We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, tired but OK.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old, tired but OK.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

Like another reviewer, we booked this as a 'Mystery Hotel' on Wotif.com $80 a night (if you see a Mystery "4.5 star" Hotel for $80 in Surfers Paradise, it WILL be the Sovereign). We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the ground floor. Yes, the decor was very old, as was the furniture and appliances. Yes, the carpet was old and had extensive patchwork and other damage. Yes, there was a 'stale' scent in our room but I think that was because the room was right next to the pool and restaurant and the doors were probably always closed to keep out the noise. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The bedroom was very comfortable and spacious but was very tired in its presentation. The only annoyance I had was the amount of noise one could hear from the hallway. Given the clientele that $80 a night attracts, it did get somewhat loud in the evening. Fortunately the bedroom had sliding doors that did block out excess sound. But the one thing that I was most impressed with was how incredibly clean the room was. I couldn't find any fault in any area (and I did go looking...). Overall, it is very basic, but for $80 (cheaper than a motel after all), I couldn't complain. It's not for everyone, and it definitely isn't 4.5 star, but if you want to stay here, look for it on Wotif.com.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steele_Wiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    299
    174
    94
    68
See reviews for
215
340
45
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

My boyfriend and i decided to go away as a spur of the moment thing and got the wotif.com special wot deal for $80 for the night. Once we got it and read these reviews we were really not happy. We went anyway because we had paid but i was expecting some sort of dead body filled room.
Once we got there, the staff at the reception were really nice. Got up to our room (which was number 803 in the North Tower, for the record) and no, there were no dead bodies.

For $80 a night this was a good value, though I would not pay much more than $90.
Sure there are stains on the carpet and old tvs, best way to describe it is that its sort of like a beach villa styled in the 90's.
It does have cable which is always fun, it IS clean and it is really close to surfers. A good place for schoolies..

I can understand why people dont like it if they are expecting 4.5 star hotel, but it has that rating because it has a pool, spa, sauna, restaraunt (and if you do stay, definatly get the $15 buffet breakfast because its champion)

All in all, if you can get it at a cheap price and dont mind slightly outdated stuff then go for it, if youre a snob then go somewhere else and quit your whinging.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meels_nodeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mapleton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Without a doubt this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Spa broken, pool murky, damp musty smell lingering in the hallways. Rooms are large but old, outdated, worn out carpet, light fixtures were broken, room facilities poor. We were very disappointed with our stay and will not stay again. Do yourselves a favour and give it a miss.

  • Liked — Nothin
  • Disliked — All of it
  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

Booked this hotel for a 4 night stay under the premise of it being 4 1/2 star accomodation, wow what a joke. Cane furniture in 2009 is not 4 1/2 star. Old school tube tv's in 2009 are not 41/2 star nor are stained carpet filthy spa's freezing cold pools missing light fittings peeling paint holes in walls and dirty sheets. I am not a review writer normally so for me to be on here says something. I demanded a new room to which he obligded and upgraded us to a 1 bedroom apartment with a kitchen. Still not up to our standard so we booked a room at meriton apartments in broadbeach (which is a much nicer part of the coast than surfers) for 89 a night, absolutly beautiful 5 star self contained unit. Don't listen to the good reviews on this hotel they would be from staff trying to keep there hotel busy and therefore keep there jobs! DON'T STAY HERE DON'T STAY HERE DON'T STAY HERE DON'T STAY HERE DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnycjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

Having booked this accommodation for a family get together before reading some of the reveiws I was thinking what have i done, my brothers and sisters are going to kill me. But from the moment we arrived (and there were a few of us) we found the reception staff very helpful and friendly. On going to our rooms we found them to be dated but comfortable and clean, over our stay the housekeeping girls were always happy to come back if we werent quite ready for them to service our rooms. The food in the restaurant was excellent. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moreton14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

Our 6 night stay at this hotel has been a pleasant experience due to the professional of the staff in particular the front desk the evening dining and bar staff as well as the staff that cleaned our room, The breakfast buffet was wonderfull, would like to thank them making our stay wonderful

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandyrBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

I actually booked this hotel before reading all the reviews on here. Was thinking I might have made a mistake, but thought id give it a go anyway as we were only there for one night. Overall it really wasnt as bad as some people have made it out to be! Sure, its an older hotel and bit run down, but the rooms were clean. For under $100 a night it served its purpose! And the $15 buffett breakfast is a winner!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdaniell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing