We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think it's safer and cleaner to sleep in your car!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort
Reviewed May 25, 2009

This place is awful. Right from the start it was a bad experience.

There was a total of 5 of us staying there for the night and when we showed up we got 2 room keys (only 3 people allowed in a room). My friends and I go to one room and we find that it is already occupied, dirty dishes and clothes are thrown all over the beds. My other friends go to their room to find out a guy permanently lives there on his own. So we took our sheets and all our stuff back to the lobby and ask them to find us another room. The room was pre-paid as required so we couldn't go anywhere else. The manager found us a room but the lock was broken so he told us to put our luggage in his room while he fixed the door. This was about at 10:00am, we returned about 5pm to a room with no door knob or lock on it! We had no where else to go so reluctantly we agreed to stay there. The manager had said he would refund the cost of two people ($50 in total).

The room had a used water bottle and apple underneath the bed, I wouldn't dare use the pillows. I showered with clothes on and the dirtiest public bathroom you could find would be cleaner then the one there.

To this day I am still waiting for my refund (3 months later). I have called several times and I always got "I'll call the office that does all our returns and ask them to speed it up", that was the same response week after week. I called today and talk to someone and she claimed to be one of the managers. She told me I would have to contact the people who do the returns. I told her that was simply not [--] good enough and she hung up and would not answer another one of my calls. When I finally talked to someone else (Gary-another manager!) he told me I was not to abuse the staff again. He explained that he did not do the returns and they are under new management...again?! When we first stayed there 3 months ago they were under new management and it's happened again?! whats going on here. (Personally I think it's their excuse to have the horrible business and get away with it!). All in all they feel its fine to use and abuse the customers and have little respect for anyone but themselves.

Overall, horrible rooms, awfully rude staff, nothing but a bed to sleep on...this place is disgusting!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miss_mugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 82 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2008

Avoid this hostel if at all possible. We stayed here because we got a voucher through Wicked travel to stay here cheap. Big mistake. Sometimes you get what you pay for.

My friend and I were put into a 4 share with two older non-back packers who were basicly living out of the hostel. The room was way too small to have 4 people stay in it and the occupants were very messy. It didn't help that they both had bikes in the room. To give you an idea of how cramped it was, I gave up on trying to find a place to put my stuff and ended up just sleeping with my backpack on my bed with me.

There was an ensuite bathroom, a balcony, and a tv in the room, which sound pretty sweet at first, but not so much here. The balcony was pretty gross (filth from the room mates), and the bathroom was even worse. There wasn't even a door for the bathroom, just a curtain. That's not even mentioning the toilet that didnt flush properly...

As was mentioned in other reviews, the staff was useless (i requested a pillow and sheets, was told they would send some up, and it never happened), and the kitchen was very poor.

It definetly is a place I can look back on and laugh about, I suppose that is the silver lining, but honestly, save yourself the hassle and just don't stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ehrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCIB, Manager at Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2008

The Property has recently changed Management, Policies and proceedures have been put in place to reflect an upmarket Backpackers and the premises have been given a new lease on life, Each room is complemented with its own ensuite and balcony, we are the closest Backpackers to the beach and the closest Backpackers to surfers paradise shopping district, onsite we have a fully licensed bar, coin-op laundry and free hotspot internet for our guests, Each day provides a variation of entertainment, and our friendly helpful staff can arrange everything from tours and transfers to help finding work or simply offering all a consistant level of great service. Welcome back to the new and improved GCIB.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

The Gold Coast International Backpackers!!! Dont waste your money!!

I stayed here for two nights in a double room and it was filthy! You have to wade past the people boozing and smoking to get in the entrance. The staff are unfriendly, they get you to check the room first as they dont give refunds, on glance it looked ok, but later discovered the sheets were stained, there were big hairs in the bed and no blanket. The ensuite bathroom had no toilet paper, no lid to the toilet and it was dirty. The tv hardly worked. The kitchen was the worst part, filthy dirty, the fridge didnt work so all the food in it was rotting, $40 worth of shopping we bought went off in less than 24 hrs. The smell was overpowering nearly made me vomit several times. Do not stay here.

3  Thank sophalex_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

This place is unbelievable....NOT in a good way. We found this place on the internet - the pictures are very unaccurate to what is actually there. The time we spent there just went from bad to worse - starting with taking our own linen to our room and making our own bed - which had loose screws on either side so they creaked and didnt stay up right. Bugs everywhere.....bathroom disgusting - yellow pillows and stained sheets. This was the inital apearence of the room - there were loud parties every night - so when you wanted to go to your room you had to walk past and through the crowds of rubbish and people to be given gross and rude sexist remarks. Finding staff is amongst the drinking when we wanted to get coins changed for the washing machine. How ever it is safety that i worry about as we got robbed in our sleep with someone climbing onto our balcony and coming into our room - police werent even surprised about this - they had been called here twice THAT night already......the staff not even apologetic about this at all!!!! Something is not right here - clearly its happened before and likely to happen again. Please take care when looking for accomodation......this is definetly one to avoid!!!

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank filidelphio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2007

There are some places you stay which become places that you look back on and laugh, however are not the least bit funny at the time. The Gold Coast International Backpackers Resort was quite comfortably the worst place I have ever had the misfortune to stay in.

Firstly, our room was awful. It was completely empty bar a terrible bed and a tiny wooden box which fell apart if you put a set of keys on it. It was also completely filthy. There was dust everywhere and the pillowcases were brown (they were meant to be white). The worst thing however was the smell. If you left the room for ten minutes when you walked back in the stench hit you hard. It reeked of damp and was so bad we couldn't bear to shut the balcony door. We complained about this and the man on reception said there was nothing he could do but he would bring us a can of air freshener. He didn't.

I was also woken up one night by a cockroach crawling across my bed.

So that is the room. The rest of the hostel was equally bad. The entire place was filthy and the kitchen was unbeleivable. The bins were not emptied the entire time we were there. Putting anything in them was an art in balance. The fridge was full of gone off food and you had to hunt high and low for every piece of crockery you might want.

The staff were also terrible. It felt like I was staying in a place run by school kids. No one was ever around and when they were they were sitting around drinking and offering no useful service whatsoever. We almost missed our bus on the day we checked out because the man on reception turned up 15 minutes late to open up.

It was not even cheap. How on earth places like this can charge people money to stay in them is beyond me. I would pay good money never to set foot in the place again. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! This is not a made up review - it really was that bad.

You have been warned.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank tdm103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Auckland, New Zealand
13
Reviewed October 30, 2005

We emailed them months before travelling to book a room, and confirmed again with them a couple of weeks before leaving. However, when we arrived they had no record of our booking and had no available rooms, and because our plane arrived at 11pm and it was busy season we couldn't find anywhere else to stay that night. When I went back there the next day to speak to the manager who had been emailing me, he didn't remember my emails and didn't care that our booking had been lost and that we were left without accommodation. I also asked him to make sure my credit card wasn't charged for the deposit/stay as I had emailed him my credit card details and just wasn't interested. No apologies and very rude!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2005

This hostel is very average. The staff were nice which was good, but the linen we were given was dirty and stained and the rooms were extremely small and dirty. The door to our bathroom was broken so we had to go to the toilet infront of each other, and things were stolen out of our room. It is in an excellent spot, really close to the beach but i would not recommend anyone to stay here.

The kitchen was disgusting, it smelled totally rank so we didnt cook any food in there at all. It was cheap, which was good, but it still wasnt worth what we paid for it. the rooms were so small we had to put our suitcases under the bed because there was nowhere else to put them. The window from the bathroom opens out to the balcony of the room nextdoor, so people could see into our shower as wel...

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kittykat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.2 mi away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#72 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#17 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
502 reviews
2.6 mi away
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Bea...
#80 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bunk Surfers Paradise
Bunk Surfers Paradise
#58 of 368 in Gold Coast
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#110 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#58 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort

Address: 28 Hamilton Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $23 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, have a beer and play a friendly game of pool, watch the game on our large plasma TV or party it up with other backpackers in our fully licensed bar. Our friendly and fun staff will make sure you enjoy your stay on the Gold Coast with special activity nights, such as bbq's, pool competitions, drink specials and more. At Gold Coast International Backpackers it's Happy Hour every night so you can make new friends and save some money before going out to the clubs!!On site we have a fully licensed bar, secure underground parking, a fully equipped self-serve kitchen,self serve laundry facilities, a large bbq area, free pool, a comfy lounge area, darts, cheap internet, free Wi-Fi, and a free booking service for all the major theme parks.ALSO the bonus of having YOUR OWN PRIVATE ENSUITES AND BALCONY in every room with a max per room of only 4 people. Very female friendly!Accommodation InformationIf you are looking to meet great people and create great memories then this is the place to be! At the Gold Coast International Backpackers we will make your stay one to remember!Amenities:Free Wi-Fi no limitsTowels for Hire / SaleFree Pool TableBBQFully Equipped kitchenLinen IncludedCommon RoomFree ParkingTours/Travel deskLicensed BarOutdoor TerraceEvent NightsReception Open from 7:00am to 10:30pm*ALL GUESTS MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER**At time of check-in all guests must present an International Passport and a valid credit card.***Please note we do not accept schoolies, any schoolies bookings made will not be honoured and may not be subject to a refund.**We will be closed on Christmas day and New Years Day therefore will not be able to accept any check-ins / outs on these days. Please do not book these days as we will not be able to honour them.WE HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON!LIKE US ON FACEBOOK! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast International Backpacker Hotel Surfers Paradise
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing