We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, would stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Wings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Wings
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, would stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We recently stayed for a week at Mantra Wings in a 2 bedroom penthouse apartment. We had gorgeous views of the river and hinterland and glorious sunsets, as well as some ocean views.
The apartment was very well appointed and clean, spacious, and nicely furnished.
Our family enjoyed the proximity to the beach, as it's just a few minutes walk from the hotel.
We also made good use of the heated pool and spa, the children's playground and even the tennis court. And my husband even found some time to use the well-equipped gym.
We found the staff - the front office girls, the GM, the cleaners and security staff- extremely friendly and helpful.
If there was anything which this hotel lacked, it would be that it's just a bit too far to walk to either Surfers Paradise centre or Broadbeach (particularly with young children) and that there are no coffee shops or places to have breakfast within easy walking distance.
Overall, it's a wonderful place for families, and we were made to feel very welcome. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Lmjensen,

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read the review of your recent stay in our resort, I agree the Hinterland side of the resort does receive great sunsets across the river with the mountain range as the backdrop.
I am glad to see you made great use of the facilities as we do pride ourselves on being well set up for families.
Unfortunately the benefit of being outside of the noisy Surfers precinct does impact on our proximity to the Restauraunts available however over time more and more restaurants are opening in the area which is great for our guests.
Thanks once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    176
    55
    18
    18
See reviews for
234
120
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooroopna North, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Well what a great time we had at the Mantra Wings spacious neat and tidy
All staff very helpful cannot wait to return in 2014
Pool and Spa was great.
Would be good if they had a games room
It was nice to return to spacious room after a hard day at the parkes
My niece and nephew loved the gym and I like they way staff talked to the kids
Staff were great with directions if I needed them

Room Tip: People with small child would pay them to get rooms on the south side and on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Tracey W,

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read the review of your recent stay in our resort, "fantastic & friendly" is certainly the evironment we like to create here at the resort. We are very much family friendly so I appreciate your suggestions and thoughts on our facilties.

I look forward to having you back at the resort in 2014.

Thanks once again..

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for a week with family (2 teenagers) Room was great size and nice ocean views (could see the whales passing), pool/fountain splash drowned the local noise. After reading many other comments about GC, if you're staying here expect some noise! Our apartment was spacious clean & very good condition. Situated in middle between Cavill Ave & Broadbeach its a 15-20 minute walk to either way, Very close to Northcliffe SLSC & patrolled surf beach. Preferred Broadbeach eateies. Staff were always frendly & helpful and always attentive to keeping the place neat & tidy. Complex has tennis, gym, steam room, spa & great pool area & BBQ's. Overall we had a great stay & would highly recommend the Mantra Wings complex.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated ocean view room at confirmation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griggster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Griggster22,

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read the review of your recent stay in our resort, the team here certainly work hard to ensure we keep all the facilities and rooms in good condition. I was also pleased to see that you would recommend our resort to your friends, please feel free to tell all of your friends about the great time they will have at our resort.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having you back some time in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt City, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Got lucky with check in near 12pm. Room reasonably clean - a dtain on the carpet but no big thing. A little disappointing that the room was overlooking the highway - level 2 - and there was roadworks going most of the week. Also that the beds were singles but who needs sleep when your on holiday.

In between Surfers and Broadbeach a bit of hike without a car but no biggie. Not a fan of the wifi option for hotel so recommend bringing a broadband stick if you want good internet.

Was also surprised that the apartments were not serviced so maybe a bit more notice on the website would be appreciated. Can get gears like towels, laundry powder, etc before arriving.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Wesley T,

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

In reviewing your feedback I was concerned to hear that you were not aware our units were self contained, our Resort website does indicate this but I would appreciate you letting me know how you booked so I can ensure the appropriate information is on all our booking channels. Please note we do provide a servce for all bookings of 8 or more nights.

I agree the roadworks for the Light Rail can at times create a lot of noise however I am happy to advise that the worst of the inital Light Rail construction work is over and we are just waiting for the completion of the streetscaping to be completed in the next few weeks.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having you back at the resort some time in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had a week at Mantra Wings. The apartment was very spacious, clean and tidy. The staff were exceptionally friendly and very helpful, nothing was to much trouble for them. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone, We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nerida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Nerida B,

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read the review of your recent stay in our resort and was equally pleased to see that you would recommend our resort to your friends, please feel free to tell all of your friends about the great time they will have at our resort.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having you back some time in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otorohanga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just come back from a wonderful week at the Mantra Wings. I travelled with my 81 year old parents and found the apartment perfect for our needs. We had a two bedroom on the 10th floor looking out towards the sea. It had a balcony that ran the width of the apartment and had everything that we required. A true home away from home with full kitchen and laundry facilities and two bathrooms in our two bedroom apartment. Car parking was supplied in the basement and the complex was very secure. There currently is a lot of roadworks in the Surfers area, but we did not find this a problem. The girls in reception were very friendly and helpful. The only fault I would have is the Mantra book in the room was a bit out of date, eg. reception hours being different in weekends to what they actually are.

Room Tip: On reading other reviews, I requested a room on the ocean side and found this to be perfect, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear ShirleyF,

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read the review of your recent stay in our resort and was equally pleased to see you felt it to be a home away from home as this is just the envoronment we like to create at the resort. The Light Rail can at times create issues accessing the unit but I am happy to advise that the worst of the inital Light Rail construction work is scheduled to be complete by the end of this month (August) at which time the construction will move north.

I note your comment about the compendiums, which have been under review and just yesterday I have ordered new & updated compendiums which will be in place in a couple of weeks.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having you back to your home away from home some time in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Asked for room with ocean view before arriving (when your on holiday for a week, you want an ocean view).........on arrival ended up on roadside of Hotel. Woke on and off every night due to 24 hour road works. Asked at desk if we could change to other side since we would be there for a week (huge hotel and there were many free rooms available) but told no and none available ????? believe me this place is huge and we know there were MANY free rooms. Asked if we could have earplugs to use at night. Told no, none available???? Asked about towels and toilet paper as only had one each and told $2.00 if wanting extra towels and 50cents a roll if we ran out of toiletpaper???? As we were cold the first night didnt want to even bother to ask for another blanket, so I caught the cleaners in the hallway cleaning a room with OCEAN VIEW and asked if I could get one off the trolley, which they gave willingly.
So NO would not stay there again. Would be best to NOT book online and rather go personally to Hotels when you get to Gold Coast. If booking online ASK and get email confirmation of room with view of ocean if that is what you want. Also pay to throw a few extra towels in your bag if wanting to use swimming pool/spa etc. You dont want to be washing towels etc when your meant to be relaxing :o). Apart from this, rooms were nice and spacious but bring EARPLUGS if on the wrong side of Hotel. Only one Thai restaurant within 5min walk otherwise walk about 10-15min into Surfers. Roadworks meant to continue for next 18months the locals tell me.

Room Tip: Make sure you have OCEAN VIEW and confirmation in email or writing. Book on arrival and not online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warriorwolfess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Julie H

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was disapointed to read your review of the recent stay in our resort, and whilst I admit the Light Rail construction has accelerated around the resort area in the last few weeks, the worst of this construction work is due to be complete by the end of next month, at which time the construction teams will move north.

On arrival all units are equiped with a welcome pack of amenities (towels, toiletries, tea & coffee etc), these amenities are supplied by the resort to assist guests through just their first couple of days.,

It would seem the lack of Ocean view rooms during your stay has disapointed you and for that I must apologise, unfortunately on this occassion we could not accommodate your requests. Whilst the Resort has 122 Units many of them are occupied by Owners & Permanent Residents and so whilst it seems like we have a lot of units to choose from that can often depend on our Occupancy.

I would welcome you to contact me personally before your next stay so I can try to accommodate you in one of our units on the Ocean side of the Resort as you have requested.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having you back to the Resort some time in the future. I can be contacted on 07 5527 5777.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Wings

Property: Mantra Wings
Address: Cnr Fern St & Gold Coast Hwy | 18 Fern Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Wings 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres from the rolling surf and two minutes from the heart of Surfers Paradise, Mantra Wings is close to all the action and one of the most contemporary holiday resort apartment complexes on the Gold Coast. Built on the former site of the iconic Pink Poodle Motel, the property offers spacious, self-contained One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments or Two Bedroom Penthouses. All apartments and penthouses feature full kitchen and laundry facilities, air-conditioning, cable TV, internet access, stereo and spacious balconies with views across the Gold Coast and surrounds. Some of our apartments have an indulgent spa bath and this is available on request, however cannot be guaranteed. Alternatively book one of our Two Bedroom Penthouses which all offer spa baths, plasma televisions and stainless steel appliances. The resort features a freeform lagoon style pool and waterfall, private spa grotto, full-size tennis court, fully equipped air conditioned gymnasium, steam room, children's playground, barbeque facilities, porte cochere, grand lobby and secure undercover parking. Located a kilometre from the centre of Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise, Mantra Wings provides access to two of the most popular holiday destinations on the Gold Coast. Parties and excessive noise are not tolerated in apartments. Registered guests only permitted in apartments after 9pm. Failure to comply with the above will result in eviction of the guest/s from the property. Mantra Wings reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. *Bookings will only be accepted if made during reception hours* Maintenance Notice: Please note maintenance work is being carried out on the pool decking area and surrounds from 3 May until 26 May 2017. The pool will be closed throughout this time. Mantra Wings management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause and encourages you to take advantage of the beach only 200 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Wings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Wings Surfers Paradise
Mantra Wings Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing