We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Little Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort
Nailsworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had a fantastic time staying at this hostel. Had our own bathroom for a 3 bed dorm and a little balcony. The room was nice and clean, the staff were really friendly, there is an oven (which is a luxury for back packers), a decent size freezer, a free pool table, free wifi and cheap drinks!! Would recommend to anyone trasvelling to surfers!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC4217, Manager at Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
UNDER NEW MANAGMENT!

Gold Coast International Backpackers is under new management and our team is actioning all the feedback from you and your fellow backpackers.

We have engaged professional cleaners and maintenance contractors that have addressed presentation, maintenance repairs and cleanliness issues.

Our new friendly staff are awaiting to help you make the most out of your stay. We are on hand with information about travel, transport, tourist attractions, local amenities and much more.

Check in is now quick and simple and there are no longer any unfair cash bonds required.

We have plans in motion to make improvements to the common areas and facilities and look forward to seeing you on your travelling adventure!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    14
    5
    26
See reviews for
4
14
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Worst hostel so far on my travelling!

My friend and I arrived, check in was awful, had to wait 10mins for the Trainee to open the check in page!! Informed we had to pay a $20 key deposit never mentioned anywere when we booked!!
Took 30mins to check in by the time went to an ATM and they took copies of passports!!
Another receptionist was too busy playing pool to help then cleared off outside for a cigarette!!
Then witness some guest trying to steal someone elses ipod!! the receptionist was swearng too!!Great Strart

Arrived up to the room, no room for 4 suitcases in a 4Bed Dorm, the light was broken in Bathroom so coudnt have a proper shower! It felt dirty with mould on tiles and a shower curtain so old and mouldy. There was only one plug above the bathroom door, so it had a dodgy adapter hanging down from it, so if you wanted to charge your phone your charge hung from it along with you phone!! There was no aircon just a dodgy fan that turned itself off every 10mins.

No one wanted to help sort out trips to theme parks, no help on buses!! total disgrace!!

I have been travelling for 2months and worst experience ever!! Needs a refurb for def

Room Tip: dont stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emmajane6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC4217, Manager at Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hi Emma,

We appreciate your feedback.

First of all I'm sure you've started a new job at some point in your life and understand when your still learning you tend to be a bit slower. I think a bit of compassion could have been undertaken on your behalf as the receptionist was very friendly to you and was trying his best to help but you got very angry at him and you were quite rude which was uneccesary. As for the "other receptionist" we only have 1 receptionist on duty at a time however all of my staff also live on site. The receptionist you are referring to was not rostered on (it was his day off) He is entitled to play as much pool and smoke as many cigarettes as he'd like on his day off!

As was explained to you on check in we take a $20.00 Key deposit (it states this on every website in which we are listed) the reason we take this deposit is, as you can understand, to ensure we get the key back on check-out and also to make sure everyone follows our rules. Nearly all hostels do the same thing.

Second of all, we scan everyones passport for the safety of all our guests. In the event of a fire or emergency this way we can identify you if you are missing. By the looks of the security camera, it took you 30 mins to take money out from the ATM. Your actual check-in was only 10 mins maximum.

Third of all we had a incident where a guest found an ipod in the morning and handed it in to myself, I then put it away to find the owner of the ipod. The guy that came up to reception was the same person who handed it in and was attempting to steal it! My receptionist did the right thing and kicked this guest out as we do not tolerate stealing at all and take the safety of our guests very seriously) The actual owner of the ipod was found and it was returned to them safely.

When you checked into the 4 bed dorm I understand the bathroom light bulb had burned out since my cleaners had been in the room. Please understand that light bulbs don't last forever and sometimes they fizz out unexpectedly. As soon as we were told about it we quickly sent someone up to fix it. This is the same person you accused of stealing your phone charger the next morning as you can remember, which according to your friend, was found in your bag later on (without an apology to us I might add!)

We do not advertise we have air conditioning on any of our websites. All websites state we have fans and had you told us the fan was not working properly we would have replaced it for you straight away as we did the light bulb. As you can understand if nobody lets us know there's a problem, then how can we fix it?

Had you asked any of staff about theme park tickets we would have been more than happy to help you out, we also have a helpful bus timetable book which we help people with all the time. We can't help you with theme park tickets and bus timetables if you don't ask us first!!!

Next time I hope you can speak with staff about your concerns before writing such a negative review.

Best of luck in your travels

Kind Regards,
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights and we'd definitely have stayed for longer. The location was great, just a 5 minute walk to the beach. The wifi was free! The staff where really friendly and happy to help with anything we needed; even getting up at 5.45am to let us check out early as we were off to do a sky dive. The owner would also pop in and leave bread and biscuits etc for us which along with the free tea and coffee was a nice touch. The atmosphere was really welcoming and we were more than happy to spend an evening chilling in the hostel especially on BBQ night!
The only thing I would say was that the room was a little bit too small for three people to share and supposedly the steam from the shower was prone to setting off the fire alarm so we had to keep the fan on and make sure we shut the bathroom door after using it but saying that it was clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlywilliams83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

one of the managers / reception staff was rude (I greeted him in the morning but he just walked away). one of my friends asked about transportation to the airport, what she got in response was "see there. see there" (pointing at a map). No fan in the bathroom, so never got a nice shower and stream went direct to the bedroom... nowhere for hanging a single piece of clothes... oh i even couldn't hang my towel in the bathroom. toilet in my room wasn't cleaned for at least 3 days. Public areas were clean and well maintained though. wifi free for 2 days and only accessible on the G/F. the only things I appreciated were 1. balcony 2. free pool table and 3. cupcakes made by a lady (probably a cleaner who worked there). stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the International Backpackers for one night on the V8 Car Racing weekend. We booked quite late and this was one of the few places available in Surfers. We knew we wouldn’t spend too much time at the hostel, so we didn’t care too much about the quality, what was more important for us was the location. The location is really great, about 10 minutes of walk from the very centre of Surfers, and a minute walk from the beach. Overall, we liked the other aspects of the hostel too – it has a licensed bar with very reasonable prices, which is a good thing as it keeps away the heaviest partying crowd on a budget (no BYO is allowed). We were also surprised that we got a room with a private bathroom (somehow we expected to be sharing). The negative things included lack of any furniture in the room (apart from a chair), the fact that the room wasn’t as clean as it could be (sand on the floor) and – most importantly – very thin walls, which means that you hear everybody coming back from their parties. Even though you probably don’t get the worst crowd there, we were still woken up several times at night, with people shouting, banging on other people’s doors etc. Considering that we paid $90 for a double (mind you – the price was higher given the special event weekend), you can probably get a better deal for a very similar price. All in all, OK for one or two nights but definitely worth having a look at other options in a similar price bracket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julita_i_Wojtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at GCIB 4 nights. Location was the best. 5 mins walk to the beach. 5mins away for food and another 7 mins to Cavill Ave where shopping was awesome. Room size was fine as we spent most of our time outside so it doesnt matter. Bed was good but try checking out under the bed as you might find hidden treasure left by the previous guest :) Toilet needed more cleaning but its alright. Water heater working perfectly fine especially it was winter at that time. Lounge area is nice. Lots of couch and outdoor seats with pool table, bbq area and kitchen. Best of all.. FREE WIFI. The only downside about GCIB, if only the younger male staff who was there most of the time could be more helpful. We are quite afraid to ask much question to him cos he make it look like we are being annoying. Other than that, we enjoy our stay and definately come back to GC!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dayah-ayiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Surfers International
Surfers International
#81 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast
Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast
#92 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers
Aquarius Backpackers
#39 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#17 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
#58 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#69 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort

Property: Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort
Address: 28 Hamilton Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, have a beer and play a friendly game of pool, watch the game on our large plasma TV or party it up with other backpackers in our fully licensed bar. Our friendly and fun staff will make sure you enjoy your stay on the Gold Coast with special activity nights, such as bbq's, pool competitions, drink specials and more. At Gold Coast International Backpackers it's Happy Hour every night so you can make new friends and save some money before going out to the clubs!!On site we have a fully licensed bar, secure underground parking, a fully equipped self-serve kitchen,self serve laundry facilities, a large bbq area, free pool, a comfy lounge area, darts, cheap internet, free Wi-Fi, and a free booking service for all the major theme parks.ALSO the bonus of having YOUR OWN PRIVATE ENSUITES AND BALCONY in every room with a max per room of only 4 people. Very female friendly!Accommodation InformationIf you are looking to meet great people and create great memories then this is the place to be! At the Gold Coast International Backpackers we will make your stay one to remember!Amenities:Free Wi-Fi no limitsTowels for Hire / SaleFree Pool TableBBQFully Equipped kitchenLinen IncludedCommon RoomFree ParkingTours/Travel deskLicensed BarOutdoor TerraceEvent NightsReception Open from 7:00am to 10:30pm*ALL GUESTS MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER**At time of check-in all guests must present an International Passport and a valid credit card.***Please note we do not accept schoolies, any schoolies bookings made will not be honoured and may not be subject to a refund.**We will be closed on Christmas day and New Years Day therefore will not be able to accept any check-ins / outs on these days. Please do not book these days as we will not be able to honour them.WE HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON!LIKE US ON FACEBOOK! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast International Backpacker Hotel Surfers Paradise
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing