We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marrakesh Resort Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed December 16, 2007

Stayed at the Marrakesh apartments in the first week of December 2007. Had a fantastic stay in a one bedroom apartment on the seventh floor with views towards the ocean and Surfers Paradise. We booked through the wotif website for a great price of $110 per night. Upon our arrival we were greeted by very helpful and courteous reception staff who made checking in a breeze.

The apartment was lovely, quite a good size for two people. Modern decor and appliances (including dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer) comfortable furniture (both bed and lounge) and lovely balcony overlooking the buildings of Surfers and the ocean. The apartment was very clean and comfortable, and the airconditioning was fantastic as the weather was very hot during our stay. Didn't hear any traffic noise or any other noise from any of the neighbouring apartments.

Location is great, far enough away from the hustle and bustle and subsequent noise of Surfers Paradise, but still within walking distance. A great peaceful location, a minutes walk to the beach and also just a short stroll down to the lovely cafes and shops of Broadbeach. Bus stop just outside the driveway, and a 30 second walk to the highway for other bus routes.

We found the pool and garden facilities to be great. Both outdoor and indoor pools and spas were very clean and enjoyable to use. Beautiful gardens with palm trees surrounding pool and outdoor areas. Didn't use it, but also a nice little gym with various equipment to use if so inclined. Rooftop garden provides fantastic views of almost 360 degrees.

Only visited the on-site 'Kesh' poolside Bar and Cafe once, for their buffet breakfast. Upon checkin we were given a 2 for one voucher for the breakfast which is usually $9.00 per person. There was a selection of self serve cereals, toast, fruit salad, yoghurt and mini muffins plus tea/coffee/juice. I don't think its great value if you were to pay $9.00 per person, but with the voucher making it $4.50 I found it quite a nice breakfast for the price.

Check out was at 10am, but a locked baggage room is provided by the resort so you can keep your suitcases there until you are ready to leave. Once again, on checking out the staff were very pleasant to deal with.

Overall, we had a wonderful time at the Marrakesh Resort. Based on our experiences I would recommend it to anybody, and will certainly stay again on our next visit to the Gold Coast.

  • Liked — Great pool facilities, beautiful views from balcony, great location
  • Disliked — Internet access was on the more expensive side
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Mandy_Kae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    53
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
36
87
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

This is the most fantastic place to stay! We were on a top floor room, with the most amazing sea views. Absolutely lovely!

We spent the most time at the pools. An indoor and outdoor pool, not too mention the spa's. It was so amazing to come back from walking all day to lying in a bubbling hot spa.

This place is kept to a very high standard and you are made to feel welcome from to moment you enter the foyer.

I am definately staying there again when i go back to surfers!

oh p.s. it is between surfers and broadbeach, but it is only a 10 minute walk each way. Also on a bus route, with bus stops right outside the door.

  • Liked — everything! so central to all shops, restaurants etc
  • Disliked — nothing. Only thing it is an apartment so if you're staying only a few nights, your room isn't serviced. but who cares, i dont like having my room serviced anyway.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank cpl_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

The Marrakesh Apartments are very good value for money. The rooms are really nice and well set out. We enjoyed our stay so much we are booked to go again next month.

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — The Resturant/Bar - We took our own drinks and had them in the room or beside the pool
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Listy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

We have just returned from staying 8 days at the Marekesh Resort, I was so excited to go to this place as most reviews were positive. and it looked lovely on the net.
It is definetly not a 41/2 star hotel, how they got their rating I dont know. The showers were the worst it took almost 10 mins every time you wanted a shower to get the right temperature and when you finaly got there it all of a sudden went extremely hot(not safe for small children),. There was a constant smell coming from the bathroom drains, Furniture needs updating, cracks everywhere, dishwasher didnt work had to re wash dishes.
In the indoor pool/spa area there was wires hanging half way down the wall a large area of rotten wood or termite eaten wood, and no attempt to fix it while we were there, They were painting part of the resort so scaffolding was around and you could not use the upstairs b-b-q area after 5.30 due to repairs/painting.
The cafe/bar closed each afternoon for a couple of hours, no sign to let you know .

  • Liked — Nice big balcony
  • Disliked — The Showers
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank Oscar-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

I stayed at the Marrakesh in October for 7 nights when I went up to QLD for a holiday with my boyfriend and 2 mates (another couple) for Indy.
I had the bestest time!
We stayed in a 2 Bedroom Deluxe room which was great as there were two couples. So there were 2 bedrooms, one with a QB the other with a KB which was actually 2 singles put together but we hardly noticed it was so comfortable! We also had 2 bathrooms, a balcony with a nice view with 3 doors opening out onto it. One from each bedroom and one from the lounge room. It was awesome! We even had a laundry! All kitchen utensils and appliances that we needed! It was great!

I found the staff to be friendly and helpful everytime we dealt with them. Even on our last day there they helped us out with keeping our bags locked away in a back room as our checkout was in the morning but our flight home wasn't until 8.30pm. Also the bar there 'Kesh bar' was really nice. Nice food and lovely people. The gardens well kept and maintained. Pool/ Spa/Sauna areas were lovely and relaxing and BBQ/rooftop garden area was fantastic. We had a BBQ on the roof our 1st night there and the view of the night skyline was spectacular!!

The hotel is close to the beach, has a bus stop right out the front and is only a short 10 min walk either way to broadbeach or Surfers paradise (Cavil Ave.) It also has carpark space available.

Overall this was the best holiday, staying at the best hotel in the best place!! I have memories that will last a life time!!!

  • Liked — Nice Rooms & Good Location
  • Disliked — That you can not go in the pool after 9 or 10pm ish.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Razels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

I booked through Wotif.com and got an amazing deal, $60 per night for a 1 bedroom garden apartment, you can't go wrong with that!

The Marrakesh is a great place to stay, we had a gorgeous view of the garden fountains and plenty of palm trees surroinding the balconies.

Service was very good, very friendly- I don't know what the reviewer found as being rude, because all the staff were very helpful and friendly to us. Also, in regards to a cleaning fee, I'm sorry but it says on the little piece of plastic on the dining table that you should leave the apartment tidy and the kitchen clean or a cleaning fee will be charged, so don't say they didn't tell you! Besides, it's courteous to leave the place as clean as you found it!

The Resort has very nice facilites, clean pools and spas, absolutely beautiful rooftop area. Yes true the ocean views are not "uninterrupted" but if you take the time to look at their direct web site you will see exactly what the views are.

I think peopl should do their researh before they complain, honestly. I found the Marrkaesh a wonderful place, bus tops at the door, only small ride away from both Surfers and Broadbeach. I'd definitely stay here again! :)

Thumbs up from me :)

  • Liked — Apartment size, views, pool area
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank vickystoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2006

We stayed here during June 2006 and had the most wonderful time.
The apartment we stayed in had recently been refurbished and was classy and modern with a less resort feel. Apartments were spacious and bathrooms clean and classy.
We utilised the kitchen and fridge (which you can not get in a hotel).
The pools are lovely and just the right temperature and the spas are perfect as well.
There is a restaurant there but we did not eat there, it looked nice though.
Location is also fabulous with being walking distance to both Surfers and Broadbeach as it is nestled in between. 1 block from the beach as well.
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrGlobalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,960 reviews
0.6 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakesh Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakesh Resort Apartments

Property: Marrakesh Resort Apartments
Address: 198 Surf Parade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marrakesh Resort Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marrakesh Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakesh Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marrakesh Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marrakesh Hotel Apartments
Marrakesh Resort Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing