We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money, minor (bedding) flaws.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Wings

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mantra Wings
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for money, minor (bedding) flaws.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We chose to stay at the Mantra Wings mainly because of the (generally) glowing reviews and the very reasonable prices. Overall, we were pleased with our stay. The rate paid direct through the website, with Entertainment Book discount, was approximately $450 for 4 nights. This was a great rate considering we received a 2-Bedroom Apartment.

The location is also ideal, being walking distance (maximum of 20 minutes) to most attractions, including Cavill Mall (North) and Jupiters Casino (South). The apartment was very clean, spacious and modern. The service from Reception was also very good. Loved that free parking was fully included in the price. If you are going to the theme parks, public transport is available (and right out front of the Mantra) but hiring your own car is recommended.

A few minor issues. Firstly, the mattress in the main room was pretty uncomfortable. In fairness to Mantra, we did not ask to change rooms. We only discovered the pretty average mattress after we had unpacked, reception had closed and we decided it was not worth the trouble. However, for a 4.5 star establishment, you would expect a far better mattress, particularly one that does not have springs poking in to your back. Disappointing. Secondly, there is a major depot for the Gold Coast Highway Light Rail construction directly across the road. From the (already pretty average) view from our second floor room, the road-works were not entirely pleasant. Again though, in fairness to the Mantra, this is not their fault and the noise is limited to about 8.00am to 4.00pm. I had heard about the road works. As a result, we had requested, when booking months ago, for a higher floor/room wherever possible, but did not receive this. Again, in fairness, we appreciate that not all those who stay can receive a higher floor. Perhaps a discount could be considered for these lower floors - a view is highly cherished in the Gold Coast - but this criticism is not unique to Mantra Wings.

Overall, I almost feel a little bad making these criticism as we genuinely enjoyed our stay. The room was exactly as described (except for the bed), impeccably presented and had all the amenities you could ask for in an apartment. We enjoyed our nights on the balcony overlooking the pool. The pool area is beautiful and wonderfully maintained.

As far as 'value for money' goes, we still consider we got an excellent deal with Mantra. There was only 2 of us in a 2 bedroom apartment and we thought it amazing value. For a family of four - this would be a bargain. My main tip to both potential guests and the Mantra - please consider the Mantra Wings as an option, but perhaps check your mattress (!) - as almost everything else was very good, but having a comfy spot to rest your head at the end of the day is so important.

Room Tip: A higher floor to ensure a view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Mike_Adelaide,

Thanks so much for your recent posting of some very detailed feedback on our Trip Advisor review site. You have certainly provided some very valid points which I have taken on board.
I have discussed your concerns on the bed with the owner of that particular room - comfort of the bed is paramount for a good stay.
I would like to think from a "value for money" proposition we offer a great resort in a good location so to your comments on that point, thank you.

Thanks once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future, please feel free to contact me direct prior to your next stay and I will ensure we provide you with a room with one of our stunning Ocean Views.

Kind Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    167
    52
    16
    17
See reviews for
225
112
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 5 nights and found it contained everything we needed and was modern, clean, spacious and had an amazing view and balcony area. The washer and dryer were great to have as well as all kitchen equipment. We also had a 6 year old travelling with us who thought the apartment was 'Paradise'. Would recommend staying here again, close to everything and made our trip comfortable and relaxing.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views and our corner apartment had views at the front and side. We were at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttornado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear ttornado,
Thanks so much for your recent review on our Trip Advisor review site, I was pleased to hear you had a comfortable and relaxing stay at our resort, just the way we like it. Keeping our young guests happy is also what we love to do, so if you're 6 year old calls it "Paradise" I could not be happier.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort sometime in the future, please pass on my thanks to your 6 year old for such great feedback.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We've just got back from a week at the Mantra Wings. We had a spacious 3 bedroom appartment on the 6th floor, with a deck and ocean view. We had a rental car and thought the location was great - easy access to Surfers and Broadbeach. Reception staff were very helpful. We made good use of the heated pool and spa area which was perfect for the grandparents and children alike. It was great to have 2 bathrooms although they don't have fans or ventilation. The decor was very dark and tired, and we found some of the basics missing. We had to ask for replacement of 5 lightbulbs and blankets, there was also a few things missing from the kitchen (chopping board, peeler).

We had a great stay, some of the things that were missing should be easy to fix.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VCC_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear VCC_22, thank you for your recent contribution towards our review site on Trip Advisor, thank you also for your reference with regards to the Resorts great location on the Coast.
I was pleased to see you made good use of the resorts facilities, although I was disappointed to hear about the items that were not in your unit on arrival, please accept my apologies with regards to these errors.

Thanks you again for your feedback, and I hope I can welcome you back to the resort some time in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just got back from the Mantra Wings -2 bedroom suite 12th floor, fantastic large suite, very spacious, beautifully decorated and well equipped, 2 bathrooms - very handy. Wonderful views of the beach and city and great location. Very close to the beach and easy walk to shops, but recommend a rental car to see all the attractions - wide distances to theme parks etc but easy by car. Handy little laundry - washing machine and dryer, so no biggie about only getting 1 set of towels and also brought our own for the beach. Also great to have a dryer on hand.

Small niggles - there is a large glass wall with no blinds from the main bedroom bed to the bathroom and you can see right through to the toilet. Just needs a blind / curtain for privacy.
Also, house keeping forgot to empty the kitchen bin and the microwave didn't heat - faulty.
But the hotel and suite were really fantastic and we'll definitely come back.
Highly recommend this hotel, wish we were still there! :o)

Room Tip: Ask for a room 12th floor and higher with views of the beach, fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Sea G, thankyou for your recent contribution to our Trip Advisor review site, I was pleased to read your wonderful feedback on our facilities and location.
I was equally disappointed to hear of the lack of consistency in housekeeping, and I would ask that you accept my apologies with regards to these issues.

I hope you come back to the Gold Coast soon, as I would certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort.

Thanks once again.
Kind Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just returned home after staying at the Mantra Wings for 2 nights following ahectic week in Brisbane with our Under 16 Netball team. We were all extremely excited when we walked into our apartments, they were fantastic. We had everything we needed, the service was fantastic and the girls loved the pool. Thank yu and we would certainly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Julie W, thankyou for your contribution towards our Trip Advisor Review website.
I was pleased to hear that your team enjoyed their stay at the Resort earlier in the month after what seems like a busy week in Brisbane beforehand, I also hope the tournament was a success for your team.

I look forward to welcoming you and your team members families back to the resort some time in the near future.

Kind Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have just returned after staying here over the Marathon weekend. Easy online booking, able to check in early, thank you Melissa. Good two bedroom appartment, plenty of amenities at the resort, only problem was the Day Spa was closed, could have used a massage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2500george1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear 2500george1,

Thanks very much for your review on our Trip Advisor site covering your stay over Gold Coast Marathon weekend.
I was pleased to hear you had a great stay and that you made use of the resort facilities. I take it from your reference to the Day Spa you ran in the marathon so Congratulations it is indeed a great achivement. We are certainly hoping that the owner of the Day Spa will have it leased out shortly as the facility would certainly be welcomed by our guests.

Thanks again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our first time to Goldcoast and thought we would try Mantra for its location, We were a little disappointed with where our toom was as there is alot of road works where our room wax and being on the 3rd floor wasnt great, we werent told that they didnt do servicing of the rooms unless you stayed more than 8 nights and there was also a no party policy fee which we didnt know about
either so that was disappointing as these things arent on there website, the couchs were very uncomfortable so sat on the floor and they were very faded..does need a update. The rest of the room was great, loved the 2 basins and the storage was great, not sure if we would stay there again. The location is great, handy to town, beach and buses. The receptionist Melissa was fantastic, a very helpful lady who made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Lisa H,
Thank you for your recent contribution to our Trip Advisor review site, I was disappointed to read your review and there are several issues that certainly concern me. Could I ask you to contact me directly so I can obtain more details on these issues. The information on the website you have accessed clearly needs updating so I would like to take care of that urgently.

Whilst we do advise of a no party policy that is in place for all residents & guests in the resort to ensure that everyone can enjoy a peaceful time there is certainly no fee associated with the policy.

Thank you for your comments on Melissa which I will ensure she gets to read, I am pleased to hear she made you feel welcome.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing more information so I can improve our services.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Wings

Property: Mantra Wings
Address: Cnr Fern St & Gold Coast Hwy | 18 Fern Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Wings 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres from the rolling surf and two minutes from the heart of Surfers Paradise, Mantra Wings is close to all the action and one of the most contemporary holiday resort apartment complexes on the Gold Coast. Built on the former site of the iconic Pink Poodle Motel, the property offers spacious, self-contained One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments or Two Bedroom Penthouses. All apartments and penthouses feature full kitchen and laundry facilities, air-conditioning, cable TV, internet access, stereo and spacious balconies with views across the Gold Coast and surrounds. Some of our apartments have an indulgent spa bath and this is available on request, however cannot be guaranteed. Alternatively book one of our Two Bedroom Penthouses which all offer spa baths, plasma televisions and stainless steel appliances. The resort features a freeform lagoon style pool and waterfall, private spa grotto, full-size tennis court, fully equipped air conditioned gymnasium, steam room, children's playground, barbeque facilities, porte cochere, grand lobby and secure undercover parking. Located a kilometre from the centre of Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise, Mantra Wings provides access to two of the most popular holiday destinations on the Gold Coast. Parties and excessive noise are not tolerated in apartments. Registered guests only permitted in apartments after 9pm. Failure to comply with the above will result in eviction of the guest/s from the property. Mantra Wings reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. *Bookings will only be accepted if made during reception hours* Maintenance Notice: Please note maintenance work is being carried out on the pool decking area and surrounds from 3 May until 26 May 2017. The pool will be closed throughout this time. Mantra Wings management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause and encourages you to take advantage of the beach only 200 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Mantra Wings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Wings Surfers Paradise
Mantra Wings Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing