We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Regency Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, great location”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Staff were easy going and helpful, rooms were nice. Second bedroom beds uncomfortable, but overall a good place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    47
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
46
40
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights on the 9th floor it was pretty good. Reading some of the other reviews I thought the rooms would be a bit more spacious but still they were ok. Being a wheelchair user it wasn't too difficult getting around the property, although I did need help getting in and out as there is a big step near the pool area. It's not stated that it has disabled facilities but is said to be wheelchair accessible which I find hard to believe. It's in a great location with great views, just a short stroll to the heart of surfers where there are lots of places to eat. I also will mention my bed was quite comfortable! Although the apartment didn't suit my needs and some parts looked as thougt they hadn't been cleaned in quite awhile, for the money it's a good place to stay with almost everything you need. On Windy the the TV reception is quite bad...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny197033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed at the Surf Regency Apartments for 5 nights.
The room itself is lovely, views spectacular.
My compliant lies with the note received the last night requesting that I Wash all dishes and remove all rubbish from the room or there would be a surcharge for additional cleaning.
What Additional Cleaning?
Isnt that what cleaners are supposed to do clean the room remove the rubbish, wash the dishes.
If staying at the Surf Regency, I suggest you wash any dishes before you use them because they have not been washed by qualified cleaning staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katieVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfreg, Manager at Surf Regency Apartments, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Asking guests to clean dishes and take out rubbish is a fairly standard practise for self contained apartments. Dishes are done by our cleaning staff but by asking for these simple things to be done prevents any lingering smells for the next guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton City, null, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We recently stayed for 5 nights in a one bedroom apartment - location and views were excellent however we were both a little disappointed in our unit on the 10th floor - the bathroom and kitchen certainly didn't look like the photos on the website :( The bed linen and towels were very thin. We were supplied with towels, hand towel and bathmat but no flannel. When we asked at reception - they said we don't do flannels! :( One of the two chairs on the balcony was broken. Ranchslider and mirrors in Bedroom all had handmarks on them. However, the location, the views and the spaciousness of the unit made up a little for the disappointments noted above.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We have stayed at the Surf Regency a few times now and we just love it. We have been on both the 9th and 10th floors with two bedrooms and it just works perfectly. Excellent facilites, extremly clean, comfortable and spacious - fully self contained. Your view is just beautiful ocean views - overlooking the beach - stunning seeing the sunrise. There are two spas, pool and sauna. BBQs beside the pool or under the stars on the roof. We have teenagers and they come and go freely with keys. All gated and secure. We have never experienced any noise complaints either from adjacent apartments or outside. Plenty of parking. Only two blocks away from Cavill Ave. Credit must be given to management as they are both super friendly and very accommodating. This is truly a special place to relax, unwind and enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach - so everyone has fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Darryl-Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Surf Regency for our honeymoon in February. Our one bedroom apartment was well laid out, very spacious and had a balcony with table and chairs to sit and have morning coffee or while just relaxing day or night. It was only one building from the beach and as we were on the ninth floor we got great views of the beach and esplanade. We were able to hire beach towels for the week for $4 each which we did and used them each day for either a swim in the beach or the great hotel pool. We also used both of the spa's (one by the pool and one on the roof) and the sauna. It was great that both spa's were covered over and had bathroom/shower facilities nearby. Another year when we had stayed elsewhere we could not use the spa as it was out in the open with nowhere to put your towel when it rained. There would have been no trouble at Surf Regency but luckily we had brilliant weather the whole time we were there 28-29 degrees most days so just right. We had feared going in February might have been too hot for us but it was not.

The unit was fully self-contained including washing machine, dryer, clothes airer - a great bonus not normally provided at other places we have stayed - iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner and hair dryer. A couple of draw backs were that there was no bar to hold milk, drink bottles etc on the door of the fridge and the dryer in the bathroom did not go. We reported this to reception though and they took note and were looking into it.

It had air conditioning and ceiling fans so we had good sleeps. We went in February and the sun came up early around 5.30am and having warmth early in the day meant we could be up and about early if we chose.

The location was great with lots of reasonably priced restaurants nearby. Sometimes we breakfasted in - there is a good supermarket only a couple of blocks away downstairs in the Mall - or we would go out to breakfast. By checking out places we could dine very cheaply - e.g. $17.50 for entree/main/drink around the corner at a wee chinese place and have a cooked breakfast near Caville Ave for $10 or we could go and dine at more expensive restaurants in any nationality of our choice really. The Tandori Place across the side road even had a Honeymoon Special that we partook of on Valentines Day with a free glass of champagne.

For going further afield the bus stop was just at the corner of our block for most or only another block down by the river for others. We didn't feel we needed a car at all as for day trips we were picked up at our apartment. There are lots of brochures in the foyer of activities to partake in and we could have booked them with the receptionist if we chose.

All in all a great place to stay and we will go back there.

Room Tip: We followed a previous tip and got one above the 8th floor so we had an uninterupted view of the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We recently stayed at the Surf Regency apartments and found them to be clean and spacious. It was good to have our own washing machine and dryer in the apartment. The staff were helpful and the location great. We had beautiful ocean views to look at whilst relaxing with a nice wine. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Surfers International
Surfers International
#82 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Apartments
Aloha Apartments
#99 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#4 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zenith Apartments
Zenith Apartments
#32 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
#43 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Tropez Apartments
St. Tropez Apartments
#47 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Regency Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Regency Apartments

Property: Surf Regency Apartments
Address: 9 Laycock Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surf Regency Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf Regency Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Regency Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Regency Surfers Paradise
Regency Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf Regency Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing