We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother - find somewhere decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't bother - find somewhere decent”
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Well - I read some of the reviews on here before we went....and wouldn't you believe it, arrived, walked in the room only to see iron burns on the carpet! My heart sank. Other than that the room seemed OK - a bit on the small side for a 4 and a half star joint, and I had to ask reception for chairs for the balcony but, twas OK.

Woke up next morning to the delightful stench of cigarette smoke - yep, sign as you get off the lift says its a non-smoking floor. A word with reception and they claimed all evidence to the contrary it was a smoking floor and we should have specified non-smoking when we booked (when and where that was an option I don't know) I asked why they didn't have ashtrays in the rooms then if it was smoking and she laughed. They did offer to move us but the wife was settled and we had a good view etc - besides surely smokers should be relocated to a smoking floor? Or told to sod off. This might also explain the two false fire alarms we had over our stay.
Bottom line if they sort out the smokers, and get a realistic star rating it's an OK place. Four and a half stars suggests some standards they just don't seem to be interested in maintaining and facilities they don't have (waste bins in rooms, soap trays in showers, unburnt carpets, drawers for clothes etc) so expectations are higher and dashed leaving a much worse impression

In general there are plenty of other options in Surfers, why go here?

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sweatyorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    306
    179
    95
    72
See reviews for
217
351
47
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

on arrival the pool heater was broken (they said it happened the day before) Still cold a week later when we left. Reception staff where helpful but the room servicing was terrible, and when I complained to the duty manager all he could say was "I don't know whats going on with them, they are getting worse". Not my problem, he should have fixed it, we had a 4 bed room and started with 4 towels and 2 flannels, the next day 3 and 1, then 2 and 0 the following day only 2 towels again and no toilet paper. room was not vacuumed once while we where there as evidenced by red fluff on the carpet when we arrived which hadn't moved when we left.
Great restaurant with excellent staff (pity that what the best thing about the place).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave067NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

I booked this hotel as a secret hotel deal on Wot if as 4.5 Star for $80 per night, 1 bedroom apartment.
I was expecting much more for 4.5 Star as I had no idea what we booked, however I would rate it true 3-3.5 Star as it is in need of a MAJOR REFURB! Very old furnishings.
We were upgraded to the highest floor apartment, level 7 facing east - this had nice ocean views.

I read the majority of these reviews on here before we left and was REALLY STRESSED I had wasted my money.
Although we were only going for a weekend, so I did not expect much once I read these reviews and did not stay in the room for much of the time.

On check in, this was the smoothest I have EVER encountered in all Australian hotels. Many hotels have double charged me on check-in blocking my card for multiple room nights.
Here it was just a $1.00 charge to my credit card to check it and that was it!
I was offered $15 per person breakfast vouchers, which we opted against - as we had a car and went to McDonald's in Surfers instead.

Sure, there were iron marks on the carpet and the fridge did really smell - so I would not recommend using this full time for perishables (it is fine to store alcohol/drinks).

Other than this, the staff in the hotel are really lovely, will do anything to accommodate your needs.
Our room was cleaned and soaps/sheets/towels replaced daily - there was even a fold out sofa in the apartment if we wanted to have guests stay too!

Plenty of street parking and underground car park (gets quite full at night - so get in early as no dedicated spots for guests).
Close enough to Surfers, 5 minute drive / 15 minute walk.

I would not pay more than $90 per night for this old school style apartment.
For the hotel, I would stay again if I was looking for a quick super budget stay - by NO MEANS A LUXURY holiday where you stay at the hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Like another reviewer, we booked this as a 'Mystery Hotel' on Wotif.com $80 a night (if you see a Mystery "4.5 star" Hotel for $80 in Surfers Paradise, it WILL be the Sovereign). We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the ground floor. Yes, the decor was very old, as was the furniture and appliances. Yes, the carpet was old and had extensive patchwork and other damage. Yes, there was a 'stale' scent in our room but I think that was because the room was right next to the pool and restaurant and the doors were probably always closed to keep out the noise. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The bedroom was very comfortable and spacious but was very tired in its presentation. The only annoyance I had was the amount of noise one could hear from the hallway. Given the clientele that $80 a night attracts, it did get somewhat loud in the evening. Fortunately the bedroom had sliding doors that did block out excess sound. But the one thing that I was most impressed with was how incredibly clean the room was. I couldn't find any fault in any area (and I did go looking...). Overall, it is very basic, but for $80 (cheaper than a motel after all), I couldn't complain. It's not for everyone, and it definitely isn't 4.5 star, but if you want to stay here, look for it on Wotif.com.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steele_Wiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2009

My boyfriend and i decided to go away as a spur of the moment thing and got the wotif.com special wot deal for $80 for the night. Once we got it and read these reviews we were really not happy. We went anyway because we had paid but i was expecting some sort of dead body filled room.
Once we got there, the staff at the reception were really nice. Got up to our room (which was number 803 in the North Tower, for the record) and no, there were no dead bodies.

For $80 a night this was a good value, though I would not pay much more than $90.
Sure there are stains on the carpet and old tvs, best way to describe it is that its sort of like a beach villa styled in the 90's.
It does have cable which is always fun, it IS clean and it is really close to surfers. A good place for schoolies..

I can understand why people dont like it if they are expecting 4.5 star hotel, but it has that rating because it has a pool, spa, sauna, restaraunt (and if you do stay, definatly get the $15 buffet breakfast because its champion)

All in all, if you can get it at a cheap price and dont mind slightly outdated stuff then go for it, if youre a snob then go somewhere else and quit your whinging.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meels_nodeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mapleton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Without a doubt this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Spa broken, pool murky, damp musty smell lingering in the hallways. Rooms are large but old, outdated, worn out carpet, light fixtures were broken, room facilities poor. We were very disappointed with our stay and will not stay again. Do yourselves a favour and give it a miss.

  • Liked — Nothin
  • Disliked — All of it
  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Booked this hotel for a 4 night stay under the premise of it being 4 1/2 star accomodation, wow what a joke. Cane furniture in 2009 is not 4 1/2 star. Old school tube tv's in 2009 are not 41/2 star nor are stained carpet filthy spa's freezing cold pools missing light fittings peeling paint holes in walls and dirty sheets. I am not a review writer normally so for me to be on here says something. I demanded a new room to which he obligded and upgraded us to a 1 bedroom apartment with a kitchen. Still not up to our standard so we booked a room at meriton apartments in broadbeach (which is a much nicer part of the coast than surfers) for 89 a night, absolutly beautiful 5 star self contained unit. Don't listen to the good reviews on this hotel they would be from staff trying to keep there hotel busy and therefore keep there jobs! DON'T STAY HERE DON'T STAY HERE DON'T STAY HERE DON'T STAY HERE DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnycjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#15 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing