We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Wings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mantra Wings
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

We loved the 2 bedroom apartments here ! Our flight from Kuala Lumpur arrived late night. By the time we checked into the apartment, it was close to 2am. Someone waited for us at the registration counter to hand us the keys.

With our 2 sleepy boys and luggage in tow, we were pleasantly suprised at how clean & spacious the aprtment was. Rooms were lovely. Kitchen was complete. The welcome pack Wings provided (incl detergent and diswashing liquid) was enough to last us the 4 days.

Location was great ! About 3 minutes from the bus stop.

Our flight to Kuala Lumpur took off at 11pm. Since we had to check out at noon, the staff kindly allowed us to store our large suitcases in their office until we left for the airport.

Definately recommend this place for families.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms, classy place.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Not2fussed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    166
    52
    15
    17
See reviews for
224
111
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Breakfree Wings for six nights in late July.

We arrived after check-in was closed and after wrestling with the safe box I managed to get our room key out and we were in.

the complimentary secure parking we received was a nice surprise and made life really easy as there was loads of space and we could park where we liked which was right by the lifts!

Our one bedroom apartment was on the 4th floor on the south side of the building which was probably the most disappointing thing about the whole experience, as the apartment didn't get any sun and was facing the Gold Coast Highway.

I would still recommend this property but ask for an apartment on a high floor or on the north side of the building

The apartment itself was really big with modern decor and fittings. It was also very clean and tidy.

Heating/cooling was from a heat pump in the living area. It was a bit noisy and would only go as low as 20 degrees celcius but this may change in summer.

The kitchen had everything you needed including storage containers for flour, sugar etc.

The bathroom was huge and had a double sink which was handy. There was also a washing machine and dryer in there.

The bedroom was big enough with a large walk through wardrobe to the bathroom. The bed was two singles zipped together but for my husband and I used to our pocket spring bed it was perfect as I could toss and turn and not annoy him.

There was a reasonable size balcony with a table and chairs which in the heat of summer would be nice if it wasn't for the constant flow of traffic outside.

We did check out the recreational facilities and they looked fine. There are four bbqs there for guests use with outdoor table and chairs. The pool also has lots of lovely padded sun loungers around it.

We also went to the restaurant downstairs and the food and service where great. If you are a beer drinker then this is the place for you as the selection was pretty amazing.

There is a Thai restaurant down the road towards Surfers Paradise that did beautiful food and is BYO. Also the pizza place, Romeos, just a little bit further in the same direction does great takeway pizza and ribs.

  • Liked — large room and parking
  • Disliked — location right on gold Coast highway
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lottie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 10 days for our Honeymoon in March 2006. The hotel was lovely, very modern, clean, comfortable and MASSIVE! We had a balcony overlooking the ocean, we requested a view when booking as we were on our honeymoon. The only negative thing was that we had a weird bed - it was 2 single king beds joined together by a mattress protector. We could feel the join in it which was a bit uncomfortable. But everything else was LOVELY!

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank kitty_kat_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NSW
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2006

Our three bedroom apartment must have been designed by a male because the two bathrooms were grouped together rather than the second queen bedroom having an en suite. Only shampoo and soap were supplied, (no other toiletories) and a hair dryer was 'by request'! Pool towels were not available and we were told to use the bath towels provided . Our toaster did not work and a replacement was sought and provided the second day
We were on the 11th floor facing North but still received a lot of highway noise.
The staff were on the whole pleasant, the apartment was clean and the kitchen well provided, but we propably will not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2006

Hmmmmmmm At the time of this writing, this property currently rates as the number ONE rated hotel at Surfers Paradise. Which SHOCKS me... I stayed here for a week from March 3rd to the 10th and while I had a wonderful stay in a lovely apartment, I'd hardly say this is the best hotel in Surfers Paradise... heck, not even close... This is not even beach front.

Okay... I arrived.... easy friendly check-in, I was on the third floor, which allows for NO PRIVACY from the outside and I had to keep my curtains closed most of the time. My one bedroom unit was nicely decorated and was very large. The bathrooms are lovely and well appointed, as was the full kitchen. The grounds are lovely and it was a easy 5 minute walk to the beach. At first I was very concerned about my location... then I noticed some units face a petrol station and then others face a very very busy roadway.

Another odd thing... When you exit the elevator on your floor... there are 5 units to the left and the same to the right. There are gaps under the doors, so the noise in the hallways can be somewhat shocking, not to mention the smell of people cooking all kinds of foods. Makes for a interesting entry into your unit. Although, with all that noise in the hall, I found my room to be fairly quiet, I did though place a towel under the front door to try to block the noise. Also, the living room has AC, but the bedroom oddly didn't... but I found if I just left the AC on all day, the apartment stayed nice and cool.

Anyway, I enjoyed my stay... and loved my apartment, but would have prefered it being on a higher floor. Being on the third floor affords NO PRIVACY AT ALL! And I was right above the entryway, so I could hear everyone coming and going. odd setup... but a nice place for a week stay exploring the Gold Coast. Would I consider it the FINEST on the Gold Coast???? NO WAY... NOT EVEN CLOSE... but still a nice place... but surely not the finest the GC has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank NYC1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2006

Just come back from the gold coast and stayed at breakfree wings resort, originally booked into another resort but was doubled booked then we upgraded to breakfree wings and this has been the most rewarding place we have ever stayed at, we had a two bedroom apartment which was very very roomy, the staff are very helpful and the kids loved it so much they didn’t want to come home, all furnishings are very modern, stainless steel appliances, clean and tidy. Would recommend to book with a view to the pool. 10 minutes walk to cavill ave surfers paradise and 20 minute walk to pacific fair, we relied on public transport which was right outside the resort and ran every 10 to 15 mimutes. we would have no hesitation in staying here again and recommend to all who are looking for clean, modern, comfortable & tidy.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank devoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2006

People should note that all these Breakfree places - which appear way to affordable to be true - are exactly that - not true, the prices are PER PERSON which is unusual for most hotels - and once they tack on the other charges like 2% for credit cards, parking etc which others dont charge the cheap deals are not what they seem ..

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
16 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Wings

Property: Mantra Wings
Address: Cnr Fern St & Gold Coast Hwy | 18 Fern Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Wings 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres from the rolling surf and two minutes from the heart of Surfers Paradise, Mantra Wings is close to all the action and one of the most contemporary holiday resort apartment complexes on the Gold Coast. Built on the former site of the iconic Pink Poodle Motel, the property offers spacious, self-contained One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments or Two Bedroom Penthouses. All apartments and penthouses feature full kitchen and laundry facilities, air-conditioning, cable TV, internet access, stereo and spacious balconies with views across the Gold Coast and surrounds. Some of our apartments have an indulgent spa bath and this is available on request, however cannot be guaranteed. Alternatively book one of our Two Bedroom Penthouses which all offer spa baths, plasma televisions and stainless steel appliances. The resort features a freeform lagoon style pool and waterfall, private spa grotto, full-size tennis court, fully equipped air conditioned gymnasium, steam room, children's playground, barbeque facilities, porte cochere, grand lobby and secure undercover parking. Located a kilometre from the centre of Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise, Mantra Wings provides access to two of the most popular holiday destinations on the Gold Coast. Parties and excessive noise are not tolerated in apartments. Registered guests only permitted in apartments after 9pm. Failure to comply with the above will result in eviction of the guest/s from the property. Mantra Wings reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. *Bookings will only be accepted if made during reception hours* Maintenance Notice: Please note maintenance work is being carried out on the pool decking area and surrounds from 3 May until 26 May 2017. The pool will be closed throughout this time. Mantra Wings management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause and encourages you to take advantage of the beach only 200 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Wings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Wings Surfers Paradise
Mantra Wings Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing