We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place for a bed to sleep in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good place for a bed to sleep in.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the Australis Sovereign Hotel, where we booked a 1 bedroom room. We got exactly what we paid for, it was just a decent bed in small room with a decent bathroom. We had no view being on the bottom floor, but we weren't in the room enough to really mind. The hotel has a little shop to buy from, which was perfect to grab a few bottles of water and a couple of drinks in the afternoon. Only problem I found was the valet parking was expensive, and being a busy holiday period, there was no off street parking. During check in and out hours, the front desk was a little slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    299
    174
    94
    68
See reviews for
215
340
45
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked into the Australia Sovereign for a short stay because of the great room price they were offering. We couldn't have asked for more. On arrival, and without prompting, we were upgraded from a one bedroom suite to a one bedroom spa suite. We were surprised of the size of the suite - so much space in every room. With the balcony door and window open, the room is quite noisy due to the light rail construction and preparation for the V8 Supercars, however this is to be expected given its location, and not worthy of complaint with the price we only paid for the accommodation. With the doors and window closed, there is minimal noise and a good sleep is easily achieved in the very comfy bed. Valet parking (the only option) costs $10 per night. We had our pushbikes on a bike rack on the back of our car and the staff were only too happy to give us access to them whenever we wanted. The pool and spa area is very clean and appealing - a great place to relax. Thank you Australis Sovereign. We will return to stay with you again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShereeW4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. At Australis Sovereign Hotel we pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service, and great value for money. I have passed on your feedback to the staff involved and it is a great motivator for us all to hear our guests are enjoying their stay.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my husband and eldest son. The location was great about a 5min walk to the beach and 10-15min walk to centre of Surfers. We were expecting a fully equipped kitchen, it had everything except for a stove which cost us to eat out a bit. Our room was located at the back on the second floor. We were right next door to the garbage chute so it was very noisy when people would tip their empty bottles in the bin regularly at night. We could not relax outside on our balcony as it was very noisy we think from the air conditioning system. Other than that it was fine, bed was comfortable.
Staff were lovely and very helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazzy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. We apologise that you found the room to be noisy and we have fully investigated this noise issue to ensure it wont be an issue in the future.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My family stayed for only one night and we were pleasantly surprised on arrival into our room. I was expecting to find a much smaller room especially when we had booked a one bedroom with a sofa bed for our girls to sleep on and we walked into a very spacious one bedroom with balcony, spacious living area with balcony and two single beds for the girls. Lovely pool area and restaurant which looked quiet busy as we were walking past dinner and breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I thought the location was very good, the only negative was the extra charge for valet/ parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarcyGiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for providing your review.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Innes, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a very ample room with good large bed and serviced daily.
Building only has about 9 floors and we were on 5.
A very nice place to stay.
Staff are courteous and the place has a pleasant ambience to it.
The prices are very reasonable.
To some (travelling by car) I suppose the only negative might be the cost of the valet/parking fees for your car.
I did not mind it at all. Left car at hotel and either walked or caught buses. Bus stops on both sides of the road near the hotel.

Room Tip: I don't know how to advise about this We did not specify a room on booking and still got a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your comments on Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are very happy to hear you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

After a bad experience at one hotel our travel agent booked us in here. What a pleasant surprise, a one bedroom suite with large living, bedroom and bathroom with a great view. The staff were very helpful and we ate in the restaurant most evenings. The one downer was the extra cost for parking which meant a valet parked and brought out your vehicle when needed. Not always convenient The suite was nice and clean and with a great balcony. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YVONNE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy your holiday once you arrived at Australis Sovereign! Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, it is most appreciated.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Totally recommend this hotel!! Location was super, 10 min walk into Cavil Ave. Rooms nice and spacious, staff very helpful and accommodating. Great facilities for the kids with an excellent games room and spa/pool area. Lovely restaurant (great pizzas) with awesome service. We enjoyed it that much booked in again at the end of our journey. Thanks Australis we will be back.

Room Tip: If travelling with kids recommend a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarriedCouple2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review - we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing