We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed October 11, 2012

we stayed in 2 rooms which were kind of joined (hard to explain) which was ideal!!
main master room was huge with a great living area, huge bathroom and kitchen and big bedroom, twin room was smaller but still great with a nice big bathroom.
brilliant location, walking distance to the centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Myself and the team are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 887 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

1 bedroom room was a good size, but ours too had iron burns on the carpet. Mattress was a little uncomfortable. Double sofa bed in lounge very uncomfortable, especially with only single mattress protector underneath - reported to Reception and it was remedied. Sofa bed ok for a small child only - not suitable for adults. Was suprised to find microwave, toaster, dishwasher and crockery etc supplied. Breakfast good, but the same every morning. Lovely pool for all the family, plus sandpit and room to run around. Walk to Surfers Paradise shops etc. Managed to get a park every day, even though parking is potentially limited. Handy little convenience shop in lobby - 24 hours.

Room Tip: Don't rely on the sofa bed. It would not be comfortable for most! Nice view of pool and sea from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanW681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service along with great value for money and I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed using our lagoon style pool. Myself and the team are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night only however we were impressed with efficiency & friendly service by reception staff. Check in only took 5 min and there were plenty of secured parking available. We stayed on 4th floor, the room was one bed self contained unit. Large living & dinning area combined. Large queen size bed and a bathroom. Balcony with view towards the hinterland & glimse of the river from the balcony. The room is tired & need of touch up. However it was clean and comfortable. The facility has good gymnasium & gaming room. They even had old acade games from the 80's. It brought me back a memory of spending my spare time at a local fish & chip shop playing 20c acade games. ha ha. Tropical pool appeared inviting. It's bit far away from the Caville mall. The breakfast was average and choices were limited. However, 3 girls on shift were very attentative & very effecient. Our used plates were almost immediately picked up and great work, ladies!! We would definately stay here again if it was between $100-130, but not at $160 for one night. I would only give it a 3 1/2 star for the facility.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spindall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service along with great value for money and I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to the rates, we often have special offers on our website or by booking direct for lower rates outside of peak periods.

Myself and the team are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week. Not our choice really. Had "won" a classic holiday week on the gold coast and others that we wanted were booked up (even though we booked a year in advance!!). Check in was fine. We were told because it was a "classic" booking, there would be no housekeeping for the week. So no extra toilet paper etc was to be delivered to our room! So we got the impression we were second class citizens from the get go. Good thing we have decided not to join the club, would hate to think we were paying a lot of money for the benefit of staying there. There was undercover parking, but it was first in best dressed / parked! Thankfully we were checking in on a Friday, so there were spaces available. Got into the room, the light bulb was blown and you really need all the light you can get in the rooms! Room we had was described as "studio apartment", no it is basically a hotel room. Only had 1 bedside table and lamp next to the Queen size bed, yet there was plenty of room on the other side of bed and looked as if something was missing! Window had been locked shut, so had to have the air conditioning on all the time. Personally I like fresh air, not recycled (especially as most places do not clean their air con as regularly as should). Vent in bathroom was falling out of ceiling. Base of shower was dirty and looked as if it had not been cleaned for quite a while (grouting was black instead of white). First morning we were there, so were the fire brigade, all suited up etc. Apparently someone had the audacity to cook in their kitchenette (no actual fire) and had set the fire alarm off, except, we didn't have a fire alarm go off on our floor or anywhere in reception as we were leaving on a day out. This had us worried that maybe the alarm system doesn't work properly?? We wanted to play pool on one of the days we were there and after putting our money ($3) into the table, found there was no white ball. Reception gave us a golf ball to use instead. The 'heated pool' is not heated. If so, the only people who would say it was are Eskimos. The gym / fitness room was quite good. All equipment in working order and tvs that could be changed to whatever you wanted to watch while working out.We ate dinner there the first night, it was nicely cooked, slightly over priced, but thats hotel restaurants. Didn't breakfast there. If staying there, I would recommend having a lot of activities outside the hotel planned. I would think this is only a 3 star establishment.

Room Tip: studio room is a hotel room. only has a small bar fridge and kettle. No cooking at all especially wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MelissaGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Please accept our apologies that you did not enjoy your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel, we would have loved the opportunity to rectify your concerns during your stay so that you could have enjoyed a far more positive experience.

I would welcome the opportunity to further discuss you concerns with you personally.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night. Told when booking there was no parking avaliable (but there was). Not told the entrance is in the cul-de-sac behind Ferny Ave. Walked around the block with 3 children and luggage. When we finally found a way in and I mentioned this to the reception staff, instead of an apology, they laughed!
People in next room partying loudly, reception staff delt with it, but not good to hear on arrival. I shouldn't have to be the one monitoring the behavior of guests-surely reception should be monitoring arrivals and their behavior
The shower was grotty- my daughters mentioned the black hairs (not ours) stuck to the shower curtain (yuck). The windows were so dirty we could hardly see out. Bedroom carpet had several iron burn marks and thread bare.
Breakfast was very average- poorly stocked and under cooked food in bain marie.
Wouldn't recommend. Wouldn't stay again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ceegeeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel, we would have loved the opportunity to rectify your concerns during your stay so that you could have enjoyed a far more positive experience.

I would welcome the opportunity to further discuss you concerns with you personally.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a Wotif mystery deal which included breakfast. Check in was easy and staff polite. The rooms are big. We had a one bedroom unit in south tower on level 6. Tv too small for room size which is a shame. Great big balcony. Shower and bathroom spacious with standard amenities included. Queen bed was a little hard for my liking but this is just a personal preference. Old tacky green carpet which has burn marks on the floor from where an iron had onviously been once upon a time. Decor in the room is outdated and needs replacing. Room could also do with a lick of paint. Dinner at the restaurant was quite good. The pizza was delicious and it was reasonably priced. Breakfast was ordinary. Whilst the usual fare of cereal, bread, fruit, muffins and hot buffet was there.....it was the hot food that let the buffet down. Greasy bacon and snags drowning in their own oils wasn't too crash. Made good use of napkins to dry it off. But overall, the Australis markets itself as four star....maybe a little generous but for the price it was okay. This is by far and away not the worst place so if you are after basic albeit outdated then this place is fine.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nathaen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of our hotel. At Australis Sovereign Hotel we pride ourselves on delivering great value for money and excellent customer service. I am very sorry that you did not feel we lived up to some of those aims.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights at the Australis and were happy with the standard of the hotel. While definately not in the 5 star catergory we found it was very good value for money. While the decor is in need of a refurb the room size was excellent with a nice sized lounge area with balcony and the bedroom also a good size. Its location is very good as it is only a couple of minutes walk to the beach and 10 minutes into central Surfers paradise. Plenty of dining options close by with the Marriot right next door with some great restaurants. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiflemanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service along with great value for money and I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Myself and the team are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,266 reviews
1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,789 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#18 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $91 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing