We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Island Resort
Beechmont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I tried to book online through a number of accom sites which were hopeless, so I called direct and spoke to the manager who was FANTASTIC, despite my booking being a bit of a shamozzle. She was patient and helpful and recommended the right size room for our booking. Lovely clean and spacious apartment, even with 5 adults staying. Walk up to Cavill Ave. Very secure with parking underneath.
Thanks Leah, for helping to make that one of the best weekends I've had in 50 years! I will definitely recommend this one to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank artisansgraphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you Danielle for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful weekend away and hope that you come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    35
    12
    7
    21
See reviews for
41
35
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed for just over a week and enjoyed every moment spent there. The apartment we lived in was very clean and tidy, well presented and all the standard conveniences you require. So close to Surfers Paradise within a few minutes walk.

Our grandson really enjoyed the place and especially the swimming pool complex. Highly recommend this hotel. The only negative if you could call it that, is that our bed was on the firm side.

Room Tip: Corner room 104 was a real treat, the outside deck area was HUGE !!, recently decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Ross thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Sunset Island Resort, it was certainly lovely to meet you and Susan. We have noted your feedback on the firmness of the bed. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have stayed here 4 times now (every 6 months or so) and we love Senset Island Resort. Accommomdation is clean and eveything to yours needs.
Great kitchen and ensuite for parents.... Brilliant. Not to forget washing machine and dryer!
Close to Cavill mall for your morning and evening walks.
Central to a beauitful place... Surfers Paradise.
Pool and BBQ area is lovelynand very relaxing.
Could not ask for better value family resort.
Love the friendly staff and manager.
Thanks again for a great stay! Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 218 or 219! Faces the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at Sunset Island Resort (so much that you stayed with us 4 times). We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have stayed for the 3rd time in 18 months at Sunset Island Resort in Surfers Paradise. We just love it! The accommodation is clean and has everything the spoiled traveler wants. Yes there is a difference in units, some have newer furniture and TV's than other but price wise it is a good deal. There is a great heated pool, a hot spa and great bbq facilities. Yes there are 4 and 5 stars motels/hotels with better facilities but you will pay the price. We love to be away from all the Surfers Paradise hustle and bustle, but still only 5 minutes away from the shops and 10 minutes from the beach. Whats the point?? Sue and Graham are lovely people and will do anything to help you where they can. We asked for a unit on the ground floor due to the mobility of my wife and this was never a problem. I am sure we will be back in Surfers again one day and for us there is no other place we will stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanandWilanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we appreciate all feedback. We will always try our best to accommodate the special requests of our guests. We hope to see you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I booked this place as I had heard from someone through work that this hotel was good. I certainly was NOT disappointed. I wanted something away from the centre of the beach area, & NOT too noisy.
The place was MUCH BETTER than I expected. Sure it was a good 10 minute walk to the beach but the reception lady Leah? was VERY welcoming & helpful in booking us in. When we went up to the room which was EXACTLY what I asked for I found a VERY clean & tidy room. For a 1br it had EVERYTHING!!! It was spacious, & had a dishwasher, microwave, washing machine & clothes dryer which I was NOT expecting. The bedroom was spacious & so was the "lounge room"
I would DEFINATELY go back & stay there & would recommend this place to stay. I also liked the fact that you COULDNT access the car park unless you were staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that Sunset Island Resort exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us here. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here as a group of four and we loved it! Perfect for groups on a weekend away to the Goldie, not too far of a walk to the main strip and area was quiet at night. Only a walk away to the main bus area too which takes you to the theme parks. Kitchen facilities were good, as were all the other amenities, I'd recommend this place to others wanting to stay in the area. Great value for money also - I just wished I'd had the time to go for a swim in the pool!

Room Tip: No lift - pack light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platos3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice little place out of the way, but a little too far out of the way. No elevators and a bit out dated but the pool was nice. Room was adequate but it felt like you were in prison-everywhere you looked it seemed that there was a fee attached and it made me nervous. It was like stepping on egg shells - I visited with my so sons, both under 10, and they wanted to charge me an extra person fee. I was very disappointed as this would have made it the price of a beachfront property, luckily after I expressed my disappointed they made me feel like they were doing me a favour by not charging me. I understand the concept of people trying to run a business but this was ridiculous
Has this not happened they would have made it to average - only just

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Unfortunately, Sunset Island Resort cannot provide free accommodation - all the resort websites show the additional person charges. For special requests, such as difficulty climbing stairs, please make a request on booking and we will try to accommodate you in a ground floor apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfers Riverside Apartments
Surfers Riverside Apartments
#77 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Isles
Paradise Isles
#26 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wharf Boutique Apartments
Wharf Boutique Apartments
#46 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Shore Holiday Apartments
The Shore Holiday Apartments
#49 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surf Parade Resort
Surf Parade Resort
#16 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Island Resort

Property: Sunset Island Resort
Address: 3 Sunset Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed apartments nestled at the end of Peninsular Drive providing boutique accommodation. The perfect spot to relax by the saltwater pool, or soak in the spa. With the river so close you can take the kids fishing. You will love every minute of your stay with us here at Sunset Island Resort-ideal home away from home, tucked away from the noisy, bustling streets but yet so close to the action...the ideal holiday getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Island Hotel Surfers Paradise
Sunset Island Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing