We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst customer service I have ever experienced and an uncomfortable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surfers Hawaiian Apartments
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst customer service I have ever experienced and an uncomfortable stay!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

To all viewers considering staying at this hotel I want you to know of our bad experience! the manager is by far one of the worst I have ever come across! we arrived about 6pm and the security guard took us in and exchanged keys and had us sign a set of rules. no where in these rules did they say that their staff members would be going through our suitcases in our rooms when we were not there! When we approached the manager politely just questioning why our personal items were obviously moved in our room, he was rude and started shouting at us and said he would not co operate with us when we said we simply don't want this stranger in our rooms when were not there. two days later the manager said to us we had to pay a $600 bond which was never clarified in the booking and the next day after doing so we had a friend come into our apartment for not even five minutes and then the manager kicked us out saying we breached agreement! we left the place in a suitable manner how it was and he refused bond because of this simple rule being broken and we were stuck with no where to stay and no money! worst experience of my life please listen to me and don't risk ruining your holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldCoastHolidays, Manager at Surfers Hawaiian Apartments, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
This review is very disappointing as we endeavour to meet all our guests
expectations.
In this instance I would like to clarify the guests were booked in for
“Schoolies Week” – “Celebration of High School Leavers 2012”
As part of their rules of registration all registered guests signed and acknowledged to abide by the Schoolies Rules.
It was clearly stated in the Schoolies Rules that –
• Management or Staff will inspect units daily.
• Upon check-in a security bond of $ 600.00 is required.
• Visitors of registered guests are not permitted in public areas between 6pm-7am.
• Outside these hours registered guests are restricted to 2 per apartment.
• No Alcohol permitted in swimming pool.
• No Glass permitted in any public area.
• No Refund of Tariff if evicted.

On the first night of the guests stay two glass alcohol bottles were found in the apartment by our onsite security during room checks.
A formal breach was issued.
Two days later the guests used the pool area and brought along an alcohol cask,
which they disposed of by the pool and there was also vomit found by the pool gate. (Other guests identified the offenders).
Male friends of guests were then found after 6pm and had glass bottles in the BBQ area.
The final straw was when the guests were found sneaking an unregistered male guest into apartment at 4.30am.

Due to numerous times they persisted in ignoring the “House Rules”
a final breach notice was issued for guests to vacate the premises.

At no stage was it mentioned to guests that the Security Bond of $ 600.00 would be forfeited, the guests did however leave the room in an unacceptable mess and a
$ 50.00 cleaning fee and $ 45.00 blind repair fee was charged.
The remaining bond of $ 505.00 was refunded.

I do not apologise for enforcing these rules which are designed to protect these young guests from outside predators.
Other guests should not have to tolerate anti-social behaviour from anyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    0
    2
    6
See reviews for
34
3
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Surfers Hawaiian for 10 days recently and I am happy to report that the facilities and rooms are really well maintained and we were pleasently suprising for the money we paid. My wife and I were very impressed with the fitout of the rooms and the size of the apartment, we normally stay at Crown Towers and I have to say, that I would rather stay at the Hawaiian from now on, hands down. The staff went out of their way to help us in any way they could. Every morning we would hop out of the lift to be greeted with a lovely smile and very genuine "Good Morning" from the staff member at reception, that started our day every time with a smile on our faces. Thanks again guys, you helped us to enjoy a very overdue holiday and we couldn't have been more impressed with your property. One night we got back at around 8:30pm on a Friday night only to realize that we had accidently left the keys in our room, we rang the after hours number and the owner was out to dinner with friends about 20km's away, he said no problem, and he was there to let us into our room in about 20 minutes. We asked him how much for the call out and he said no charge, you just dont find that kind of service anymore. A++++++++ for everything. Thankyou highly recommended holiday destination in Surfer's Paradise.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff on reception to ask about view's etc, they are really friendly to deal with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_G_12598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldCoastHolidays, Manager at Surfers Hawaiian Apartments, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for the fabulous reviews, it is always a pleasure for us to see guests enjoy their holiday with here on the Gold Coast, we look forward to welcoming you back and ask about our return guest specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have stayed at Surfers Hawiian a few times ......I love the peace and quiet of the place .....The amenities such as spa and sauna are excellent ....It is located within a few minutes walk to the centre of Surfers and bus stop out the front to take you wherever you wish to go......the rooms are roomy clean and airy ....GReat views and the management on site are so helpful....they can organise tickets or you to shows and theme parks ....

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view .... It is perfect in the morning and a great view of a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazz818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldCoastHolidays, Manager at Surfers Hawaiian Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks for the fabulous review! Yes we are in a perfect location here and the staff will always do their best to complete the 'Gold Coast Getaway' experience so we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Surfers Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gippsland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just stayed at Surfers Hawaiian for 2 weeks. We found the staff very helpful and polite.Especially when we locked the keys in the apartment on a sunday night.
The views from the apartment were amazing, we love the quiet location, the walk into the CBD, (great daily exercise) We will come back to enjoy another stay.The apartment was clean, tidy and comfortable. The mirrored walls in the apartment brought the absolute stunning external views into the apartment which gave a 360 effect.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the more stunning the view, especially on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaylahayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldCoastHolidays, Manager at Surfers Hawaiian Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Great feedback thanks! Yes we have a great view from the units and we are close enough for a leisurely walk into Surfers and far enough away that we can enjoy the the peace and quiet of the unit. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The staff were courteous and helpful. The 2 bedroom apartment was comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. Views from the balcony were amazing. Great secure carpark. Central location. Excellent value for money. Would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldCoastHolidays, Front Office Manager at Surfers Hawaiian Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Megan,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review and share your experience, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Surfers Hawaiian. We are glad you enjoyed the amazing view from your balcony and our amenities, and hope to see you again sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We booked here for 5 nights using Wotif.com. When we arrived at around 9:30 pm, there was no one there. From our Wotif booking we were given the info to pick up the phone in the cabinet outside for after hours check in and someone would give us instructions on how to check in. We have 2 kids 5 and 8 years old who were also with us. So anyway we picked up the phone many times only to get the message that "Service is unavailable." it was about 11 degrees outside and the kids were feeling very cold standing outside. So my husband got worried and called Wotif and told them about the situation. The Wotif customer service rep was very helpful and tried calling the manager but he also said he couldn't get through. Some people who were staying there let us in to the lobby so we could be out of the cold night. Finally the Wotif rep said he would make another booking for us for one night in another hotel and then we could come back here in the morning to speak to the manager. We agreed as we didn't know if anyone was coming or not. So we had to book a really expensive place for one night and just when we had booked another place the manager / owner Ian showed up with his wife (at about 10:10 pm). My husband told him that he wasn't happy at all as we had been waiting almost an hour outside in the cold. The manager got very rude and started shouting that we had written on Wotif that check in was at 10 and that we shouldn't have come early - that it was all our fault for coming early! He was extremely rude and threatening in front of small children. He acted like a psycho. Well didnt he know that the check in time is always estimated? It could be early or late! He looked like he was ready to hit my husband. He said he had been to the threatre and even though his phone had been ringing he couldn't pick it up due to being in the "threatre." He was so irresponsible that he couldn't let us know that we was coming at 10 and we just had to stand outside and wonder if anyone was coming or not. He was also smelling of alcohol and probably had too much to drink. He shouted at us to get out, and even touched me and my husband to take us out of the hotel and shouted that "he doesn't want us there" and we were "trespassing on his property." He didn't even care that we had 2 children with us and it was cold and late (around 10:30 pm ) at night and that we had no other bookings anywhere! Please do not go to this place if you have kids especially! If you want a friendly manager and hospitality then DO NOT go at all! It was a shocking and horrible experience. The kind people at Wotif helped a lot and we really appreciate their help.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ksmazhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Me and my two other friends stayed here for 5 nights from 1-6 June 2012. We boarded the 702 bus from the airport and it only cost us $9. The apartment we stayed in was exactly as described from the website (6th floor Room 29). Everything was provided and you definitely have to buy extra dishwasher (you can get a small bottle at 99 cents from Coles) or kitchen towel / napkins.

Merit points:
1. Ian and Taya are incredibly friendly! Ask them anything and they will be very glad to help you. We requested for another kettle and Ian brought us a new one straight away!
2. Check-in was really fast and we were given 2 bunches of keys straight up.
3. It was only a minute or 2 walking distance to the nearest bus station.
(Note: If you are coming from the airport, make sure you ring the bell right after you see Crown Plaza Hotel on your right. If you are heading from the main beach, ring the bell when you see a row of shops/gas station or a Thai restaurant on your left when you want to drop off)
3. Pacific Fair is like 5 minutes bus ride away. You can buy groceries there!
4. Super breathtaking view of the Nerang river!
5. You also can connect to the Jimojo Hotspot for $7.50 per hr (however, my place has bad reception) It's better to go to the reception place to online for only $6 an hr. Also, you could purchase entrance tickets and book tours from the machine just next to the computer table.

Room Tip: Book earlier for better rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TryMyBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldCoastHolidays, Manager at Surfers Hawaiian Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks for the great review. We do thrive to give the best possible service and value for money at Surfers Hawaiian. We'd love to see you again when you next visit the Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
435 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seacrest Apartments
Seacrest Apartments
#18 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
#4 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
817 reviews
0.6 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,557 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#13 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Hawaiian Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Hawaiian Apartments

Property: Surfers Hawaiian Apartments
Address: Surfers Hawian 2890 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Hawaiian Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Hawaiian Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Hawaiian Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing