We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Island Resort
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Nice quiet place to stay in Surfers but still in walking distance to the shops, bus stop and beach. The apartment we stayed in was on the second floor and from the veranda you could just see the river. The rooms were clean and had nice furniture and the appliances in the kitchen were modern. The only thing I can fault is that there should have been a few more basic utensils in the kitchen. The pool and spa were very nice and the management were friendly and minded our bags for the day as our plane didn't leave until later in the afternoon.
All in all it was a great stay and I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avocados13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    35
    12
    7
    21
See reviews for
41
35
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

diasappointed , facilities being repaired, unfair use of pool/spa. Groups allowed to dominate making others intimidated to use . Management does nothing for days about this. No little extras provided like dishwasher powder , laundry powder, tea coffee, just enough for one use is always good until travellers get to the shops. Advertised linen change if staying more than one week but this never occurred and we werent changed any less. filthy air cons

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaz018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

we stayed here for our honeymoon and from the moment i walked in the door i wanted to go back to melbourne the room smelled the carpet had cigirate bruns. The staff didnt seem to care,( we left befor they got there and waited till after 5 to come back just so we didnt have to c them ) the back door of our room fell and hit me in the head as i walked out to dirty balconey. i got glass in my foot from swimming in the pool which you cant use after 9pm.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ti88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Management were friendly, lovely accomodation, would stay there again!

Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank martlau_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Great, close to Surfers but nice & quiet at night . Tidy apartment. Ten minutes walk to both shops and main bus stop to theme parks. Great security, pool, BBQ facilities & spa. Reception hours were a bit limited but staff were friendly. I'd definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazandcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2008

before my holiday even started i was over charged to my credit card 3 times. insted of once full payment i was charged three times. ii did not even get a appoligy just a ok i will fix it up. which was done 2 days later.
the carpets are filthy ants crawling through out the apartment, cockaroches, fly screens with holes, you are givin one roll of toilet paper then after that are expected to pay 2 dollars a roll..
the owners are rude.
do not even bother staying in this terrible hotel even if it was free.

  • Liked — nothing everything was not worth a dollar
  • Disliked — everything i will never go back
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mzsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Sunset Island holiday apartments were great value for money. One bedroom apartment - good size, great kitchen facilities. Clean and well presented place. Handy to entertainment and shopping centre so no need for a car. Short walk to surfers was a bonus - overall a nice place to stay and would recommend it for families or groups of friends. Hosts were helpful - which was great.
Marty

  • Liked — Friendly hosts
  • Disliked — Had no real complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,993 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surf Parade Resort
Surf Parade Resort
#17 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#18 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Isles
Paradise Isles
#29 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Regent Apartments
Regent Apartments
#34 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Island Resort

Property: Sunset Island Resort
Address: 3 Sunset Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed apartments nestled at the end of Peninsular Drive providing boutique accommodation. The perfect spot to relax by the saltwater pool, or soak in the spa. With the river so close you can take the kids fishing. You will love every minute of your stay with us here at Sunset Island Resort-ideal home away from home, tucked away from the noisy, bustling streets but yet so close to the action...the ideal holiday getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Island Hotel Surfers Paradise
Sunset Island Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing