We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location with excellent views and a spacious room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Breakfree Peninsula
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We requested a room with sea views and air conditioning. Although there were no guarantees we would get such a room, we were lucky enough to have our request fulfilled (with Foxtel too!). This may have been helped by booking 5 months in advance. We were on level 21 facing the Esplanade and had the best views of Surfers Paradise one could hope for. We were lucky we got a room with A/C because the days were hot and the nights were warm, although on many afternoons there was a lovely sea breeze and there were big sliding doors that opened onto the balcony to let the breeze in. The balcony was sensational, giving an almost 270 degree view, and overlooking the pools and other highrises, as well as a long stretch of beach.
The room was spacious and well equipped. Although the bathrooms were dated, they were clean and functional, with the main one having a washing machine and drier. The kitchen was modern and could easily be used for cooking all meals if necessary, with a dishwasher to help clean up. The lounge/dining area was large and would easily cater for 6 people, with the only downside being the stained carpet, but with the amount of travellers it sees it was understandable. Perhaps a darker colour would be a better choice.
The pools were excellent (also an indoor pool and spa) and catered for everyone, with shallower pools for children and deeper ones for those who could swim. We spent many hours in the pools or lazing on the many banana lounges provided. The grounds surrounding the pools were lush and well maintained and included a playground, bbq area and tennis courts. Just outside the gate and across the road was a patrolled surf beach and it was a short walk to Cavill Ave and lots of dining/shopping. If that was too much trouble, just around the corner were several restaurants, bottle shops and convenience stores for those lazy evenings. Secure underground parking was also very handy, although we walked much of the time anyway.
I read all the reviews for the Peninsula before booking but could not say a bad word about our service or accommodation. It is certainly not the cheapest place to stay so I can see why people might complain about the 1980s bathroom styles or whatever else, but a lot has to do with the people who own the units and how they choose to maintain/renovate them. All the communal areas such as reception, lobby and grounds were in excellent condition. I would say as long as you had A/C and good views (strongly request a high floor with sea views) you can live with the rest. Having a fully self-contained unit can save a lot on dining out and the proximity to everything and unbelievable views certainly outweigh the brown bathroom tiles and stained carpet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeejayTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Breakfree Peninsula
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 612 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying here in the June school holidays for 5 nights recently. Upon ringing the hotel and speaking with Margaret, we were given a beautiful apartment which had been renovated beautifully. The position of the hotel is fantastic, ensuring beautiful beach views in front and to the north. The layout and furnishings were excellent . Thankyou to Margaret and the team who have ensured a great holiday. The price was reasonable for the situation and quality.Can hardly wait to return. Jones Family, Townsville.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjones099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

While the room on 33rd floor was spacious, everything about it was either tired, dated, or simply broken. There was no air conditioner, no AUSTAR pay TV as promised, and no internet access available. In fact, the tiny TV was probably new when Noah stepped off the ark.

The carpet colour had changed over time from grey to pink, probably from excessive steam cleaning, and there were many bleach stains evident throughout. Numerous cigarette burns dotted the carpet, chairs and soft furnishings, and one of the stools had no screws holding the seat in place.

Kitchen cabinets were chipped and flaking under the sink - one drawer completely fell apart when opened. The laminated bench tops were chipped and missing in places. The wall oven and grill were probably new 25 years ago, but the enamel grill trays are now wrapped in aluminium foil to hide the grime. We didn't bother using them...

The shower in the ensuite bathroom to the main bedroom simply dribbled - there was no pressure. The shower cubicle tiling and grout in the main bathroom/laundry was mouldy, as was the ceiling, thanks to the lack of adequate ventilation. The lint filter in the tumble dryer was badly frayed.

All of the drawers, robes and closets through out the unit were dated, tired and had broken fittings. Most of them had items of rubbish or broken trim inside, including the main closet in the hallway which was largely full of rags, paint tins and carpet offcuts.

One only had to look up at any light fitting to find that it was full of dead insects. Not a good look, particularly when combined with a truly awful stucco ceiling. Cracked light switches and power points should have been fixed ages ago. Another annoyance was that only one or two windows were able to be opened, and the main glass door to the balcony would not shut properly. This left a gap, through which a draft whistled incessantly, as did the ever-present noise of surf on the beach below.

If one was brave enough to step onto the balcony, the railing wobbled disconcertingly. To be fair, work was on progress to replace railings on all the units, but this one hadn't been done yet, which begs the question of why the unit was actually available for rent at all.

Overall, a very poor effort. Absolutely unacceptable for a place which is advertised as 4 stars, at 4-star pricing. Don't believe the glossy pictures. Save your money and go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We have stayed at the Peninsula many times over the last 15 years and will keep returning. Ok, the rooms are not super modern or trendy but who cares when you have that view. I spend hours on the balcony, the best place to be in Surfer's! We had a few problems on our latest visit with workmen right near our room (very loud, very early in the morning!) but the second we complained we were moved to a better room and given the opportunity to lodge our complaints with the site foreman. A few years ago at the same hotel, after checking out, they let us back for several hours when my partner became ill - for no extra charge.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nairina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We booked a year in advance for my daughters wedding - on arrival, the apartment was extremely musty....the furniture old and dingy, carpet in need of being riped out. My husbands asthma instantly started up and I felt sick. The pool was closed (apparently for the next 6 months) and the front desk personnel were less than friendly. We did not travel for 24 hours to stay in a dump with no pool! We walked out and got a great apartment down the street right on the beach.
My advice, do not book into this hotel - if you want to enjoy your vacation, STAY AWAY.

my rating above.....ZERO

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Islandgirltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2008

My Family booked through the internet on this vacation,tried directly with the hotel.They referred us to and agent RCi.com who helpfully enough booked us a room.Upon Arrival we were dubious about the place with large waste bins out front and and signs notifying us of construction work on the premise.The service was poor from the front staff who looked confused in their jobs as tradesmen worked amongst them and as others strolled in and out of the foyer.
We finally checked in,took the elevator to Level 21 .WOW what an entrance.All the wall paper was ripped down from the walls,the ventilation grills were all removed plaster and other debris on the floor,It looked more like a building under construction and the smell of paint and glue made my entire family nausea for the entire evening, even trying ventilate by opening all windows and turning on all fans took hours to clear.I tried to change rooms to be told they were booked solid and even tried to relocate to another premise but the gold coast is busy in March and it was fully booked.The pool downstairs were closed one of the days because of the tradesman working which did not really matter cause the indoor pool was so over chlorinated it burnt the kids eyes and to top things off we on the third day the sprayed the hotel for bugs which left a really poor odor.It had a Kitchen but was missing most of the vital utensils to cook for a family,one of the 3 separate air conditioners did not work in the lounge so we had the room coolers on full blast to try cool the apartment.When Checking out we left early in the morning to catch our flight there were no staff so were unable to get our $100 cash key deposit back.It took 4 weeks and 5 phone calls to finally have it returned via direct deposit.

I have traveled overseas and around this country of mine and i found that this is the worst hotel/motel/back packer/caravan stay of my life.Fair enough i payed just below the standard rate for a room on the coast but i still expect to be given basic comfort.I expect at least the 3 stars it advertises not the 1 star,WHAT A DISGRACE.I f i was told prior it was being renovated i would have gone somewhere else.I believe its the proprietors responsibility to advertise it on there web sight otherwise its false advertising,Others beware This place in 2008 is the Pits.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

We stayed in a spacious 2 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms, good kitchen and dinning and big lounge area with great ocean views from our room 12c.
We had 3 good sized heated pools, 1 indoor and 2 outdoor and plenty of barbeques.
Only 5 to 10 minute walk to Cavil Mall and bus stops, we bussed it to theme parks and had a great time, our kids loved it and so did we, we can't wait to return,

Grant, Maree and family,
Geelong victoria,

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gmaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Peninsula

Address: Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $103 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakfree Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering family friendly facilities and the perfect getaway atmosphere, BreakFree Peninsula is the perfect location for your next holiday. **PLEASE NOTE** Air-conditioning is on request/subject to availability. For your convenience we cannot accept bookings for same day arrivals outside of reception hours. Please phone during normal business hours prior to arrival to arrange after hours check in. Once a booking has been made we accept NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS to that booking. Party Policy: • Parties are not permitted in apartments • Registered guests only are permitted in apartments after 10pm • Excessive noise will not be tolerated Failure to comply with the above will result in the eviction of the guest/from the property. The property reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. BreakFree Peninsula Lift and Lobby refurbishment will take place between 1/8/17 until 1/12/17, between levels 1- 46. We apologise in advance for the inconvenience this may cause. *clearance 1.9 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakfree Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Peninsula Hotel Surfers Paradise
Peninsula Hotel Breakfree
Peninsula Apartments
Surfers Paradise Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing