We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Little Gem on The Gold Coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karana Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karana Palms Resort
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little Gem on The Gold Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently stayed with my 8 year old daughter at Karana Palms Resort and had a lovely time. The Apartment is fully self contained with all you need to cook your own meals, plenty of pots, frying pans and crockery. The apartment was very clean and the balcony spacious with a 4 seater out door table and chairs.

They also have a supermarket service on the website which if you are arriving late is brilliant, I used it and was very pleased with price and how they placed all my groceries in fridge and pantry for my arrival.

The pool is great very well looked after with a shallow and deep end we loved it.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and enjoy the excitement of helping you book your tours and then follow up with questions when you return back and are genuinely happy to listen to your stories.

If you do not mind a short stroll into Surfers Paradise and seriously its an easy 10 minute walk this is a great place especially with young children as its quiet and away from the hustle and bustle.

We loved our 6 day break and would choose to stay here again on our next visit for sure

Thanks for having us

Room Tip: Pool view rooms have a great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    11
    13
    8
See reviews for
21
56
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We found our stay very good, management were very approachable and friendly and if something wasn't available or extra assistance was needed they were more than willing to help out. The location of the complex is very central and access to the main shopping and beaches of Surfers was an easy stroll but it was also not right in the middle of the crowds which made it very pleasant and relaxing. Would definitely stay at Karana Palms again the service was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Upon arrival we were welcomed and shown to our room, the management were always helpful and assisted with enquiries and also booked my theme park tickets for me. The apartment was very spacious, very comfortable bed with an overhead fan, decent size kitchen and a lounge area with foxtel. The bathroom had a decent size shower and also a washing machine and dryer. The overall premises were well kept and my daughter loved swimming in the pool every day. There was a bbq as well which was free of charge. The location was great as it was a short walk over the bridge to the heart of surfers. I stayed here for 9 nights and I highly recommend this place and if i travel to qld again i will be staying here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We recently travelled to the gold coast for a week and stayed at the karana palms resort on chevron island.From the start all staff were very helpful and the room itself was perfect fit for me and my family plenty of room and all of the tools to make the place a happy stay.the location was perfect a short walk over the bridge to the heart of the city but back on chevron island was always relaxing and peaceful.Overall enjoyed the whole stay and will be back sooner than later.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The apartment is located close to the city center, yet very quiet. Another plus to this apartment are the washer and dryer, the nice shower and the big bed. The rest of the apartment needs freshening up. All the rooms are painted in a very strange pink colour, which is starting to scale off in the bathroom where a little mold is settling in. Aircon is optional and you have to pay extra for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstenNL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I don't usually write reviews, but after my visit last week I felt I should share how easy and pleasant my experience was. My husband and I have never been to the area before and when we loosely mentioned this to the lady at the front desk she went out of her way to help. We were given information about the local area and where to eat out.

We were also early to check in and she was kind enough to let us leave our bags in the room while their finished cleaning (I have never found anywhere else that lets you do that)

We will be back for sure!

THANK YOU

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I recently stayed at Karana Palms for five nights. From the start the managers were so helpful. The room was airy and bright. All the outside areas are well looked after. I'm very surprised by some of the other reviews as I was more then pleased with my stay. It is not a serviced hotel in the middle of surfers paradise, but a brilliantly located, family friendly establishment a little bit away from the sometimes frantic pace of the beachfront.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathym1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Chevron Palms Holiday Apartments
Chevron Palms Holiday Apartments
#78 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Isles
Paradise Isles
#36 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#10 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Warringa Surf Apartments
Warringa Surf Apartments
#60 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
#3 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Island Resort
Paradise Island Resort
#85 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karana Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karana Palms Resort

Property: Karana Palms Resort
Address: 40-42 Tarcoola Cres | Chevron Island, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karana Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Karana Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karana Palms Hotel Surfers Paradise
Karana Palms Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing