We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second honeymoon, without the kids!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A second honeymoon, without the kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Copacabana Apartments over the New Years break as a holiday within a holiday (without the kids - which we left at their grandparents) and left loving this place! Both being in the travel industry for many years we wanted a self contained apartment, that was roomy, clean, close to the hustle and bustle without being too close or noisy and most importantly within walking distance to Surfers Paradise's amazing beaches and we got that here plus so much more!
On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the management who couldn't be more helpful, and checked into our room, even though we were a little early for checkin as it was ready, the apartment was exactly what we were looking for - it felt more like a well loved family holiday home then a hotel - it was nicely furnished and well kept, the grounds made you feel like you were in a rainforest and the property was spotless. We checked out both the indoor (which would be ideal for children on hot/windy days) and outdoor pools which were great and had plenty of sunbeds, the sauna for those keeping fit and the reception which was were we could book any day trips etc. The 2 highlights for us were the fact that we could wake up and be at the beach within 30 seconds and the local knowledge the managers shared with us for fantastic bites to eat (especially the sushi place in Broadbeach). We loved every minute of our stay and have not slept so well in years (since having 2 kids that wake up early) next year when we come back to Australia we will be coming back here and booking a 3 bedroom apartment so the kids can have some fun too! I would recommend staying here to everyone!

Room Tip: Some of the 3 bedroom apartments have huge balcony's which looked amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellHazel, Manager at Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely comments. We enjoyed having you here and can't wait to welcome the whole family back.
Yes you will love our 2 level 3 bedroom apartments, so much room for you all and yes they all boast a huge terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    14
    6
    12
See reviews for
42
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Was in a one bedroom appartment, bed was very comfortable thats about the best i can say. Shower was dreadful, washing machine and dryer were dirty,balcony very very small, there was still rubbish in the room from previous tenants, spa was dirty, carpet filthy. Won't be going back will pay a bit more next time because i want a balcony to sit on and a bit more cleanliness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights and love this place. Clean room, steps to the beach and the room was supplied with basics. Soap powder, dish washing, clean towels for kitchen. Definitely would recommend this place. Very nicely priced and everything was as described. Really love the laundry in the unit.

Room Tip: travel light, no lift. Parking was a winner! Conveniently located to all I wanted to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellHazel, General Manager at Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks Debora, we really enjoyed having you stay with us, and appreciate you taking the time to give other travellers an honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I went to Copacabana for my schoolies this year and would never go back or recomend them to anyone. We were subject to an unfortunate incident of sexual harrassment from the hotel's security and while we don't blame the hotel for this as he was part of a security company and was subsequently fired the hotel owners were rude and accusatory, then unwilling to aid us or offer any compensation, let alone a friendly smile. In addition to this we had money taken from our bond because we neatly left our rubbish bags in the appartment rather then leaving them piled high next to the bin in the sun which we had thought was inconsiderate and would add to unnecessary mess for the cleaners. We were thoroughly disappointed with this place as we looked long and hard for schoolies accomodation that was affordable and big enough for us all. The staff were rude and the whole week they treated us in a demeaning and condescending manner even though we were paying customers. We have emailed them multiple times about these issues and they have all been ignored. I would advise looking for other accomodation, anything would be better than this.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rebeccaaaaaaayang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellHazel, General Manager at Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
This response is for 3 reviews, as they were all members from the same room booked over Schoolies. (A disaster, Zero star and A nightmare in paradise)
We are very upset that you did not enjoy your Schoolies break. However we are really disappointed that we have found out about these issues on a public forum first because they were never once brought to our attention during your stay. We certainly have not ignored any emails; we have not received one email for us to respond to. I have sent 2 emails to one member of the unit booked with no response. I really encourage you to send me an email or even call. You were subject to an unfortunate incident involving a contracted security company. We had him removed and asked if we could do anything further. There were no further requests.
As for comment, “we were forced to purchase toilet paper, dishwashing liquid.....” we happily gave you rubbish bags and other items that other guests have to purchase. We are a 3 ½ star self contained apartment building. Like other self contained buildings in the area, we provide every room with a starter kit, but then it is up to guests to purchase any other necessities that they might need. This helps us keep our costs down and allow us to charge guests lower and more competitive rates.
There was also a comment about the rubbish. If you had of just told me that you deliberately left it piled in the room to help us then maybe another outcome would have occurred and we would not have charged each guests $8 for excess cleaning.
Even though we believe we were not rude in anyway and I am very shocked that you all thought this, it is your opinion, however the ratings you have given us about location and cleanliness are very unfair. We are situated just 5 mins from shops, and restaurants, and 30 meters from a patrolled beach.
Finally with regard to your comment about waiting to check in: We apologise for you having to wait but in order for us to check in 60 schoolies on the same day, we had to check you in as a group. We did however let the 2 waiting guests from your room drop their bags off to their room.
I welcome you to speak to me personally as I would like to clear up any hard feelings about management and your stay at Copacabana. We really enjoyed having you stay here along with all the School leavers and are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your Schoolies trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This place is terrible to stay in during schoolies!! Do not go! especially during this time as staff have no respect towards you. We arrived expecting to have some of the necessities supplied in our rooms and instead were forced to purchase toilet paper, dish washing liquid and even waste disposal (which had to be carried down 3 flights of stairs as they had no elevator). We were not allowed to check-in at the allocated time and instead had to wait around for hours! And after having a disruptance within our room involving security, we were still treated rudely, and felt very unwelcomed within this accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Disappointed-unhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaxland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

the staff were distrusting and rude, nonconcerned with problems and didnt listen to questions or information, hopeless reception, completely incompetant and dillusional
an unpleasant experience, and after problems occurred caused by the apartments the staff were neither concerned or willing to help.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natasha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Just a stones throw from Cavill, the heart of Surfers, we stayed in a clean and roomy 3 bed apartment with our 3 squids. They thought it was awesome, as it had more than one pool to choose from! Having an indoor pool is an awesome solution for a rare winter day on the gold coast too! The friendly management let us know they were new to the complex but you wouldn't have known it, making us feel overly welcome and being familiar with all the Gold Coast has to offer. Definitely going to share this little gem with our friends and family as a wonderful holiday destination. Thank you Copacabana!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank My3squids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 mi away
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort
Gold Coast International Backpac...
#82 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Costa D'Ora Apartments
Costa D'Ora Apartments
#59 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
#60 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berkeley on the Beach
Berkeley on the Beach
#14 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#19 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
President Holiday Apartments
President Holiday Apartments
#114 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast

Property: Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast
Address: 24 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing