We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for young people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aegean Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aegean Apartments
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location for young people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with a nice sized balcony overlooking the beach. The rooms were standard but clean enough. Reception staff did a great job. The best thing about this place is it's location! So close to the beach and Cavill Avenue!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaHappyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    76
    21
    15
    23
See reviews for
114
32
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights with our 7month old.
We had a huge apartment on the 18th floor. The view was amazing from our large balcony.
The apartment was not as clean as it could have been (it felt like the cleaning job had been rushed) although it was not dirty and unliveable.
We did have an issue with the airconditioner in the main bedroom- we could not get it to turn on! Once we requested it to be fixed by reception (which we waited a day to be done) the main switch was found in the second bedroom. We did not pay to use this room, so it was locked. Once this was sorted we were much more comfortable!
There was no chance of children opening the doors to the balcony as it was tough as adults to open them.

We found the reception staff to be lovely and helpful.
The kitchen and laundry were fantastic. The pool and BBQ areas are lovely.
The whole motel has excellent security measures in place.
Overall we were happy with our stay at Aegean Apartments.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights in December 2013. Got a 2 bedroom apartment wit an ocean view room. Our rates was very good, got a special 4 nts for the price of 3 through Ratestogo and ended up paying around $120/nt.

Overall comments:

Pros

Very roomy, clean, good size kitchen and lounge. Big wide Balcony overlooking the sea. This hotel in 2 streets from the main mall in surface paradise.

Cons:

Can not pick any major fault.

I would recommend this place as it is quite central with very reasonable price

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Global_travel7035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Spent two weeks in December 2013 and paid 3650 dollars. The reception closes at 5:00 PM on weekdays and at 2:00 on Sundays. After that you are on your own and you can't check your apartment before you already moved in it.
The carpet was dirty and smelly. We did not switch on the air conditioner because it smelled too (apparently they do not change or clean the filters).
Only a few pots and pans, one of which could not be used because scratched. After the first and only service they provided, one brand polo shirt of us 'misteriously, disappeared. They only changed the sheets and towels, they didn't clean anything but they had plenty of time to rammage our belongings. We reported what happened to the receptionists to no avail, because their only job is ask you to pay in full when you arrive: they do not follow up on your complains. The worst rental experience we had. Of course, the apartment did not look like at all the ones posted on their webpage.

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

we enjoyed our second stay at the Aegean and once again found it to be very suitable for our needs. We requested a renovated apartment on the 23 floor, all the beds were very comfortable and the lounge/dining/kitchen area was a fantastic size and accommodated the five of us really well. The views were sensational.The location is excellent - walk to supermarkets and Cavill Avenue, the night markets and of course, the beach which is only one block away. There are many eating places suitable for all tastes including a great Indian restaurant on the ground floor of the apartment block.
The best thing about the the Aegean are the sport facilities - we used the indoor pool, spa and sauna at least twice a day - it was never crowded while we were there. The BBQ facilities are good and the tennis court was a good bonus. One downside was the extra charge to hire the tennis racquets (from memory about $4.00/racquet/hour) - the were not in great condition but we still had a lot of fun.
The service from both booking over the phone and also at reception was excellent- the staff were very helpful and pleasant. We also booked tickets to Dreamworld - very easy and just as cheap as booking on-line. There was zero noise from any other apartments and no street noise unless we had the balcony doors open. Parking was good in the secure underground car park.
I would recommend this as a good option for families looking for a budget place to stay - we were very impressed with the facilities given the price paid.

Room Tip: Ask for renovate apartment with ocean view - apartment 2312 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keeptravellingHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

On paper this apartment looked pretty good. It was large, with a new TV, couch and fridge, but the cooktop, oven and dishwasher were old and all faulty. The glass topped tables are extremely dangerous for families, with sharp edges right at child head hight. The interior is well past its prime, but that's ok. Advertised as air conditioned, but bedrooms had only ceiling fans, I would not want to be here in summer. Impossibly noisy, we were on the fifth floor and the bar across the street made sleep impossible until early morning (~1 am). Combine that with curtains so thin they didn't block out street light, let alone day light. Most things are forgiveable, but the noise and the blinds mean we would never consider returning.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you want cheap and cheerful this is your place! Our room had one Queen (or was it King) bed and two singles. Two bathrooms. A very large living area surrounded by windows (the garden view isn't a garden view by the way - it's more like a building view).

Pros
Nice clean sheets/pillows - no doona just blankets
Spacious
Good location
Price
Indoor heated pool/spa/gym (although I didn't use gym)

Cons
Noise - proximity to road works made it very difficult to sleep (they start work at 7am even on weekends)
The curtains were awful. I went to close mine and all I could smell was dust and had to move beds. I get the feeling the place could use a little make-over.
Reception not manned for long so don't go looking for assistance there!

If you can put up with the fact that it's a little unloved I guess you'll do fine. I'd avoid it until after the road works though and after that I'd advise requesting an upper level apartment because the partygoers keep you awake!

Room Tip: Get one away from the roadworks and up high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella-Loves-Kalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf Regency Apartments
Surf Regency Apartments
#43 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#4 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zenith Apartments
Zenith Apartments
#32 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula
#15 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Apartments

Property: Aegean Apartments
Address: Agean 30 Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegean Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 levels, 126 spacious two bedroom, fully self-contained apartments. Located 150 metres from Surfers Paradise beach and 200 metres south of Surfers Paradise main street. Tour desk, under cover car park, theme park tickets. Close to a variety of international restaurants. Situated alongside the world's tallest residential building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aegean Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Aegean Hotel Surfers Paradise
Aegean Hotel Apartments
Aegean Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing