We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel but in the middle of knowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hostel but in the middle of knowhere”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This hostel is good. Nice and clean etc. But it's about a 40 minute walk into town. For this reason, I would not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyB1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
5
16
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Excellent YHA Hostel. They had a dog in reception which was warming too!

Very posh location on the marina, far out fromt he city centre but free shuttle bus there and back! beach is across the road - fantastic!!

I do believe if i remember correctly it was next to the VERSACE HOTEL!!!

Staff very friendly! Cannot complain!! Excellent!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicew08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

This was my very first experience of a hostel,i had a great time.
The rooms were basic but what more do you want!
The staff were friendly and helpful and the little bus is always about when you need it,the pub is a stones throw away and the staff there were cool too!
I wish i was there right now!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clara23clara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

The best facilities of any of the hostels I stayed in during my trip to Australia. Clean, modern rooms and kitchen, near to the beach and the Fisherman's Tavern (great pub). Staff are friendly and quite helpful, and there's a complimentary shuttle bus and a public bus that stops outside. Only real drawback is the lack of a supermarket in the shopping centre nearby (there is however a very small convenience store there).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikecoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The Surfers Paradise YHA is a bit out of the main area of Sufers but this is a good thing.
Its over some shops in a small shopping centre/marina on the road to Sea World.
Not the sort of place you normally find a YHA - there are several expensive hotels almost next door & an up market shopping centre ( if you don't count the Macdonalds )

The whole place has a slightly older feel to it but in a relaxed way. The staff are friendly & helpful. Only real problem i had was the hot water running out a couple of mornings so I don't know how they go in the busy season.

The bus from the train station ( from brisbane ) stops right outside but first it takes the long way via southport & a few other suburbs to get there.

The hostel is about a 20 minute walk from the main part of surfers but its a nice walk along the beach paths & there are also buses that run into surfers & all the way to pacific fair.

The wharf bar behind the hostel on the marina has meal deals a few nights a week & the hostel also puts on a wine & cheese get together during the week.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timthetraveller_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Stayed at YHA Surfers Paradise on 21 April to 24 April. Can't forget Ms Tamaran's (YHA staff) smilling face and warm welcome, A small backpacker hostel as compared with others YHA hostels, but it has everything you need, for sure you will enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuen80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

This was the third YHA we stayed in during our visit to Oz and we were greeted by a courtesy bus to pick us up from the greyhound stop. If we hadn't been we certainly wouldn't have gone there because it is so far out of town. This makes it not an ideal choice unless you prefer the marina environment. As for the YHA itself, the staff are helpful and the site is very secure. The rooms are a bit tight but well cleaned. The shower area is strangely sited near the kitchen end of the hostel and the kithcen gets rather busy and congested.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckoDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
3.3 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#35 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
172 reviews
1.7 mi away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#57 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
247 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#39 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#18 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
475 reviews
1.8 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#62 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers
Aquarius Backpackers
#46 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach

Property: Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
Address: Mariners Cove, 70 Seaworld Drive, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something for every backpacker at Surfers Paradise YHA hostel; white sandy beaches, 24 hour shopping, theme parks (Seaworld down the road) and national parks, adrenalin kicks on the ground, in the air and underwater, city sights and rainforest hinterland. Surfers Paradise is all about action, excitement and adventure! The YHA Travel desk at reception offers a wide range of activities and tours. There is also a free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Yha At Main Beach Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise YHA At Main Beach Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing