We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5 star? What a joke!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“4.5 star? What a joke!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Was greeted rudely by staff at reception. I was then told my room was not ready when checking in at 12pm and would be called when the room was ready. Did not receive a call but found room to be ready when we returned at 4 pm.
The whole 4.5 star is a joke and it would be lucky to be a 3 star. The hotel is run down and looks like it hasn't be refurbished since it opened at least over 10 years ago. We had iron burn marks all over the bedroom carpet, the furniture is old and uncomfortable. Even though the rooms are severely outdated i found them to be clean and the housekeppers were pleasant when servicing the rooms.
The A/c was not working on arrival however maintenance promptly came to fix it.
When speaking to the young female shift manager about the state of our room we found her to be unreasonable and of little help and not to mention rude. We did however speak to another manager upon our checkout and found him to be pleasant and professional.
The hotel is in a great location however the rooms are way overpriced for what you get.
Overall I'm disappointed and the hotel should be ashamed of the quality of their rooms. Hopefully they ditch the old and come in with the new like the rest of the hotels on the coast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozzie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service along with great value for money and we apologise that you feel that we did not deliver on those aims. We definitely taken on-board your feedback and will be making every effort to ensure issue you raised do not occur again.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    303
    176
    94
    71
See reviews for
216
348
45
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently for two nights while at the Gold Coast. It was a bit of a mixed experience...

Pros:
- Check-in staff were friendly and helpful
- Location: easy 10-15 walk to the beach and the main streets and shops of Surfer's Paradise
- Soft drinks, snacks, umbrellas and other essential items are available for purchase in the lobby area.
- We had booked a standard room. It was very spacious and included a kitchen area (fridge, toaster, microwave and dinning table), a living area (1 lounge, 2 chairs, coffee table and television). The bedroom (which is separate from the living area) was also quite large and the bed was reasonably comfortable.
- Our room was on the 5th floor and so we had a pretty nice view over the city.

Cons:
- The furniture is quite dated.
- There was a musty smell in the room - I assume it's probably due to the old furniture.
- Cockroaches!!!! When we arrived, I spotted a fairly large cockroach (4-5cm in size). I searched the rest of the place and didn't see any more and overall the room looked very clean so I didn't worry about it. However, when I turned the light on in the kitchen area in the morning, I saw another (smaller) one and on further inspection of the kitchen drawers, found probably another 8-10 little ones. For this reason alone, I would not stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations & Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you providing you valuable feedback on Australis Sovereign Hotel.

We do acknowledge that our hotel is not brand new, however we do wish to assure you that we make every effort in cleaning and maintaining our hotel, including participating a regular pest spraying. We apologise for any discomfort cause you whilst you stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Australis Sovereigh Hotel very much. The efficiency is excellent and the customer services are fantastic!
We will definitely recommend our family and friends to stay at this hotel for Gold Coast any time of the year!
Well done guys! Keep it up!!
By the way................the price is very reasonable and it is very central to everything - beaches and shopping centres!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the North Side have good view and quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations & Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on our hotel. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Booked months in advance asking for early check in, didn't get one, reception informed they would call as soon as the room was ready (this was at 7:00am), returned to the hotel at 3:00pm (still no call from reception). The duty 'manager', was rude, unhelpful and at times gave us attitude (as did other staff members). The guests who stayed in the room before us left the iron on the carpet burning it, the hotel was aware yet room service did not clean the iron resulting in one of our shirts being ruined. The hotel suffers from a lot of traffic noise, the refrigerator also made a horrible noise the entire stay. The bed and pillows were so uncomfortable we actually lost sleep. The hotel is old and in need of a refurb. Nowhere near a 4.5 star hotel and would not stay there again nor recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HayleyPukitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations & Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time in providing your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. Further, please accept our apologies if you found any staff member unhelpful or rude. Unfortunately, we are unable to guarantee an early check in regardless if you had made a request when booked well in advance, it is simply on a availability basis. We wish to also extend our apologies that you did not find your room to be of standard.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself at the hotel should you wish to discuss any of your concerns further.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a weekend getaway and had booked a standard hotel room with twin single beds. However when we checked in we were given a disabled room on the ground floor which was absolutely huge. In fact 2 of us were staying here and the rest of us were staying else where and this room was 2-3 times bigger. The rooms decor was very basic but it consisted of an open plan kitchen area with a dishwasher & fridge, small dining table & chairs, lounge, chairs with coffee table and single bed with a small tv and a/c then it had a very large bathroom with shower only and a separate bedroom with a double bed and 2 wardrobes and a small patio area. The lobby was quaint and offered a small shopping area with some essentials and computers and sitting area leading onto the restaurant / cafe area. The pool area was also nice but seemed a lot smaller than it looks in the hotels photos the spa was large though and they also had a pool table outside which is great for teenagers. The hotel has car parking and is situated in between the Marriott and Paradise Resort about 900m from Cavill Avenue.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoucherQueen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations & yield manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank your for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We look forward to hopefully again welcoming at the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunderabad, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

the hotel is very neat with a very good view ,staff is friendly and it is not far of from beach and most of the locas know about this hotel,if you are lost you can easily get back to the place great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank drphani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you at the hotel again soon!

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Booked a 5 night package at this hotel last week. It was fantastic! The room was huge, with a full bathroom, kitchenette and a lovely big balcony. From the 7th floor we had wonderful views.
I couldn't hesitate but to recommend this motel to anyone and everyone, as it represents excellent value for money, The staff are lovely and helpful and the rooms are clean and well appointed. The spa, sauna, pool, bbq area, gym and games room are all fantastic, and are excellent inclusions for the minimal price charged.
Don't look elsewhere - you won't get better value for money in Surfers!

Room Tip: The east facing high units have great views to the beach, the west facing high units have lovely vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your valued feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was so pleased to read that your stay had exceeded your expectations and that you would have no hesitation in recommending our hotel. I have also passed your feedback on to our staff who where delighted that they had helped make your stay enjoyable.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Australis Sovereign Hotel.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,556 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,994 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing