We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked it:)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Reviewed May 31, 2012

After my experience at another hostel in the city i was glad to find this awesome hostel the staff were awesome. the rooms were verry clean and tidy deffently recomend this place to freinds. the bar in this hostel was verry cheep and afordable. great view of Q1 and just a 10 min walk from the beach.

Room Tip: it is all awesome
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terance23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 173 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

Had a great stay at this hostel in Dec 2011, we were here for 3 nights and had a 6 bed room (there were 4 of us travelling!) Bit of a walk from the hostel to the town, but there was a bus going to and from town every 30 mins! The staff were friendly and we enjoyed the free Wifi (when it worked...!)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pinksuzie591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My partner and I spent 3 days at Surfers Paradise Backpackers over the Easter holidays. We booked into a 6-bed dorm over the phone. This hostel is in a more residential area of surfers so if you want to be in the centre then this will not be for you.

Pros:

-Lovely, quiet downstairs area with TV and full-size ping-pong table
-Own bathroom in each dorm
-Bar with great Happy Hour prices
-Friendly staff
-Pub crawls/drinking activities every night for those who want it - means it's nice and quiet for everyone who wants to sleep
-Nice pool
-Plenty of outdoor seating
-Tennis/basketball/volleyball court
-Very short walk to lifeguarded section of the beach - although this is not to the same standard as the sections of beach nearer the centre

Cons:

-Although we had booked into a 6-bed dorm they had squeezed an extra single bed into the dorm so on the first night there were 7 of us. The seventh arrived extremely drunk at 2am and turned the light on. Not a great start to our break! When we enquired at reception we were told that they are only 6-bed dorms when quiet. We would have appreciated knowing this - especially as we still paid the same! Also, the 7th bed was placed in front of the ladder for one of the bunk beds making it impossible to climb up!
-A fair walk out of the centre along a very busy road
-Although there is a mini-bus to and from town the last one is at 5pm. This is a bit frustrating as the theme parks close at 5pm so by the time you have got a bus from there to where the mini-bus picks up from, you have missed it!
-The communal toilets are locked at 9pm so anyone watching TV or socialising outsider past this time must go to their dorm to use the toilet - waking everyone up
-Only two hobs in the kitchen which worked so big queues come dinner time!

I wouldn't personally stay here again as I would rather be somewhere more central. But if you just want somewhere to crash for a few nights and are happy to travel then it will be fine!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliott86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

When I arrived I found out that I had been booked in for the wrong date but they were so helpful, the dorm was fully booked so they gave me a free upgrade to one of the little apartments. The hostel was really clean, the rooms and the bathrooms were cleaned everyday even the fridges in the kitchen were cleaned everyday. They had a nice little tv room in the garage which was used a lot as unfortunately we had rubbish weather. The staff were all really friendly and they organised nights out which seemed reasonably priced. The location was not too bad as there was a free shuttle to the centre though walking wasnt too far. I would definitely recommend this hostel as it had one of the best atmospheres and there wasn't anything bad I could say.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter2011_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I moved from another backpackers to this one, glad I did!! There is a nice atmosphere and the staff are helpful and fun

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morber85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights... I paid a bit more for me and my friend to stay in a twin room in a shared apartment (worth the money). The apartment was clean enough and had kitchen facilities etc. The beds were so uncomfortable...I don't know what sort of mattresses they have but it felt like I was sleeping on metal poles. My friends and the people sharing our apartment agreed with this point - it wasn't just me with a dodgy bed.

The pool was cool, the bar was cool, free wifi was awesome (rare to find in Aus). The staff were really friendly and the free nights out were a bonus.

It was a long walk to and from the main town but they run a complimentary bus ever hour until 5pm which was good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sb1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Decent place. Clean, good pool, cheap bar, free shuttle and wifi. Planned on staying 2 nights but stayed for a week

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kermitthe60poundfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.9 mi away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#31 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
433 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#57 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#110 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Bea...
#86 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#16 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bunk Surfers Paradise
Bunk Surfers Paradise
#62 of 354 in Gold Coast
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort

Address: 2837 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $41 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort. Cleanliness, friendly service and great value for money are qualities which have made us the destination of choice for so many travelers over the past 25 years. Fantastic and unrivaled facilities; spacious, en-suite dormitory rooms and fully contained, 2 bedroom apartments make us stand out above the others. Centrally positioned for clubbing, shopping, sporting events, cinema and restaurants. Only 150m to the beach and a local bus ride to the theme parks. We are also on the local bus route to and from Gold Coast airport and a cheap and easy trainlink ride from Brisbane. We offer a FREE pick up from the Transit Centre in Surfers Paradise. FREE WiFi 15 hours each day. FREE Sauna. FREE laundry facilities. FREE body board hire. FREE DVD or video hire. FREE Playstation 3. FREE table tennis, basketball, volleyball, badminton and tennis. Free nightly events with other backpackers in the area. Participating hostel in the famous Backpacker Big Night Out each Wednesday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing