We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family fun!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of BreakFree Acapulco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Acapulco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family fun!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed here and had to most relaxing fun filled weekend!!! Beach across the road great for the kids, surf club across the road with great
Food!! Very happy with the room nice and roomy, and the furniture was up to date. Staff were happy and easy to deal with. Underground secure parking in fantastic because then the car is safe while you walk because there is so much in walking distance. The indoor pool is great for them days when you don't want sand everywhere. I'm so happy with this place that I want everyone to know so they can have a great time with there family since it's so family friendly!! I hope I'm still able to get
a room...

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazra10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfreeacapulco, General Manager at BreakFree Acapulco, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards
Andrew Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    82
    30
    15
    11
See reviews for
123
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

I Stayed at Breakfree Acapulco in March 2010 and was very happy with my stay. I Found the staff friendly and welcoming. When we arrived to the room, I couldn't get over the size of it. Our room was Huge! The ocean front view was wonderful and the cool sea breeze meant that we hardly had the a/c on at all. It is quite close to cavil ave, the heart of surfers (about 10 -15min walk) also there is a great surf club across the road (great place for breakie!).

All in all I really enjoyed my stay at Breakfree Acapulco. While the building is at a guess 30years old I found it to be fairly well maintained. My room was neat and tidy even if the decor was abit dated (some call it character!). The pool and bbq area did the job nicely, and it was a great place to unwind after a full on day on the town.

If you are looking for a flashy hotel with all the mod cons then this is not the place for you, but if your looking for nice comfortable relaxed accomidation then I would def recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unclechopchop77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfreeacapulco, General Manager at BreakFree Acapulco, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are always very happy to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Andrew Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Having never stayed here before and reading the older reviews made us a little weary, but we were delighted with our stay at Breakfree Acapulco and would be happy to return. We stayed on level 21, with a "C" aspect and had the most amazing views of the ocean, from every room!!! The unit itself was absolutely huge, it was like a house, with 2 large bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, a laundry room, a spacious kitchen (believe me, we cooked a lot!), and very large dining/lounge area. Also, the unit had a lovely entry way and was very solid, unlike some of the newer resorts where the walls are paper thin. The beds were very comfortable, with proper mattresses designed for back support, and we loved to fall asleep listening to the surf, waking up to a view of the ocean, and one night even watched the moon rising over the water, very romantic!

The location was brilliant, in between Pacific Fair and the mall in Surfers, and the lifeguard station and surf club was literally right outside the resort. The outdoor areas were fantastic and we used the full tennis court (there is also a half), and the BBQ areas, beautiful landscaping with cascading water features, next to the pool (heated). Also there is another indoor heated pool with spa, sauna, gym. There was supposed to be a games room but we didn't find it, however we still had plenty of facilities to keep us occupied. We were able to watch the Gold Coast marathon from our living room, and even went downstairs to cheer on the runners. We watched a beach wedding, surf school every day, kite flying, and beach soccer all from the luxury of our lounge room and balcony!
Service: The cleaning service was halfway through our stay, very efficient. Also the desk staff and security were always helpful, polite and friendly. There was one point where during renovations of the foyer area downstairs the water supply was removed, and the staff rang upstairs to give updates and even organised an emergency accommodation in the Q1 just in case it could not be fixed before evening (though it was all fine). Also another minor issue was to do with the older building style and car parking, once we had to park near reception and it was accepted by the staff, not a problem.
Also, some reviewers have commented on the old building style, well it is old but very clean, many floors have been renovated or are in the process, also the foyer is being renovated, but it is a very solid comfortable resort and some traditional things like decorated ceilings and very large rooms are still kept the same.
There was a high-speed internet computer downstairs for a small fee, though being in a central area there are also other internet places around.
Overall, for a much needed holiday it was a fantastic get away and we enjoyed ourselves enormously. Thumbs up for Acapulco, hope to see you again next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

I recently spent a week at breakfree acapulco and had a wonderful experience. I was amazed at the size of the room, the view was amazing and found it very relaxing falling asleep to the sound of the waves being so close to the beach.

The staff were great and extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms had everything plus more then we required.

I have read some reviews on the overall cleanliness on here and have to disagree, our room was extremely clean.

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stina_dancequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfreeacapulco, General Manager at BreakFree Acapulco, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are happy we were able to assist in providing you a memorable holiday. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Andrew Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

we booked to stay for 3 days but ended up staying 30 minutes. it was depressing, old and it was absolutely filthy!we had to leave as it made us feel sick. nothing at all like the pictures posted on the internet.false advertising!!! dont waste your money . oh and we didnt get a refund!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tasddrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfreeacapulco, General Manager at BreakFree Acapulco, responded to this review, June 20, 2010
Thank you for taking your time to provide the feedback on your recent reservation. It disappoints me to learn of your issues that you encountered in relation to the reservation. As a 3.5 star property some of our fixtures are a few years old, however clean and in good working order, therefore I regret the shortcoming in service you have communicated from our Housekeeping department and I will be addressing these directly. I apologies for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards Andrew Baker
General Manager
BreakFree Acapulco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Went down for the Easter Weekend with Family. Stay in a 2 bed apartment.
Complex is one of the older ones on the coast but was very clean and quite spacious.
The views of the ocean and Surfers Paradise was great and located in a spot that is easy to access any part of the Coast. Would book again.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macgyver60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

We rented a 2 bedroom seaview apartment and it was really spacious. The apartment was air conditioned but when we arrived it wasn't turned on. It was 4:30 in the afternoon in the middle of January and the apartment was stifling. There were no instructions on how the ac worked and it was by luckj we figured it out. Lucky the apartment was air conditioned as the windows didn't open properly, some were even rusted shut. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and everyone had trouble sleeping. Lots of cobwebs around the windows and the main bathroom didn't have a blind, so at night no-one could shower as the bathroom faced another apartment block, lucky there was an ensuite!! The only pluses for the apartment were its proximity to the beach, it was right across the road and only a couple of blocks walk to the centre of Surfers. For the price though it defintiely isn't worth it as there were apartments available in the Q tower for the same price I paid. I defintiely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2Holiday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
#11 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berkeley on the Beach
Berkeley on the Beach
#16 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baronnet Apartments
Baronnet Apartments
#13 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Regent Apartments
Regent Apartments
#29 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorchester on the Beach
Dorchester on the Beach
#25 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Acapulco

Property: BreakFree Acapulco
Address: Acapulco Apartments 2 Thornton St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Acapulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just twenty-five metres from Surfers Paradise Beach and the Northcliffe Surf Life Saving Club, BreakFree Acapulco offers a great Gold Coast location at an affordable price. Perfectly suited to families and couples alike, the resort offers spacious, fully self-contained 1 or 2 Bedroom Ocean Suites, available in either standard or deluxe with kitchen and laundry facilities. Each apartment has a large balcony where you can sit and enjoy the incredible views. Recreational facilities include a tennis court, 2 heated swimming pools, spa, sauna, BBQ facilities and a gym. Famed as Australia's family entertainment capital, the Gold Coast offers something for everyone with fantastic beaches, shopping, dining, nightlife, adventure tours and famous theme parks including Movie World, Sea World, Wet n Wild and Dreamworld. BreakFree Acapulco is the perfect Gold Coast accommodation choice to kick back and indulge in a relaxed family holiday. Maintenance Notice As part of ongoing improvements, BreakFree Acapulco will be undertaking the replacement of the windows from 16 March until 2 June 2017. During this time there will be some noise associated with the work, with work to be carried out Monday to Friday from 8am until 4pm (emergency weekend works may be required). BreakFree Acapulco management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Acapulco Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Acapulco Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing