hard is it to get something like that fixed? We thought it symptomatic of the general level of maintenance, and wondered if things are done on the cheap now that the resort is managed by Breakfree.

The final insult came when we asked for a later checkout (12pm) as we were travelling with my son and elderly father with a late afternoon flight. We were told it would cost us $20! We reluctantly paid, but felt it was a final nail in the coffin.

We still think that the size of the rooms is fantastic, as is having a full kitchen, laundry and 2 bathrooms. There is a lot of competition in Surfers Paradise, and I don't think Moroccan is keeping up. We will certainly be looking around before our next trip to Queensland.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear willy_7,

Thanks for your review and for staying with us once again 5 times in 6 years is a great endorsment.
It is always good to receive feedback from our guests. Your comments are very welcomed and help us to maintain and improve our standards.

I can assure you the Maintenance has not slipped and Breakfree have managed this property the whole 6 years you have been staying here. The front step is a Marble step that cracked and for OH&S reasons needed to be fixed and colour matched very carefully, I can assure you it was fixed in the quickest possible time.

We note your comments regarding the housekeeping service of your room and do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Due to the high standards required of our cleaners, issues such as these are very rare occurrences. We have forwarded your comments onto our housekeeping department to ensure that our required standards of cleanliness are being met at all times.

Once again we do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and once again hope you will allow us to demonstrate the true spirit of the Moroccan Resorts hospitality when you next decide to holiday.

Kind Regards

Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#8 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#13 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
1,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#30 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BreakFree Cosmopolitan
BreakFree Cosmopolitan
#20 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breakfree Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula
#15 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#5 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Moroccan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Moroccan Resort

Property: Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Address: 14 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Moroccan Resort Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Moroccan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the road from a patrolled beach, BreakFree Moroccan's convenient location allows you to easily walk to Cavill Avenue for great shopping, cafes, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The resort offers fully self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. There are two choices of two bedroom apartments, standard and ocean premium which includes guaranteed ocean views. All apartments include full kitchen, laundry facilities, TV, cable TV and balcony with ocean or hinterland views. The resort's onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, spa, BBQ area, games room and secure undercover parking. For guests that want to experience the Gold Coast's theme parks, Dreamworld, SeaWorld, Movie World or Wet'n'Wild, they are all within easy reach with bus stops near the resort. If adrenalin is what you are after then head for the centre of Surfers Paradise for the Banzai Bungey, Sling Shot or Flycoaster. When night falls, the vibrant nightlife Surfers Paradise is famous for takes over. Bars and nightclubs come alive and the streets fill with people. If you want to enjoy a spot of shopping, Surfers Paradise offers everything from top-end designers to outlet bargain shops and beachfront markets. BreakFree Moroccan Resort is a great accommodation choice for families and couples right in the heart of Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakfree Moroccan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakfree Moroccan Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing