We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lets go back to Breakfree Wings!”
Review of Mantra Wings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Wings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We stayed in the Breakfree Wings on our recent holiday to the Gold Coast. We had been for a short trip the previous year and loved the facilities and location so we went back again.

This time we had a deluxe one bedroom apartment with two bathrooms and a spa on one of the top floors as the standard bedrooms were sold out. The room was spacious, had cable, air conditioning, lots of wardrobe and cupboard space.

The location is not right on the beach, but the views from our apartment were great (see the attached picture). Located 10 minutes walk from busy Surfers Paradise and 15 minutes walk from the lovely restaurants at Broadbeach, it is a great walking distance from most places, although the bus stop is right outside if you don’t want to walk. The pool, BBQ and tennis court are clean and always well maintained and the gym seemed well equipped but we did not use it while we were there.

The only downsides I found was that the air vent in the bathroom looked like it had never been cleaned with months of dust caked on and on Friday and Saturday nights you could hear the monotonous bass beats from the restaurant below. Other than that, the apartment was spotless when we arrived and reception was very friendly and helpful.

When we go back to the Gold Coast, we will stay at Breakfree wings again!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Plexus101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 591 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2008

Stayed in a one bedroom standard apartment. Its one of the more modern apartments at the GC. A pleasant stay.

Upside: Modern open plan apartments. Love the quality kitchen facilities. Great pool and spa, tennis courts, BBQ areas and kids playground. Secure underground carparking. Clean and comfortable lounge, bed and blankets. Paintings add to atmosphere. Good design of lightings. Friendly reception with airconditioned lobby.

Downside: Only a petrol station nearby to buy food/ essentials. Airconditioning not located in the bedroom. There are only two lifts so may need to wait a while. Bathroom has no ceiling fan. A good walking distance to the heart of surfers paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kyen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

I stayed here with my parent for two weeks, the room was fantastic we had a wonderful view of the ocean, it was very nice and clean, good kitchen and plenty of room, one bedroom apartment and the staff lovely.

About a 10 min walk to hardrock cafe' 3 mins walk to the beach.

I would ensure you asked for an ocean facing room as the others are on the main road.

It has a cute little bar called the pink poddle downstairs a ok gym, which you walk though to get to the pool.

The pool loses the afternoon sun.

a note to all travellers, unless you are a schoolee do not come to the coast during november, also the weather is not the best , as its storm season.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank cb1nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2007

Our stay at Breakfree Wings was for 10 nights in a 'Deluxe One Bedroom Apartment' on the 7th floor.

My husband & I were celebrating our 1st Wedding Anniversary (and I was 5 months pregnant) and it was a fantastic stay.

The rooms are amazing. So modern, spacious and containing everything you could possibly need during your stay.

We fell in love with the kitchen! (want one like it in our house now haha) Complete with two round sinks, dishwasher, full sized fridge/freezer, microwave and oven/stove top. We had two bathrooms, one ensuite with an awesome huge shower and one off the lounge containing the spa bath/shower and laundry facilities. We had a king sized bed and a huge walk-in waredrobe in our room! Nice lounge/dining area with TV & Stereo. Plenty of storage space. Air con in the bedroom and lounge area and a nice big balcony.

Our room had the "Hinterland View" which is also above the Gold Coast Highway. While it can get quite noisy, if you close the balcony doors it blocks alot of the noise out.

Pink Poodle have a lovely $12 lunch menu which they miraculously can have ready in 10 minutes from when you place your order!! They were so quick and delicious. Day Spa downstairs is lovely and convenient. Pool, BBQ Area & Tennis Court are great!

You can walk everywhere locally from this location which we did most of the time. Easy two minute walk & access to the main beach. Strolled, for about 15 minutes, along the beach to Surfer's most mornings. We did catch a few taxi's back from Pacific Fair & Condrad Jupiters which never cost more than $10. (A bus is about $2 each way. I was also 5 months pregnant and not keen on the bus after our first attempt - bus driver took over before I sat down and I nearly fell.)

The caltex station is right next to the hotel making it very convenient for when you need something quick (like extra laundry powder... or a pie!). There is also a popular little pizza place called Romeo's, which is about a 5 minute walk if you just want to pick up a pizza to take back to your room.

Surfer's Paradise night markets are a must and the 'Zingara' show at Conrad Jupiters is a must. And Hooters is a great place for dinner for the whole family! (Kids eat free on Wednesday's I think it was)

I really do recommend this place for couples, families and anyone looking to stay in a fully self-contained apartment away from the hustle & bustle of the main city but still close enough to walk there.

I know we will stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank KiwiCoupleNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Was really looking forward to seeing the Gold Coast after we fell in love with Brisbane.... to be honest - i was slightly worried that our apartment was going to be naff but to my utter disbelief (i actually was lost for words when i walked through the door) the apartment was soooooo cool!!!! We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe for 4 nights. It was about 3/4 of the way up the building with an excellent view of the mountains - the balcony was huge spanning the living room and bedroom! The mountain view is above the very busy gold coast highway but it did not disrupt our sleep any! The bathroom is quite big with a large shower - and the second bathroom had a spa bath with shower unit above it (his and hers bathrooms! haha!)!

You can walk to anywhere from here - well...we did...and for august - it was pretty warm - get a good map and you'll have no problems! Safe area to walk about day and night - everyone we met was very friendly! Hotel staff were really helpful! You can book day trips from the hotel to the theme parks - wet and wild is a must! I hate things like that but at the finish up i didnt want to go home!

You can order a delivery from various resturants/ takeaways to your room.... dont get a mexican - cost us 30 quid and it was rubbish! Apart from that - the rest was good!

To conclude - excellent play to stay and as a result we now want an apartment in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eveski97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We stayed at Breakfree Wings for 5 nights just before Indy, so Surfers was extremely busy. The hotel is a bit out of the main part of Surfers, so if you don't mind a 10-15 minute walk to Cavill Ave it is in a great location. A bit noisy with a fire station down the road, but you soon get used to it.

The hotel was also about 2 blocks from the beach and had plenty of restaurants and pubs around, including the Pink Poodle down the bottom.

The room itself was fantastic, we had a one bedroom deluxe apartment. Great size, with a king-sized bed and two bathrooms, one with a spa bath and washing machine/dryer. The kitchen was gorgeous and had a dishwasher and the lounge/dining areas were a great size. Our view from the wide balcony was of the Nerang River - we could just glimpse the beach out the opposite side.

The pool/spa area of the hotel was unreal - complete with rocks, waterfalls, sand and barbecue facilities. The hotel also had a tennis court, a gym and a sauna.

Definitely recommend this hotel to those who don't mind being a bit out of Surfers!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank katbrad26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We loved the 2 bedroom apartments here ! Our flight from Kuala Lumpur arrived late night. By the time we checked into the apartment, it was close to 2am. Someone waited for us at the registration counter to hand us the keys.

With our 2 sleepy boys and luggage in tow, we were pleasantly suprised at how clean & spacious the aprtment was. Rooms were lovely. Kitchen was complete. The welcome pack Wings provided (incl detergent and diswashing liquid) was enough to last us the 4 days.

Location was great ! About 3 minutes from the bus stop.

Our flight to Kuala Lumpur took off at 11pm. Since we had to check out at noon, the staff kindly allowed us to store our large suitcases in their office until we left for the airport.

Definately recommend this place for families.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Not2fussed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,807 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
550 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Wings

Address: Cnr Fern St & Gold Coast Hwy | 18 Fern Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $99 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Wings 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres from the rolling surf and two minutes from the heart of Surfers Paradise, Mantra Wings is built on the former site of the iconic Pink Poodle Motel, the property offers spacious, self-contained One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments or Two Bedroom Penthouses. Some of our apartments have an indulgent spa bath and this is available on request, however cannot be guaranteed. The resort features a lagoon style pool and waterfall, private spa grotto, full-size tennis court, fully equipped air conditioned gymnasium, steam room, children's playground, barbeque facilities, porte cochere, grand lobby and secure undercover parking. Parties and excessive noise are not tolerated in apartments. Registered guests only permitted in apartments after 9pm. Failure to comply with the above will result in eviction of the guest/s from the property. Mantra Wings reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. *Bookings will only be accepted if made during reception hours* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Wings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Wings Surfers Paradise
Mantra Wings Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing