We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but too noisy.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aegean Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aegean Apartments
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location but too noisy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

The whole complex was well maintained and the barbecues exceptionally clean. A very short walk to beach, restaurants, bus stop, supermarket and Cavil Ave. A top location. Our view from 14th floor was brilliant although the daily noise of rubbish collections, street sweeper, delivery trucks and buses/coaches in front of the Aegean woke us up around 5am each morning, definitely not relaxing! Minor faults with our 2 bedroom apartment was not being able to close the door to the laundry when in use and only one bedside lamp working but the huge wrap around balcony made up for it! Two restaurants close by we recommend is Delhi Darbar and the Elfresco on Elston both next to each other and located under the Wyndham in Hamilton Ave.
Would not stay in Laycock St. again because of the noise factor.

Room Tip: Request a room as high as possible to escape noise from the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LANDL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    76
    20
    15
    23
See reviews for
113
31
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

With so many places to choose from on the Gold Coast, steer clear of the Aegean. The lights in one of the bedrooms did not work and the staff could not fix it, resulting in a useless room for the entire 3 days that we were there. Further into our stay more lights blew and the staff could not fix them. The carpets were stained throughout, the bath tub was so worn our children were afraid that there was a black bug in the bath!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 71genx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aegean1, Front Office Manager at Aegean Apartments, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Whilst we try to ensure all maintenance issues are dealt with immediately, on occasions, some issues such as parts are not readily available and have to be ordered. We endeavour to immediately rectify all problems once reported to reception. We hope you will return as our facilities are wonderful for families like yours with children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

This was our first Gold Coast trip, as a family we wanted somthing clean & central, The Aegean is well located good clean well priced accomadation, great ocean views,close to everything.Rooms are good sized, well furnished. Avoid the IGA down the road & walk the extra 2 minutes & go to Woolworths. We loved the Aegean hope you do as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

I am not normally the type of person to write reviews, however felt the need to share my thoughts on our recent vacation to the Gold Coast.

My partner & I recently stayed at the Aegean for the first time and it was so good that we didn't want to come home. We arrived earlier than expected and it was at least 4 hours until check in and the staff were kind enough to let us go to our room as it was ready.

The amenities were clean, we had enough starter items to allow us to settle in before going shopping to purchase what we needed for our stay. The kitchen was fabulous and as a career chef I can say that for holiday makers, it is more than enough to cook yourself a fabulous meal "at home". The washing machine and dryer were excellent and the bathrooms were great as well.

The security of the building is spot onand the staff were exceptional in dealing with any questions that we had.

My only slight quip was that we kept playing carpark tag with other residents parking in our allocated carpark. My partner and I both agree that as a point of constructive criticism, the carpark numbers should reflect rooms numbers to avoid confusion. We mentioned this to reception and in a sense feel sorry for them having to herd unruly, lazy adults who cannot be bothered to park where they are told.

Overall, we stayed here for 4 days and will definitely be returning in a few weeks time as we are buying a restaurant on the Gold coast and will use the Aegean until we organise a permanent home.

In short, the Aegean is comfortable, safe and great value for money.
I cannot think of any other place that feels like a home away from home!

Thank You Aegean for making our stay memorable and see you again soon!

Room Tip: If you want a view, then take oceanview, If like us, you don't care about a view, choose garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snez K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My family and I love the Aegean and this is the second time we have stayed there.
Although the Aegean looks a bit dated, the apartments are spacious, clean and its location prefect - close to the beach and town centre which is really convenient.

We stayed in two 2 bed apartments for the first night and the 3 bedroom apartment for the rest of our stay. One of the two bedroom apartments had been refurbished and the other had not. Both were fine but the refurbished one was fresher and more modern.
The three bed apartment was amazing ….really really lovely. We want to make this our family holiday apartment every year. This apartment was refurbished, modern and lovely. We stayed with 4 adults and 2 kids and there was heaps of room.
The staff were really nice and helpful and answered all our tourist questions!

Love Love the Aegean and will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Request a refurbished apartment if you prefer one thats more modern and less dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Location is perfect within walking distance of all the food places, beach, cavill ave. Just perfect. The room was extremely impressive and as a business man I like the finer things of life. We stayed on the top floor and our view looked the main area of Gold Coast, overlooking beaches and all the way down. We have now stayed several times and in various apartments all have been very modern and extremely well layed out. I have now stayed there every visit for last 2 years. Just make sure the girls know the style of apartment you are after and they will do there best to accomodate you. We have stayed at many apartments around Gold Coast and this is still one of my favourites not only for business, but my wife spends alot of time in unit and is pleasure too.

Room Tip: Ask for apartments that have been updated and rooms with A or B overlook Surfers and beach and room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Four of us shared a two bedroom apartment on the 16th floor. Check in fast and friendly and our apartment was ready even though we arrived early. Well appointed with comfortable furniture, large kitchen, lounge and dinning, although could use a bit of maintenance on the balcony doors as they were very hard to open. Lovely views of ocean and through to the Hinterland. Close to restaurants, supermarket and Cavill Avenue. A very pleasant stay and will be on our list to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Surf Regency Apartments
Surf Regency Apartments
#43 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#4 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula
#16 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zenith Apartments
Zenith Apartments
#27 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfers International
Surfers International
#72 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Apartments

Property: Aegean Apartments
Address: Agean 30 Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegean Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 levels, 126 spacious two bedroom, fully self-contained apartments. Located 150 metres from Surfers Paradise beach and 200 metres south of Surfers Paradise main street. Tour desk, under cover car park, theme park tickets. Close to a variety of international restaurants. Situated alongside the world's tallest residential building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aegean Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Aegean Hotel Surfers Paradise
Aegean Hotel Apartments
Aegean Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing