We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Messed up in "Paradise"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Backpackers In Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2007

They first got their bookings all messed up and put us into a 8-bed dorm instead of a 4-bed as promised (I actually paid for booking in advance and got my receipt in printing before arival).
Toilet looks run down and at one part of the dorm there were no fan or air conditioner. Kitchen is quite narrow.
If they could get things sorted out properly and put a proper system to organise their bookings perhaps it might help them improve.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank penyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 512 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2007

This is the worst hostel both in terms of checking in and the cleaniness of the property. Firstly they had all our details incorrect about our stay, they tried to put is into a dorm room which was dirty and smelled. When we complained they refused to refund us are monies already paid, but we did not stay, luckily we had some funds to move to another place but not everyone is fortunate enough to do this. Please also check out others peoples comments on the YHA website under customer ratings. dont just look at over all go into the customer reviews and read the comments. This place should not be affilated with the YHA as it lets them down!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stacey6680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Rocío Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Fernanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#28 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunk Surfers Paradise
Bunk Surfers Paradise
#55 of 368 in Gold Coast
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#106 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
365 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers
Aquarius Backpackers
#37 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#67 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers In Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers In Paradise

Address: 40 Peninsular Dr, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $37 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backpackers In Paradise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers in Paradise is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise close to the beaches, night life, shopping and only 100 metres walk from the Bus Terminal. We offer travellers a fun and inviting place to stay in the perfect location to see and do everything the Gold Coast has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Backpackers In Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers In Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing