We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surf Regency Apartments
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This was our second time here at Surf Regency previously stayed on the 10th floor, this time was on the 11th and the views from the balcony are amazing, From the time we arrived, the service we recieved at reception was excellent, and our room again was clean and spacious. The kids loved the pool and spa. Great place to stay as a family as its located in a fantastic spot right on the beach, safe swimming for the family as patroled by the life guards and only 3 streets from Cavil Ave, this is the heart of surfers. If your looking for a great place to eat a very good in price go to the RSL, you wont be dissapointed.
We are in the process of organising our next holdiay hear for April, and we can't wait to come back.
This is a place I would recommend if your looking for a great affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roogirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 132 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2010

We arrived quite late, was after office hours around 11.30pm. Keys were ready downstairs after we were buzzed in unhassled.

Lifts were clean, not smelly. Room was good value, was awesome views to the ocean! Altho waking up in the morning it was bright. Had to close the roller door which divides the bedroom from the living room, other wise its sooo bright no chance of sleep in. However, on the other hand eating brekky on the balcony enjoying the am rays was stunning! We stayed for a week and enjoyed the locality wether be dining in or out. Love the pancake palace that turned over a fair bit of money from us. Handy tip, In the lobby be sure to grab a tourist infomation bookle and use the vouchers. We used one almost EVERY day.

Rooftop spa was good, private and no-one invaded our space. However the camera above the spa is abit invasive.. If you are after a nice clean tub with the loved one..
Internet was handy, good price.


Would reccoment these apartments to anyone!! And stay there in the future if ever that way again... =)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robynlee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Had a lovely 5 nights stay at Surf Regency and was the best! The staff at reception were so pleasant and helpful, The room had spectacular ocean views that you never get bored of it facing from your baloony and the location was very convenient to Cavil Avenue and the restaurant precincts.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kokoshig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

My friend and I stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 5 nights. The apartment itself is very spacious and has good views. On the second night we saw a cockroach in one of the bedrooms and so I decided it would be better to sleep on the couch for the rest of the stay. Also the bathroom smelt like wee and everything was fixed with duck tape. The lights were covered in insects and the room was filled with dust to the point where we woke up sneezing everyday. One of the balcony doors was locked shut and the other one didnt lock. The dishwasher knobs fell off and also we ran out of toilet paper.

I wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone and we definetly wont be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubbly_ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I live in Surf Regency so I can give an honest 24hr 365 day review of the building.

Surf Regency is a really good place to stay for families or singles only. Its across the road from the beach and is handy to Cavil Ave(the main holiday area).

All the apartments in the building are privately owned and this seems to create differences of opinion between each trip advisor reviewer. Some of the owners have decorated their apartment to a standard above 3.5 stars whilst other owners have not renovated their apartments at all and still have 1960's formica kitchens.

Several holiday makers have mentioned cockroaches. I know that the building is regularly sprayed against cockroach infestation. Cockroaches are inevitable (to a minor extent) in a hot semi tropical type of climate. They have been here for millions of years and will probably be here for another few million years.

The quality of the rooms as I said previously vary tremendously so make sure that you see before you pay your money. The best rooms for views are apartments numbered 03 or 04 as they are on the northern side of the building. Note that the building faces due east so the morming sun shines into the apartment early in the morning, so get up early before you fry !! If you want the best sea views then floors approx 10 and above are worth booking.
Overall the building is very well managed (the managers are very knowledgeable and friendly) and although the facilities arn't the latest chrome/stainless steel/ marble etc for a 3.5 rated resort they are clean.

Hope that this gives you an insight to Surf Regency.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter_Surfregency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Just wanted to thank you guys so much – we had such a good time staying up at Surf Regency, the location was excellent, the rooms were perfect and the staff were so helpful and went beyond expectation. As it was for my brother because he has been in and out of hospital with Crohns Disease for the last 6 years and has been doing home school as he was too sick to attended normal high school I am very greatful for all your help as he couldn’t have had a more perfect holiday.

I look forward to recommending Surf Regency to anyone! And we are planning to come up and stay atleast once every year 


Kind regards,
Chantelle Swift
Reservations Consultant

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cswft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

I was not expecting that this place is grand considering its only 2.5-3stars accomodation but i was expecting it to be clean. I saw a cockroach on the hallway to our room but did not mention it to my friend, as we enter the room - looks alright but as i started opening the blinds - there were stains curtains and carpet floor did not really bother me but the windows was so dusty inside out - it put me off. I was ready to move out that time considering i booked for 3 nights - i was worried about bed bugs more than anything else - thank God, no bed bugs - the sheets are clean and no bed bugs bite so we just decided to stay there. If you are a clean freak, suffer skin sensitivity or allergy on dust i would reccomend to find another place.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrhea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 mi away
Breakfree Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula
#19 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zenith Apartments
Zenith Apartments
#32 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
#59 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#6 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
882 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Apartments
Aloha Apartments
#108 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
#54 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Regency Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Regency Apartments

Address: 9 Laycock Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $123 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surf Regency Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Surf Regency Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Regency Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Regency Surfers Paradise
Regency Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf Regency Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing