We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Very Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Whilst this complex has great views and location the rooms were really old and in desperate need of refurbishing/updating (we were in the View Tower). We complained that the heater was not working in the childrens bedroom (which was made worse as the windows in that room did not shut properly as winders were broken) and whilst the maintenance person came to look at it he just left a note saying it was broken. There was mould all in the bathrooms, cigarette butts behind the condensers, carpets were all stained, microwave didn't work properly and worst of all was the beds. The main room just had two singles pushed together which were well past there use by date. On checking out the reception told us to book with them direct to make sure we get a refurbished room next time. It was disappointing and we were pleased to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shacambray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at BreakFree Moroccan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2011

Dear Shacambray,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for staying with us once again.
We always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.
We note your comments regarding your room and do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay.
We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our rooms and we are over 75% I can assure you that Cleaning is one of our high priorities. Once again thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Moroccan Resort in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 601 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

All I can say is that I have never been so dissapointed in accommodation ever. After checking in and arriving in our room we thought we had travelled back in time. The furniture was 80"s Benidorm, tired and dirty, you could not even see the stunning view as the windows were so dirty inside and out. The Kitchen was not clean, food on the floor and I would not have dared sit on the sofas.
I did complain and was shown 6 other rooms all either marginally better or worse, but none habitable even for one night.
I did ask the staff if we could move to the hotel group sister accommodation in the area, the receptioniost was nice however very unhelpful, I asked if I could use the reception phone but was told no and she did give me a telephone number but no other help or advice. Eventually we manged to secure accommodation in another Mantra complex but this was hard work the staff on the phone were pleasant but made nothing very easy. I have never been to The Gold Coast before and with all the carry on and no help from The Morrocan staff we eventually booked into out new apartment 5 hours later.
Thank you Breakfree for nothing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan250965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, Manager at BreakFree Moroccan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear susan250965,

Thank you for your review, although very candid we always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.
We have over 80% of our apartments refurbished and 100% cleaned, I appologise that you didnt get a refurbished apartment however we do not misrepresent our accommodation in anyway, our websites and marketing materials are honest and our facilities and apartments have been rated by AAA tourism. The Views and the facilities are second to none and the refurbished apartments are very nice and our resort is very popular.

I am sorry for your bad experience I am glad that we could relocate you to another one of our properties and that the remainder of your stay on the Gold Coast was enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed with my mother, step father and my boyfriend, in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom appartment on the 21st floor (i forgot what our tower was called :P) but it was the tallest one with the main reception in it.

We LOVED it! it wasnt modern, but it was HUGE! biggest rooms and an amazing view, we got this on sale for only $150 a night over easter, but wow, we were not expecting this.

Walk in wardrobe, flatscreen and foxtell in main bedroom (king bed!!) and flat screen and air con and foxtell in the living room, great kitchen, close to beach, cavil, shops, clubs.

The only thing i didnt like was there were a few rude guests who would sit in the spa for over 30 mins and their kids were being very noisey and splashing water at us.

Outdoor pool is big and enough room for everybody, and when you go there, make sure you find all the secret little gates and doors, a short or a long walk into cavil, you chose!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloexxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, Manager at BreakFree Moroccan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear Chloexxo,

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to be reassured by receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The apartments are nice, we thought twice about it because of some of the reviews. We are so pleased we decided to stay.
Kids loved it, close to everything pools are awesome views are great all apartments have great views.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeandleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, Manager at BreakFree Moroccan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear Joe and Leanne,

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to be reassured by receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We understand that large componys use contract cleaners but the entire resort need to have pest control as there were cockroaches everyewhere, sitting on the lounge the crawl over you, yuck... do keep any food in kitchen as the were all over the tea and coffee and went into a packet of crisps. The rest of the appartment was large but very old and tired with lots of stuff brocken or not working, bathroom full of mould and long dark hair.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulNAdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, Manager at BreakFree Moroccan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear PaulNAdo,

Thanks for your review and feedback much appreciated, I can assure you this was an isolated incident. Complaints regarding Cockroaches are very rare this is the first we have received of this nature on Trip advisor. We often have all the apartments pest controlled and we have passed on your feedback to our pest control company to investigate the apartment you stayed in. We are always happy to relocate guests who are unhappy sorry you didnt bring this to our attension so we could rectify.
Once again thank you for your review and apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here with 4 children and were thrilled by the spacious apartment and proximity of everything. We were right in the heart of Surfers, so a minute to walk to the shops yet lovely and quiet area. Only a couple of blocks from Cavill Mall, we could easily take our children for icecream, eat out or pop over to Coles and buy our own food and prepare it in the fully equipped kitchen. We were right across the road from the beach too - we never had to get into our car once!
The kids loved the indoor pool and spa and we had a nice, restful and peaceful holiday. Would highly recommend - we had everything we needed plus great, friendly staff and great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcac2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, Manager at BreakFree Moroccan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear Gcac2011,
Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to be reassured by receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

The first impression is very important and in this case our first words were "What's that stink?". Upon investigation the smell was traced to the floor drain in the toilet and permeated through the whole apartment. The bed looked like it hadn't been changed and there was a long black hair on the sheet.

The kitchen was filthy - the rangehood had grease dripping from the filter; the sink was sticky; the window frame was covered in mildew; the taps were grimy and surfaces (ie; top of the fridge) were covered in dust. All the crockery, cutlery and pots were actually dirty - everything needed cleaning before it could be used (with dishwashing liquid we had to buy - none was supplied).

We immediately turned around and went to back to reception to complain about the lack of cleanliness. They summoned someone from housekeeping who seemed to know a great deal about the issues we had - including the exact location of the smell in the apartment!

We were told that they have a limited timeframe to clean each apartment and that a lot of the things we were complaining about weren't included in the standard cleaning between tenants but instead were left for "spring-cleaning". So in other words, these jobs were done once in a blue moon.

Housekeeping did clean the bedroom and rangehood that day and offered an unscheduled service a couple of days into our stay as an apology for the initial state of the apartment.

If it hadn't been for the dirty room we would have been quite satisfied with this hotel. The location is very good and the facilities seemed adequate. The staff were very polite.

Having read a number of other reviews on this site for this hotel, the lack of cleanliness is clearly an ongoing issue that is yet to be resolved.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SiouxDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan-gm, Manager at BreakFree Moroccan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Dear SiouxDance,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback we always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.
We note your comments regarding the housekeeping service of your room and do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We are heartened to note that housekeeping did attend to uyour concerns immediately. Due to the high standards required of our Housekeeping, issues such as these are very rare occurrences. We have forwarded your comments onto our housekeeping department to ensure that our required standards of cleanliness are being met at all times.
We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our rooms and I can assure you that Cleaning is one of our high priorities. Once again thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Moroccan Resort in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Crown Towers
Mantra Crown Towers
#12 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breakfree Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula
#20 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
630 reviews
0 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#14 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
1,720 reviews
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#8 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Moroccan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Moroccan Resort

Address: 14 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Moroccan Resort Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $90 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Moroccan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the road from a patrolled beach, BreakFree Moroccan's offers fully self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. There are two choices of two bedroom apartments, standard and ocean premium which includes guaranteed ocean views. All apartments include full kitchen, laundry facilities, TV, cable TV and balcony with ocean or hinterland views. Facilities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, spa, BBQ area, games room and secure undercover parking. For guests that want to experience the Gold Coast's theme parks, Dreamworld, SeaWorld, Movie World or Wet'n'Wild, they are all within easy reach with bus stops near the resort. If adrenalin is what you are after then head for the centre of Surfers Paradise for the Banzai Bungey, Sling Shot or Flycoaster. If you want to enjoy a spot of shopping, Surfers Paradise offers everything from top-end designers to outlet bargain shops and beachfront markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Moroccan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Moroccan Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing