We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Booked a 2 bedroom apartment for a week with my teenage daughters. The set up was perfect for us. Rooms 628-629. Sixth floor. We were a bit confused when we first walked in through the "airlock" as only one door. Then it split into to separate rooms. Both with their own doors. Room 1 was the main room with double bed, lounge, dining table, kitchenette, bathroom with toilet and shower over bath, air con & own balcony. Double glass doors opened up to Pacific ocean glimpses & views of Surfers Paradise skyline. Double Bed was comfortable with additional blankets and pillows if required. Ceiling fan also in bedroom which was nice as if you opened the window it could be a bit noisy from the street below. Kitchenette had dishwasher, sink, toaster and kettle, 2 x small fridges, (one fridge in bedroom with two single beds) and microwave. All crockery and cutlery provided. Nice lamps gave good ambiance. Air con was a bit noisy but no real issue, air con unit was on balcony and blew hot air on you if you sat too close. Balcony had chairs and small table. Room 2 had two single beds (comfortable) with own air con, balcony and balcony furniture as well. It also had it's own bathroom with toilet and shower. Both bathrooms had hair dryers. Unit had iron and ironing board. In built wardrobes in both. No laundry. Hotel was just out of the main part of surfers paradise but only a 10-15 minute walk on the beach or by road to Cavill Mall strip. Bus shuttle pick up to theme parks directly outside of hotel. The staff at reception were helpfully and friendly. Hotel restaurant was very nice with a good choice of food at reasonable prices. Waiters were very polite and helpfull. Foyer had all tourist brochures and rooms were made up daily as we requested this by tags on the doors, fresh towels as required. The hotel had a pool, spa bath outside and a small gym. All very good. Wifi available at a cost. If I had to pick on something I would say the the rooms we stayed in looked at some stage to have had water damage and a bit of shoddy repair work. The plaster at floor level in the main bedroom was gaping and split. This was behind the bed and not really noticeable. Also the carpet in lounge had a bit of a water mark on it. This was a good choice of hotel for us and the price was right. I'd recommend for short stay and would come back. Not 5 star but definitely 3 and a half. We enjoyed our time here.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Smithy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your detailed feedback, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. At Australis Sovereign Hotel we pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service, and great value for money. I have passed on your feedback to the staff involved and it is a great motivator for us all to hear our guests are enjoying their stay.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 883 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed 5 nights and when first walking in my husband was shocked at what we got for our money. It was tidy when we entered. We were 3rd floor South Tower and the view was great. Elevators were quiet and fast, to the point were you never felt any movement. There was a few iron marks on the carpet, but that is of no fault to the hotel but to the guests putting them there.Now the buffet breakfast,what more can I say except WOW, it was awesome and so yummy.All in all we were very impressed and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spintara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. Thank you for providing your feedback and we look forward to seeing again soon.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here in a two bedroom apartment, third floor Jan 6-11 2014. Two separate rooms and a fold out lounge, 5 staying. My biggest bugbear was that there was only one bathroom. It really needs a make over. Hair behind the pipes, pubes in the shower and bedroom drawers. No laundry facilities in apartment, kitchenette was the best part of the whole room. Really dirty and chipped walls/doors/carpet/furniture. Not what we expected for the price. Great distance from Surfers main strip, only a $18 cab fare. Reception staff incredibly lacking in manpower, expect 10-15min wait each time. Valet was very slow even with a call down before heading out. We ran out of toilet paper twice and had to go down to get our own the second time - not what I expect from any hotel. Had a car park facing room with buses constantly running which was a bit annoying. Pool facilities were nice, restaurant is average - better to eat out. We saw SO many dial a pizzas in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for the north tower ocean facing, or get the highest room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eelhsa_rehtul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Have stayed here about half a dozen times in the past, but this stay was rather disappointing.

The hotel needs a bit of a refresh, although the change to valet parking only is a good move given their inadequate parking facilities.

Our interconnecting room was comfortable enough, but finding dirty cutlery when we moved the coffee table, and later setting up the sofa bed for our toddler only to find a massive urine stain on the sheets that hadn't been changed, was a downer to say the least.

The pool and spa cleanliness was also below par, however the restaurant had a good breakfast buffet and the staff were quite friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The interconnecting rooms are great value and very roomy for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eggie168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

so we have just stayed here for 5 nights from jan 11 to jan 16, i was rather apprenhensive of staying here after having read some of the reviews, but they could not have been further from the truth. From the check in which JAY made you feel welcome, to the room which was more than adequate for my wife, myself and our 18 month old daughter (who was treated like a rock star). the in hotel shop had all of the emergency needs and were very reasonably priced. the hotel pool is great and you can't even hear the splashing and mucking around in your room with the door closed. the hotel food is expansive and NOT EXPENSIVE. so they dont have in room cooking services which means eating room service or out at any of the restaurants on the gold coast, and the mini bar wont hold much, which means moving alot of their in hotel stuff. (just check your room mini bar bill before you leave).
no request was too big or too small, even when we decided to hire a car overnight, they secured it for us without a problem and nothing ever seemed to be an inconvenience at all.
if you dont hire a car they are centrally located to the bus service which is fantastic, the onsite gym is great and the kids room will keep them older kids entertained (for a price).
We are already planning our next trip to the gold coast with this as our accommodation spot and hope that this review will lead to more people staying here as it is truly a great spot.
Lastly I can say that JAY was simply brillant throughout our stay offering excellent assistance from start to finish and perhaps a couple of the other staff could follow his lead.
so Jay thank you from the Dickson family. you helped make our stay peaceful and easy.

Room Tip: we were in the south tower and had a great view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredynixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you had such a great stay here at Sovereign! I will pasing your feedback on and I know that Jay will personally be thrilled with your comments.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here for New Years with a friend.|
On check In Russell was great help and very friendly, all the staff working there were always very friendly and keen to answer any questions.
The location was good about less then a 10 minute walk to the shops in Surfers Paradise.
We stayed in a small room with allot of Iron stain's on the carpet, which is unfortunate for the hotel. However I was expecting that as it was very cheap! So you get what you pay for.
We had a balcony with our room which was nice the view was of the pool and you could see the beach also.
If you have a busy scheduled make sure to have breakfast included every morning - it was so good! They have a full hot buffet breakfast that includes absolutely everything! Even pancakes!
The restaurant area, sauna and pool and spa areas were all very nice - it seems they put allot of work in these public areas than the rooms.
So overall I definitely enjoyed my stay and would go back there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

I have passed on your comments to the staff involved and it is a great motivator for us all to hear our guests are enjoying their stay.

Look forward to seeing again soon.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights at the end of december 2013 what a wonderful holiday my husband and I had the staff were very friendly and helpful as was the valet parking and service .We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite very spacious rooms with awesome views of the beach . The pool was nice to swim in after a long days sight seeing and the spa was relaxing. We had the buffet breakfast every morning which was delicious we would definitely recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoani and Erena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so happy you had such a great holiday here at Sovereign! We look forward to you having your holiday here again in the future!

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,189 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,897 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#15 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $97 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing