We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad.”
Review of BreakFree Acapulco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BreakFree Acapulco
1 review
“Not bad.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The apartment we stayed in overall was really nice. We were on the 21st floor and the view was amazing and really close to everything, but the clothes dryer we were provided with was broken, one of the speakers coming from the iPod dock was broken, the shower head from the ensuite wouldn't stay up, there were two or three little steps in the halls the you could hardly see and could easily trip over, the bathroom door had a lock but didn't work, the doors for the balconies were ridiculously stiff and hard to open, the facilities such as the pool, gym, spa etc. were locked at 9:00pm, which I found way too early, there was only one power point (right between the two heads of the single beds in the second room) and the room above us was being renovated and was loud and disturbed our stay for a lot of the time we were there.

No problems with the staff or anything else. Overall it was a nice place and I would definitely stay again! I just think there are a few things they could update but maybe not while people are staying in the apartment below.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastiannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    86
    31
    15
    11
See reviews for
125
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

If you want the Hilton go pay Hilton prices. This was clean with beautiful views and orsomely refurbished. Not new but nearly as good as for a BARGIN of a price. One very happy family here. Thanks for making our holiday orsome.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gap74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed with my partner and two kids, for one week from 25th April 2012,great deal, 2 nights free on their website. Was pleasantly surprised with our apartment . Great views, decent size rooms, especially kitchen/iving area. comfy lounge and beds.The building is situated across the road from the beach and a great little surfclub -'Northcliffe" for dining /drinks. Its a easy walking distance to Cavill mall (Surfers approx 10mins.) Acapulco has great facilities, 2 pools and spas,(indoor and outdoor) a sauna,tennis courts and lovely landscaped grounds with waterfeatures and poolside Bali-style shades and plenty of recliners .Reception staff were friendly. Great value for money! Highly recommended. will definately be back!

Room Tip: Ask for High level for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HobartRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 for 1 week, We asked for a high floor and paid the extra for a ocean room deluxe. When we arrived we checked in and got level 10, The room was very old and outdated so l went down to reception and said there must be a mistake as we paid for a deluxe room and wanted a high floor, the girl said these were the deluxe rooms but could move us onto floor 22. So we moved up to 22 but the room was still the same, very old and outdated, no aircon in the bedroom and nothing like the pictures on the hotel website....l was very disappointed with the room. When you see pictures on their website of the rooms that is what you expect... Felt like we had been scammed in a way.... On the positives the tennis court was vacant most of the time so we could have a hit any time, Location was close to the beach and a nice walk into the town centre, views were good from up high. Some more negatives were the outside pool had alot of bugs swimming in it, carparking was 1st in best dressed, no dedicated spot per room so we had a different spot every time we went out and used our car, beds are very soft and felt like they were 15 year old matresses so didnt get a full nights sleep every night, windows were very dirty and needed a good clean, kitchen was pratical but very old. Felt like we went back in time to the early 80s, cable tv had a extra 4 channels than normal tv so not much there.... Overall we wont be back unless they bring up the room standards to what is advertised on the net... We have stayed in alot nicer hotels on the gold coast for alot less money per night.... So after all that l can not recommend this hotel unless there is a very cheap and l mean cheap deal on.... Nothing like $220 a night....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Great hotel, great price. Rooms are huge and well appointed. It's a decent walk into surfers central though so make sure you're up to it if that's where you want to spend most of your time. The staff were incredibly helpful. Pools, tennis court and gym all great quality. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpaceMonky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

It was a comfortable apartment with a nice ocean view. Perfect location because it was in front of Surfers Paradise Beach and a walking distance from the stores and restaurants in Surfers Paradise. My family and I enjoyed the stay there and we will definitely go back if we travel again to The Gold Coast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marianaluzorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Positives:
Giant apartment with big rooms including bathrooms. Lots of room for a family to move around. We stayed there over Christmas and had a few people over for lunch and the living area is quite large and comfortable for a group of people to move around. The kitchen is also a lot bigger than most apartment I've stayed in.

The facilities seem to be well maintained if a bit aged and include an indoor and outdoor pool as well as tennis courts and a bbq area. Reception staff were friendly enough on check-in.

The view was amazing and the sea breezes kept us cool in the living area.

Negatives:
This place is certainly from the past. The furnishings are falling apart, one of the couches' arms seemed about to come off with enough pressure and one of the dining table chairs was broken enough that there was a jagged piece of wood sticking out and actually punctured my leg when first sitting on it.

While the apartment was not dirty per se, there was certainly an air of neglect about the place. There were actually stains on the wall that seemed to come off with no effort with a cloth.

The kitchen draws were dirty and had old food in them, it was obviously not part of the normal cleaning regime. There were also multiple carpet stains, staff had obviously decided that it might be fun for the guests to figure out what a stain might have once belonged to instead of getting the carpets cleaned.

We were concerned when booking that we would not get air conditioning as the booking website said air-con was available on request only and not guaranteed. We were lucky to get one with air-con but need not have worried as it was only in the living area and the strong breezes took care of cooling the room.

In the bedrooms we were provided with fans. Fans from the past as well. The fan in the main bedroom was always ready to fall down as one of the legs were broken and both fans were covered in rust and dirt. In the second bedroom we had a comical fan vs lamp situation as there was only one power point located between the heads of the single beds we were provided with. The cord also only stretched to about halfway down the single beds so as to cool our faces while leaving our legs sweltering. Needless to say there were some sweaty nights had by all.

We would have left had we been able to find another hotel at such short notice over Christmas that wasn't ridiculously expensive. Overall, we were more than disgusted at the state of this apartment and would never suggest that anyone stay here. I understand it's a 3 and 1/2 star hotel but when I think of the appearance of this place I would compare it to how a dingy motel is described in books. Some of the issues management won't be able to do anything about (the prehistoric age for example) unless they do some much needed renovation. Other things were just plain wrong and showed the low level of care and respect that staff have for the apartments and it's guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank latsirc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
#10 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berkeley on the Beach
Berkeley on the Beach
#17 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baronnet Apartments
Baronnet Apartments
#13 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Regent Apartments
Regent Apartments
#28 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorchester on the Beach
Dorchester on the Beach
#23 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Acapulco

Property: BreakFree Acapulco
Address: Acapulco Apartments 2 Thornton St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Acapulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just twenty-five metres from Surfers Paradise Beach and the Northcliffe Surf Life Saving Club, BreakFree Acapulco offers a great Gold Coast location at an affordable price. Perfectly suited to families and couples alike, the resort offers spacious, fully self-contained 1 or 2 Bedroom Ocean Suites, available in either standard or deluxe with kitchen and laundry facilities. Each apartment has a large balcony where you can sit and enjoy the incredible views. Recreational facilities include a tennis court, 2 heated swimming pools, spa, sauna, BBQ facilities and a gym. Famed as Australia's family entertainment capital, the Gold Coast offers something for everyone with fantastic beaches, shopping, dining, nightlife, adventure tours and famous theme parks including Movie World, Sea World, Wet n Wild and Dreamworld. BreakFree Acapulco is the perfect Gold Coast accommodation choice to kick back and indulge in a relaxed family holiday. Maintenance Notice As part of ongoing improvements, BreakFree Acapulco will be undertaking the replacement of the windows from 22 May until 18 August 2017. During this time there will be some noise associated with the work, with work to be carried out Monday to Friday from 8am until 4pm (emergency weekend works may be required). BreakFree Acapulco management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Acapulco Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Acapulco Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing