We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“night away with 2 young daughters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“night away with 2 young daughters”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

we have just returned from 1 nights accommodation on a secret wotif deal... the carpet was covered in iron burns. the pull out sofa bed was broken and all collapsed in at the bottom. The bathroom was old and out-dated. the toilet ran water all night. Didn't get much sleep at all.. My bed was so uncomfortable, this is meant to be a 4 star hotel.. I wouldn't give it 2 stars. Ive stayed in many a hotels down the gold coast and this would have to be one of the worst. Even my 13 year old daughter was disgusted with it. Our air con didn't work.. we only had 1 blanket on the bed in the middle of winter.. it was noisey with the lifts and the garbage chute next to my room.

Room Tip: just don't stay here !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    303
    176
    94
    71
See reviews for
216
348
45
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Was there for the gold coast marathon..initially was given a room on the 2nd floor on the south tower with a "wonderful" view of the roof. Managed to switch to a wonderful room on the 5th floor of the north tower. Friendly staff. Thanks Russell! Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AjiHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel - we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Rachle Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked in from our Club and checked in on Friday after 5.30pm or so. Had our car parked over night and on Sat we were out for the whole day, returned after 5pm or so, freshened up and went out for dinner. We left around 8.30 on Sunday morning and didn't return until 6.30pm that night but had to leave that night due to emergency so on Tue my daughter and her husband went and stayed there until Friday. When checking out they were charged $24.95 for a movie. She couldn't get hold of me so thought that we may have used it.
When I found out I rung left message on Sunday but no reply and rung back Monday morning no reply so rung back that afternoon and was put through to the manager and he made so many excuses, didn't want to know my side of things. He said it shows that you have used it end of story.
My end of story is that there are other places in Gold Coast where I won't be ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzi204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have just returned from the Gold Coast, staying down there one night supporting family for the Gold Coast Airport marathon. We were in room 328/329 on level 3. Literally thought there was a dead body in the room it had the most horrible smell. Wasn't game enough to shower because it was that filthy. My boyfriends pregnant sister-in-law was sick the entire time due to the smell. Had rather sit on the side table than the couch as it looked like it had been picked up from the dump. We dragged dinner out in town as long as we could to avoid being the room and checked out 8 am as soon as possible in the morning. Woke up at 2 am with horrible asthma and could not open the room up as no fly screens on the windows. Being a travel agent myself in Noosa, this was shocking. I am now glad to know the state of the place as i would not book this hotel for a client. We did not complain due to the fact that one guest with us was pregnant and sick (as previsouly stated) and did not want to move her around or cause anymore hastle for her. We now wish we had complained as no sleep, no shower and exhausted the entire next day walking from meeting point to meeting point as support for a runner in the marathon. Stay elsewhere!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and great value for money and we apologise that you felt we did not deliver on those aims.

Our rooms are certainly not brand new, but we do make every effort cleaning and maintaining the rooms. We apologise that you felt that this was not the case. We are currently in the process of replacing carpet and furniture and we hope that we may be able to welcome you at the hotel again in the future so that you may enjoy a far more positive experience.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The staff were rude, the room dirty, the carpet covered in burn marks, a leaking bathroom, uncomfortable beds!
Got a phone call on my way home to say they haven't refunded a $200 security deposit & I have to return to collect it or wait for a cheque to be sent.
It was just plain horrible!
Oh and if you want room service you have to pay for it at your rooms door or collect it yourself from down stairs & movies are an extra $50 deposit.
DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_ben79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the guest’s survey in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns. With regards to the security deposit, this is refundable in cash or by presenting the same card use for the payment upon departure. Alternatively, if you are unable to collect the security bond from reception prior to your departure will can arrange a cheque to refund.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My partner & I stayed at the Australis for 2 nights recently for the first time and were pleased with the overall experience. For the low price we paid we were surprised by the size of the room having expected a small hotel room and getting a large 1 bedroom apartment. The staff were friendly, the restaurant was nice and the sleep was great. Our only sore points were the room decor was a little outdated - needs a refresher & our heater did not work so we were cold. Also didn't like the idea of having to pay for parking. But other than that, great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The reviews were very mixed about this hotel, and the experience was definitely mixed. I'd lashed out and booked a suite which included breakfast in the restaurant. Due to roadworks - so NOT the hotel's fault - had some considerable problems getting to reception so be warned: you can't turn into the side street from the north approach. Check-in was friendly and efficient, room was easy to access, valet parking fabulous, but I was really taken aback with the six+ burn marks on the carpet made by an iron: very trashy look. The kitchenette was clean and neat, the bed/mattress great, nice lounge, TV was too small.

The restaurant was nice and very reasonably-priced for dinner, and the buffet breakfast was fine. I was impressed with the professionalism shown by the restaurant staff in the morning considering the random rudeness and ignorance shown by a tourist group staying there. They were very polite but firm with guests seemingly unaware of basic manners and food handling hygiene.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor which escaped the worst of the noise from the highway and roadworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippinCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service along with great value for money. We apologise that you feel that your room was not of an appropriate standard. We definitely taken on-board your feedback and will be making efforts to rectify issues you have raised.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,557 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,994 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing