We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and great views but with apartments that are spacious and "renovator's delight".”
Review of BreakFree Acapulco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BreakFree Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good location and great views but with apartments that are spacious and "renovator's delight".”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We had booked a two bedroom apartment through Wotif. It was very spacious with two bathrooms, on a high floor and with views of the ocean, mountains and Gold Coast skylines. Unfortunately the cleanliness of the furniture, carpet in the bedrooms and especially the fridge was bad. Even worse, there was a lot of peeling and scuffed paint on the walls and doors, and rust in the microwave and on all doorframes; these looked positively awful. Some windows couldn't be closed because their mechanisms had rusted. Also a musty smell permeated the apartment.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AFekete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfreeacapulco, General Manager at BreakFree Acapulco, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear AFekete,

Thank you for taking your time to provide the feedback on your recent reservation. It disappoints me to learn of your issues that you encountered in relation to the reservation. As a 3.5 star property some of our fixtures are a few years old, however should be clean and in good working order, therefore I regret the shortcoming in service you have communicated from our Housekeeping and Maintenance departments and I will be addressing these directly. I apologies for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Kind Regards
Andrew Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    91
    32
    16
    11
See reviews for
129
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We opened the door and "WOW". A clean,spacious,2br Ocean view apartment greeted us.. The apartment had everything our family required,which made our 1st visit to the Gold Coast a memorable one.

Room Tip: Ocean views are the way to go. You might just see a whale, like we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ange24665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfreeacapulco, General Manager at BreakFree Acapulco, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear ange24665,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are always very happy to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Andrew Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The 2 bedroom apartment was very dated and rather grubby. Definately not 5 star as advertised. Was hard to say whether room had been serviced prior to our arrival other than yes there was clean linen on the beds. The slider door handles were broken and did not lock properly, the bathroom doorlock did not work and the toilet cistern took at least 5 mins to refill. The rest of the apartment looked like it needed a good clean and definately a revamp would not go amiss. Well past its use-by day for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussietraveller016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfreeacapulco, General Manager at BreakFree Acapulco, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Aussietraveller016,

Thank you for taking your time to provide the feedback on your recent reservation.

It disappoints me to learn of your issues that you encountered in relation to the stay. As a 3.5 star property some of our fixtures are a few years old, however clean and in good working order, therefore I regret the shortcoming with items mentioned you have communicated from our maintenance department and I will be addressing these directly. I apologies for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards
Andrew Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Spacious, secure, great views of the sea and river. Place was clean and tidy, although had to clear away spider webs from bathroom window. The place is nothing like the photos, a little dated but still nice and comfortable. Receptionist friendly and helpful. Way better than those cramped, dingy budget type places. For a few bucks more, very good place to stay

Room Tip: 2 bedroom ocean view room from 15th floor up, great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfreeacapulco, General Manager at BreakFree Acapulco, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Anil N,

Pleased to hear that our friendly service and spacious rooms were able to make your holiday enjoyable. I regret the presence of a spider web as mentioned in the bathroom, this has been raised with our housekeeping department for further more detailed attention.

Kind Regards
Andrew Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Very spacious apartment (2 bedroom 2 bathroom) A bit dated but clean and tidy. Only 1 power point in the second bedroom and it wasn't working. Had to pack books under one side of the fridge as an adjusting leg was missing. All in all though, considering the price, location, swimming pools, sauna, spa, views, we had a very enjoyable time. I would return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfreeacapulco, General Manager at BreakFree Acapulco, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Regards Andrew Baker
General Manager
BreakFree Acapulco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I booked a 2 bedroom, ocean views room for 3 nights at BreakFree Acapulco. The room and view was great, the staff were wonderful and helpful. It's close to the beach and Cavill Av. I really enjoyed my stay and have recommended it to a few other people also.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfreeacapulco, General Manager at BreakFree Acapulco, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards
Andrew Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold coast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at Breakfree Acapulco. Fantastic views from our room, great quality helpful service from the staff. Our room met all our expectations, we could not believe how big they were. It had a range of facilities available gym, spa, sauna, tennis court, 2 pools which we all enjoyed making the most of. Great location close to many restaurants and attractions. There was nothing that we could fault, we were more then satisfied and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stina_dancequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfreeacapulco, General Manager at BreakFree Acapulco, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear stina_dancequeen,

Wow, what a review!

Thanks for taking the time to write your review.

I hope we can welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Regards
Andrew Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.6 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
1.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Acapulco

Property: BreakFree Acapulco
Address: Acapulco Apartments 2 Thornton St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Acapulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just twenty-five metres from Surfers Paradise Beach and the Northcliffe Surf Life Saving Club, BreakFree Acapulco offers a great Gold Coast location at an affordable price. Perfectly suited to families and couples alike, the resort offers spacious, fully self-contained 1 or 2 Bedroom Ocean Suites, available in either standard or deluxe with kitchen and laundry facilities. Each apartment has a large balcony where you can sit and enjoy the incredible views. Recreational facilities include a tennis court, 2 heated swimming pools, spa, sauna, BBQ facilities and a gym. Famed as Australia's family entertainment capital, the Gold Coast offers something for everyone with fantastic beaches, shopping, dining, nightlife, adventure tours and famous theme parks including Movie World, Sea World, Wet n Wild and Dreamworld. BreakFree Acapulco is the perfect Gold Coast accommodation choice to kick back and indulge in a relaxed family holiday. Maintenance Notice As part of ongoing improvements, BreakFree Acapulco will be undertaking the replacement of the windows from 22 May until 18 August 2017. During this time there will be some noise associated with the work, with work to be carried out Monday to Friday from 8am until 4pm (emergency weekend works may be required). BreakFree Acapulco management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Acapulco Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Acapulco Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing