We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Backpackers In Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This backpacker is located right next to the center of Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, which is appreciable. We were 3 of us in a 4-share dorm, but someone was already "living" in the dorm and let us know...we can't really blame the backpacker for this. Nonetheless, the private bathroom was okay, not a 5* one but sufficient for the one night we spent in Gold Coast, with a shower, a sink and toilet.
The common kitchen has everything you need and the people know that they have to clean their dishes so the place is clean at all times and plates and cutlery are always avalaible.
The sheets were fine, but you have to give a 10$ deposit for each blanket you want (we were there in July, so it was needed).
The backpacker organises events pretty much all nights of the week, we were there on a tuesday, this was beer-pong night ;)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank menthe-a-low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hi there menthe-a-low,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a response.
We would of been happy to have put you in to your own room if this had been requested.
The deposit for a blanket is refunded the following day when it is bought back.
All rooms & bathrooms are cleaned everyday.
We appreciate all feedback as this helps me better my product.
Happy & safe Travelling
Regards
Markus Warren
Backpackers In Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 502 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

it was little bit lacking in the cleanliness department - there were roaches in the curtains?!

the backpacker's nights out and every night specials at the bar/out into town was good.

location is within walking distance to most amenities/necessities and very close to bus stops to get to the theme parks/shopping areas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanthini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Hi Nanthini_Stephanie,
Firtsly i would like to thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hostel as all feed back helps me better our product. All rooms in our hostel are cleaned daily so im sorry you did not find the cleanliness to a good standard i will be having a meeting with all my cleaners. We have pest control done at the hostel regularly as all properties on the gold coast will see cock roaches during the wet months so we keep on top of this. Im sorry if you found a cock roach in your room but it would have flown in the window.

Again thank you for your review and we hope if you travel back to Surfers Paradise you will give us another chance to better your experiance with us.

Kind regards
Markus Warren
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was the ideal place for me to stay, so ideal, I stayed there twice!

The place is easy to find, close to the beach and town centre, clean and cheap.

The staff are great and it wouldn't really be fair to single anyone out. The cleaners do a good job, as does Dave the barman, Dan will have you playing Beerpong or pool or have signed you up for a barbie before you know it and Alex will help you get cracking deals on either onwards accomodation or trips and activities. The hostel has a rammed social calendar and get good concessions with the clubs in town.

You WILL have a good time here.

Room Tip: If your budget will allow, try and get in a 4 bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hi kevin,

We love to read our guests had a good time while staying here with us.
We appreciate all feed back & thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Regards
Markus Warren
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We are two danish guys that have stayed at backpackers in paradise for 3 nights and it has defiently been the best place so fare. We have been in Australia for 3 weeks so it says a lot.
The service was exellent! Partys every night and the staff made speciel events with forexample a beerpong tournament, a flipcup drinking game etc.
Furthermore the staff helped us with good advice to find entertainment during the day.
So if you like party and good entertainment, then we would defientley recommend Backerpacker in paradise.
A speciel thank to Alex that was really helpfull!

Cheers

Emil and Martin - danish dynamite

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hi Martin,
We love to read our guests had a good time while staying here with us.We appreciate all feed back & thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Regards
Markus Warren
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

It's still a backpackers hostel so don't expect luxury, but it's clean, there's always something going on at night, cheap drinks at the bar, swimming pool, kitchen and a communal open space where to chill out and meet other backpackers sharing a drink.
There's just one thing that i think it should be fixed.. They don't have a storage room for luggage, not a proper one at least (there's a corner in the pool tables room with a sign that says 'luggage storage' but anyone can access that room so it doesn't feel 100% safe) but I would definitely go back there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aeliss_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Hi aeliss,
Thank you so much for leaving a response. Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

We appreciate all feed back & thank you for the time you took to do so. I will be looking into other options for lugage storage. We do offer all our guest a chance to put any valuables in our safe.

Again a big thank you from all the Backpackers in Paradise crew and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Markus Warren
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

very very freidnly staff who are always up for a laugh and trying to get you involved in beerpong or pool tornements... there is a lovely looking pool, fairly clean kitchen, all day bar, pool tables cinema etc... we had an awesome time as everyone just wanted to hang out and chat with a drink, alex at reception helped us book skydiving and dreamworld and our next hostel and found us a few wicked deals... marcus the manager upgraded our room on arrival and luke the butler (not actually a butler) helped us carry our bags upstairs... great place and great service.

Room Tip: all rooms have ensuites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 446jenniferb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Hi Girls,
A big big thank you for your review i knew from the second you girls checked in you were going to have fun. If you guys get a chance to leave some photos of your skydive on our face book we would love to see them .

Again from myself and all the backpackers in paradise staff thank you for your awesome review and if you are coming back this way we would love to see you.

Kind regards
Markus the Manager :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Made sooo many friends there! Went parting with them for a brilliant price package that included drinks that was organised by the venue..it worked out to be a massive saving and a gr8 night out! We stayed in a few nights, played ping pong, pool and drinking games also we all pitched in 5dollars each for BBQ food! The staff are Awesome and make it a fun place to stay. Definitely a thumbs up from me :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popsacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Hi Popsacal,
Thank you so much for your review it is great to get good feed back from our customers. We would love to have you stay with us again and we will keep the drinks on ice for you :) Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review.

Kind regards
Markus
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunk Surfers Paradise
Bunk Surfers Paradise
#58 of 368 in Gold Coast
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#110 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#34 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
448 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers
Aquarius Backpackers
#41 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#38 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers In Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers In Paradise

Address: 40 Peninsular Dr, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $20 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backpackers In Paradise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers in Paradise is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise close to the beaches, night life, shopping and only 100 metres walk from the Bus Terminal. We offer travellers a fun and inviting place to stay in the perfect location to see and do everything the Gold Coast has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Backpackers In Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers In Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing