We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iron burns remain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Iron burns remain”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Blakeysgirls from july 2013 we just left the same room as you stayed in. Carpet still has iron burns all over it in both the lounge and bedroom. Comfortable beds restaurant absolutely shocking over priced and not much 'flavor'

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseIreland63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel, in fact we have now replace 75% off the rooms with new carpet with the remaining rooms due to be completed in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    306
    179
    95
    72
See reviews for
217
351
47
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel over Easter, our one bedroom apartment faced north west, we have a couple of complaints, you have to pay $1.00 each for a pool towel (although we had just spent close to $100 in the restaurant for lunch around the pool) then asked for 2 new dry room towels, to be told that they would also be $1.00 each..... We dined in the restaurant on 2 of the evenings, and the food & service was fantastic,our compliments to the czech chef, the food was very good quality... after dinner on the first night, I asked for a cup of ice to take back to our room, to be told I could buy a small bag for $2.00. We were very dissapointed in all the little added extras the hotel tried to charge us for.... little things that one would think would automatically come with the room. We would stay here again... in the hope that management would get rid of all the little extra fees.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cp835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the guest’s survey in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards and we take onboard your comments regarding extra fees.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Firstly let me start by saying we booked on the Thursday night before staying on Easter Saturday so it is possible we booked the last available room on the Gold Coast and so maybe we shouldn't have expected too much.

Well the room was Level 1 in the north "tower" with scenic views of the waste disposal units and loading docks of of the Marriott next door. The air conditioning was loud, think having a small tractor in your room and you have some idea of the noise.

Three of us were using the room - Queen size and two singles - why only two towels? It was no surprise we were coming so why not have the correct number of towels. Linen on the queen size didn't fit which was an unusual problem, having never seen that before.

The plasterboard/drywall at the head of the bed was shattered but given how easily the bed moved around that should not be a surprise.

Bathroom - water damage to vanity, mould in between tiles, broken plasterboard and the shower over spray saturated the toilet roll. Fortunately this was evident before we showered so we knew to move it aside - though the roll was damp.

Understanding that it was Easter and rates go up, I cannot reconcile the $250 we paid for this with the <$200 per night I spend on business travel at superior hotels.

I'm hopeful there are better rooms but this is only a hope

Room Tip: There is plenty of accomodation on the Gold Coast - this one seemed to cater for package tours ex As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the guest’s survey in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards.

We are very pleased that you found our staff to be nice. However, I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed all of your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Lennox Head, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Booked a twin room and was upgraded to a one bedroom unit with a queen bed. We got a deal online for free valet parking - it was great and no hassal. the car was there waiting when we checked out. The apartment was spacious - a little dark in the kitchen. Bathroom was HUGE. Clean, tidy and very comfortable. it was not the flashiest place I have ever stayed in but it was perfect for our needs. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: He had a north tower it which faced east. Whilst it is right on the highway the glass is pretty nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel.

We are so glad we meet your needs and that you had a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Just had an enjoyable week in this hotel . I found the reception staff very helpful offering advice and booking transfers for us. The room wa spacious, tastfully furnished. We didnt have our room serviced and would have liked more than one towel for the week, although im sure if I'd asked I could have had one.
Only used the restaurant once as had cooking facilities, but found the meal really nice and staff friendly. Rooms very soundproof. Once the door to deck closed, no road noise at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aucklandsteff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel.

We are happy to read that you found our reception staff very helpful. Please do not hesitate to request additional linen on your next stay.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights, avoiding a much dearer stay at the next door Marriott
The suite was clean , and sufficient. Bed smallish but comfortable. Good shower. Basic kitchenette Breakfast was fair. Gym was very basic with broken equipment - no free weights. Games room for the kids. Sauna had large hole under door. Wifi was not included ! Location a little out of Surfers main drag.
Bus directly out the front, beach a 200 metre walk. Staff were good
Good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the hotel.

We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were booked into this hotel by our event coordinator for our hens weekend. Service at the reception desk was very poor. They expected us to pay 2 x $200 bond for 2 rooms that were booked for the same group. I had to stand there and argue for 10 minutes until the receptionist finally looked up the booking and checked it was booked as one. As for the rooms, there were stains on the sheets, and the bathroom was poorly cleaned. Valet parking took forever. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Australis Sovereign Hotel.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

With regards to paying 2 x $200 bond, it is the hotel policy charge a security bond per room and not per group. This security bond is fully refundable upon departure if there are no outstanding charges. We do apologise if this was an unexpected amount for you.

With regards to the cleanliness of the room, please accept our apology, if the room was not up to high standard which the hotel strives to maintain.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
435 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#15 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing