We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Mantra Wings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Wings
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
1 review
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

After reading reviews here, we requested a high up room, facing away from GC highway, and I pushed my luck and asked for a spa bath... we got all of our requests and had 6 nights in a lovely two bed apartment on 13th floor (any higher would have been penthouse!). We had everything we needed, including a fully kitted out kitchen (not that I was going to cook on holiday, but could have if needed!).

Only negative was lack of variety of places to eat within easy walking distance, it is about 15 mins walk from central Surfers and perhaps 20 mins walk to Broadbeach. Not a big problem with a rental car or for those without small children.

The pizza takeout place just up the road is fab! Was a shame to see the restaurant was closed that had previously occupied a ground floor area of the hotel.

Hotel facilities are good, nice big pool, bbq areas, tennis courts and gym.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubjub1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Jubjub1968,

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read the review of your recent stay in our resort, it is always nice to be able to meet all of a guests requests and it certainly seems like we have been able to accommodate them on this ocassion. Whilst the likes of Broadbeach & Surfers Paradise are 15 minutes walk we do have many Restaurants in the local area, The Reception team would be happy to point some of them out to you next time you are staying at our Resort. Whilst the Restauraant on site is not linked to the Hotel in anyway and has been closed for some time we certainly hope it will be open some time in the not too distant future.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having you back to the Resort some time in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    180
    57
    18
    18
See reviews for
241
121
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We booked a 2 night stay over the Internet and I was a little dubious when I saw that it was a "schoolie's" property, I expected to see a run down poorly maintained unit. To our surprise we checked in to one of the best maintained apartments on the Gold Coast. The apartment was spacious with a great King size bed, 2 bathrooms ( one with single person spa) full size kitchen including dishwasher and a washer and dryer. The ocean view was fantastic and although this property is on the Gold Coast Highway, we had no road noise. The only draw back is that the property isn't located close to any eateries so we had to drive to dinner each night.
Ask for a room as high as possible and as far from the Highway as possible. All rooms have great ocean views.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Xlcobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Xicobra,

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read the review of your recent stay in our resort, it is always nice to be pleasantly surprised. It was great to be able to accommodate you so comfortably in your spacious Ocean vIew unit.
Whilst the likes of Broadbeach & Surfers Paradise are 15 minutes walk we do have several Restaurants in the local area, The Reception team would be happy to point some of them out to you next time you are staying at our Resort

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having you back to the Resort some time in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We recently had a week at the Mantra Wings- It was my mum and I and we had a really lovely 1 bedroom apartment on the 11th floor. Beautiful sunny apartment with oceanviews. Clean and very spacious. 2 bathrooms in a 1 bedroom apartment was a awesome feature for us, as I like to sleep in a bit longer than mum, she could get up shower etc and I wouldnt even know.
Wee bit of noise from the construction but all in all a wonderful stay. Cant wait to go back!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_OE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear kiwi_OE

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read the review of your recent stay in our resort. It was great to be able to accommodate you so spaciously in your unit and the Ocean Views are certainly great from that level.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort some time in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

As we arrived about 8pm reception was closed so waited a few minutes for phone to be answered and we were given instructions where to find our key. Our apartment was a pleasant surprise, very spacious, and clean with a lovely Super king bed. However our friends arrived in their apartment to find there was no power. After a ring to management and locating the fuse box in the dark, this was rectified and we settled in. The weather was cool and the heat pump in our lounge would not work on heating, however the bedroom one was heating so decided just to use this one. Our request to replace a bulb in the kitchen was acted on very quickly, however our request for a can opener was ignored. After three days our power went off and upon calling reception, someone was sent up immediately, but once power was restored our bedroom heat pump no longer worked, these could not be fixed immediately so we were relocated to another room, as we were no longer on the same level as our friends, staff made sure we had access to each others floor.
The rooms were very noisy due to the close proximity to the highway and this was not helped by the 24h/day roadworks going on.
We enjoyed our stay at the Mantra, although we did not have the weather to hang out at the pool, and another time would probably try to stay somewhere a little off the highway due to the noise.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room on the ocean side, as this is further away from the roadworks, however d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Lynda084

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read your review of the recent stay in our resort. It was great to be able to accommodate you so comfortably in our spacious units. My apologies for the Maintenance issues that occurred during your stay, however I am pleased to see for the most part that these were rectified in a timely fashion.

I would welcome you to contact me personally before your next stay so I can accommodate you in one of our units on the other side of the Resort, I am sure you would find this side a lot quieter.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having you back to the Resort some time in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

My experience on this compared to other mantra's is terrible. Beautiful view from the room and specious. But the greatest problem was no help from the staff for anything. I would reccommend this place highly for one nights only.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zeetu30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Zeetu30

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was disappointed to read your review as we pride ouselves on the service we provide our guests, I would welcome a call from yourself so I can further understand the concerns you had. You can contact me on 07 5527 5777.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 4th floor. Had a nice corner apartment with ocean view. apartment was beautiful, clean, well presented & very functional. The twin beds were a little too close for comfort as they were made separate but pushed together! was easily fixed though by moving bedsides and separating beds. Would definitely stay here again maybe even with the kids!

Room Tip: ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Ryben01

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read your review of the recent stay in our resort. It was great to be able to accommodate you so comfortably in your unit. You make a very valid point with regards to the beds and I will be sharing that with the housekeeping team

The resort is also well suited to families so we would welcome you back with your kids.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having you back to the Resort some time in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for a long weekend and found it great! We were only expecting a smaller room for couples but it was a two bedroom apartment with two bathrooms. The room was not on the ocean side, so we did have constant traffic noise but it wasn't disturbing at all because we closed all the external windows and doors. It would've been good to be able to let fresh air in, but that wasn't a big issue. The apartment was fully equipped with a dishwasher, full size fridge, washing machine, dryer and most utensils for cooking that you would need. The beach is a short walk away about 150m and you only have to cross one smaller road. I'd stay here again, but would rather a room on the ocean side. We arrived early too and our room was ready so we didn't have to wait for the extra hour till check in time which was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicko6425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear NIcko6425

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read your review of the recent stay in our resort. It was great to see we were able to accomodate your early arrival so you could enjoy more of our facilities and service. Whilst an ocean view is often requested, unfortunately we are not always able to meet this request, I will certainly do all I can to fulfil this request on your next visit.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort some time in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Wings

Property: Mantra Wings
Address: Cnr Fern St & Gold Coast Hwy | 18 Fern Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Wings 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres from the rolling surf and two minutes from the heart of Surfers Paradise, Mantra Wings is close to all the action and one of the most contemporary holiday resort apartment complexes on the Gold Coast. Built on the former site of the iconic Pink Poodle Motel, the property offers spacious, self-contained One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments or Two Bedroom Penthouses. All apartments and penthouses feature full kitchen and laundry facilities, air-conditioning, cable TV, internet access, stereo and spacious balconies with views across the Gold Coast and surrounds. Some of our apartments have an indulgent spa bath and this is available on request, however cannot be guaranteed. Alternatively book one of our Two Bedroom Penthouses which all offer spa baths, plasma televisions and stainless steel appliances. The resort features a freeform lagoon style pool and waterfall, private spa grotto, full-size tennis court, fully equipped air conditioned gymnasium, steam room, children's playground, barbeque facilities, porte cochere, grand lobby and secure undercover parking. Located a kilometre from the centre of Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise, Mantra Wings provides access to two of the most popular holiday destinations on the Gold Coast. Parties and excessive noise are not tolerated in apartments. Registered guests only permitted in apartments after 9pm. Failure to comply with the above will result in eviction of the guest/s from the property. Mantra Wings reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. *Bookings will only be accepted if made during reception hours* Maintenance Notice: Please note maintenance work is being carried out on the pool decking area and surrounds from 3 May until 2 June 2017. The pool will be closed throughout this time. Mantra Wings management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause and encourages you to take advantage of the beach only 200 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Wings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Wings Surfers Paradise
Mantra Wings Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing