We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightlife to the max!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Backpackers In Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2012

At first me and my travelbuddy wanted to stay for 3 nights with the "3 night deal", a package that offers a good price for your accomodation plus a Big Night Out, with which you see most of the nightlife of Surfers and you get a lot of free drinks. In the end we booked another week in this nice hostel with great 4 bedroom rooms. The beds were comfy and the showers clean, with actual hot water which not all of the hostels possess in Ozzie.

I recommend this hostel for every backpacker who wants to have a good time and amazing nights out!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer some chairs to sit on plus a table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Hi there Tony,

Thank you very much for your review.

I appreciate all feedback & thank you for you time.

Kind Regards
Markus Warren
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 506 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

I don't even know where to start! The bathroom was vile! Shared between two rooms (16 people) it was not just dirty but actually thick with grime in the corners of the shower and around the tiles. When the bathrooms where cleaned there was still hair and dirt on the floor and around the sink. Everyone showered in their flip flops and wouldn't even put their towel on the floor as it was so dirty! Oh and the toilet didn't flush properly so the smell was awful. There were many cockroaches in the room and the kitchen one wass sn in the sink. The kitchen is bareable however the fridges need a good clean! The matrass was so thin you could feel the bed frame which wouldn't usually be a massive issue however just added to the whole horrendous experience! The service from the female staff is shocking you ask for a pan and they look at you like your inconvenienceing them- very unfriendly, never even say hello. It wasnt even a cheap hostel and $28 a night for a ten bed dorm! Definitely would not recommend this to anyone and ba e already warned other travellers to avoid this hostel! I will upload some pictures so take a look and see for yourself!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Hi There Katie,

I was very suprised to read your comment as all rooms & bathroms are cleaned everyday.
I can only apologise for your bad experiance with us here at Backpackers In Paradise.
You would have been in the 10 bed dorm with the shared bathroom with the conjoing 4 bed dorm. The problems you have outlined in your review could of been dealt with here with myself if you had come & seen me. I would of been happy to have offered you an up grade & been able to ensure that the problems were dealt with immediately. Cleaning Staff have been spoken to & the problems with the bathrooms that you have outlined have now been adressed. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

I appreciate all feed back

Regards

Markus Warren
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Had a trouble free and fun time here, great location, helpful staff and great deals got my trip off to a great start.\
Hot showers, comfy beds, clean rooms

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murky1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Hi there Murky1979,

Thank you very much for your review.

I appreciate all feedback & thank you for you time.

Kind Regards
Markus Warren
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I only intended staying for around 3 nights and ended up staying for 2 weeks longer.
All staff were friendly and helpful and made it a great place to stay. The atmosphere was really good, chilled out in the daytime and at night there were good deals for going out to clubs every night of the week.
The room i was in was fine and was cleaned daily.
I'd definitley recommend backpackers in paradise to anyone who is looking for a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martynjones89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Hi Martyn
Thank you for your review on Backpackers in Paradise.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable with your room.
We do our best to have a laid back, fun, party atmosphere & with our 7 day nightclub deals and free entertainment around the hostel there's something there for everyone.
We appreciate your time and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around Australia and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Markus Warren
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and I was in a 14 bed dorm, i was'nt looking forward to the 14 beds but the room was good and I really didnt feel like there were 13 other people which was such a relief. This hostel is in a great location and doesnt take long to get to the beach or the centre, its a very easy quick walk! The Hostel is very fun and active, there is a great cinema room which was perfect as it was pouring with rain and so watching films on a big screen made my day! The kitchen is well looked after, there is a lot of social areas and its a spacious area.The staff are very efficient and friendly, there is lots of entertainment so you are never bored at night time but if you are looking to sleep you can easily get to sleep as its not noisy. I met some great people here and am so pleased that I came here. I would definately reccomend this hostel. Value for money it was perfect. The only thing I would say is that the safety could be improved slightly though you can buy locks if you wish to. Really good place, clean,happy and fun!

Room Tip: Dont worry about the 14 bed dorms they are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Hi Sophie
Thank you for your review on Backpackers in Paradise.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable with your room.
We appreciate your review and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around Australia.
Kind regards
Markus Warren
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is probably the best hostel in which I've ever stayed. It is clean, has great facilities, and boasts the friendliest staff. provided excellent advice relating to booking activities and do absolutely everything to ensure that the guests are having the best possible experience. i also loved the big night outs they do had a blast was so much fun would stay here again. best location to 5 min walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean255111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Hi Sean
Thank you for your review on Backpackers in Paradise.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable with your room.
We appreciate your time and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around Australia.
Kind regards
Markus Warren
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

i stayed at this hostel for 1 week and really enjoyed it, the staff were really friendly and couldnt do enough for us. the rooms were cleaned every morning also.there was lots of entertainment within the hostel and the best night was a wednesday or a saturday were they held there big night out was such a good way to meet people around the hostel an get to no the staff. i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to have a good time :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Hi Emma,
Thank you for your review on Backpackers in Paradise.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable with your room.
We do our best to have a laid back, fun, party atmosphere & with our 7 day nightclub deals and free entertainment around the hostel there's something there for everyone.
We appreciate your time and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around Australia and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Markus Warren
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#110 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#33 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bunk Surfers Paradise
Bunk Surfers Paradise
#56 of 369 in Gold Coast
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#37 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
176 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers
Aquarius Backpackers
#41 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers In Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers In Paradise

Address: 40 Peninsular Dr, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $42 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backpackers In Paradise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers in Paradise is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise close to the beaches, night life, shopping and only 100 metres walk from the Bus Terminal. We offer travellers a fun and inviting place to stay in the perfect location to see and do everything the Gold Coast has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Backpackers In Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers In Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing