We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexander Holiday Apartments
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
808 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you don't want to pay the outrageous prices on the main striping Surfers or be amongst the crowds then Alexander will meet your needs. Located two minutes down the road to the beach and a pleasant walk to the restaurant strip this place has everything required for a self contained vacation. Two bathrooms, sweeping ocean and river views from the three balconies, two pools, BBQ area and sun deck. All in all a great place to stay and so reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms above floor six for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    6
    3
    9
See reviews for
12
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Black Earth, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

After reading bad reviews from another apartment , we changed to the Alexander. On entering our room my daughter wanted to leave. The room really needed a coat off paint and a good updating. the dining room chairs were rusty (obviously from people leaving wet towels and cloths on them and the paint was chipped and knocked about. After all this and settling in the place was clean and tidy and the front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. The pools were clean.

I found it odd that we did not have air conditioning but after our first day we found opening the doors and ceiling fans did the job. The other odd thing was you had to pay for extra towels but we cleaned ours and re used them. The free foxtel was great for my 4yr in the evening.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road. road works are still going on till 2014 and they start really ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chookfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My 6 days in October 2012 at Alexander Apartments were very relaxing, I had stayed previously in 1998 with my family & chose to return mainly because the great location & indoor heated pool + spa. The manager's were very friendly, my self contained apartment was clean & had everything I needed for a quiet & restful break. many thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I originally only planned to stay here for two nights but we liked it so much we extended our stay to four nights. The apartment wasn't luxurious but it had everything we needed and was spacious. The apartment had a good size kitchen, two bedrooms, two bathrooms a large lounge and large balcony area. For $165 per night this was good value and I would recommend these holiday apartments to anyone wanting all the comforts of home at an affordable price. The staff were also very helpful and friendly.
I would highly recommend Alexander holiday apartments as a great budget apartment option in Surfers Paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dpw369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,627 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#16 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aristocrat Apartments Gold Coast
Aristocrat Apartments Gold Coast
#102 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enderley Gardens Resort
Enderley Gardens Resort
#75 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Acapulco
BreakFree Acapulco
#19 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Holiday Apartments

Property: Alexander Holiday Apartments
Address: 2943 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexander Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Holiday Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing